Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 9, 2013, 11:48 AM   #1
Jedi5
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Burbs, IL
TMO: Bad Sim or Unlucky?

Left ATT to join the TMO and now I think I'm regretting it.
3-4 times now my 4S has displayed either no service or searching.
Each time I've rebooted my phone and service came back.
The longest I was at "No Service" was maybe 30-45 minutes.
I had to eject my SIM - do a reinstall and then everything was OK.
At times, If I am in my office basement, I lose service.
Everything that didn't or wasn't happening with ATT.

I did a check for map coverage before I changed and it seemed to be OK.
Also asked did searches and a good %age of those that switched seemed
to be happy.

I've read that maybe it could be the SIM. Is there a way to pinpoint the problem?
I really didn't want to but if I upgrade to the new iPhone coming out, will that maybe help me out with spotty service?

Thanks!
__________________
15.4" Mac Book Pro 2009
21.5" iMac 2009
iPhone 3GS 32GB
iPod Nano
Jedi5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 11:55 AM   #2
deeddawg
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi5 View Post
I've read that maybe it could be the SIM. Is there a way to pinpoint the problem?
Don't suppose you've thought about stopping by a T-Mobile store and having them change out the SIM for a new one?

Seems that'd make it pretty clear whether the problem is with the phone or the SIM...
deeddawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 12:03 PM   #3
Jedi5
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Burbs, IL
I have.

Before I went though, I wanted to know if maybe there was some
setting on my iPhone I need to toggle on/off?
Some simple fix I wasn't aware of.

Also didn't want TMO to give me the run around and tell
me it was something else out of their hands.
I thought I would ask here first so I can be better
prepared incase they give me a hard time.
__________________
15.4" Mac Book Pro 2009
21.5" iMac 2009
iPhone 3GS 32GB
iPod Nano
Jedi5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 12:23 PM   #4
deeddawg
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi5 View Post
Before I went though, I wanted to know if maybe there was some setting on my iPhone I need to toggle on/off?
Some simple fix I wasn't aware of.
Sorry, I missed seeing that question in your original post. AFAIK there's no such setting. Highest probability is either your SIM has issues or the SIM socket in your phone has issues.

I'd recommend:
  1. Get a new SIM from T-Mobile and see if the problem continues.
  2. If it does, then try a full restore on the phone just to be sure it's not software
  3. Go to an Apple store and have them fix it. Tell them you've already done steps #1 & #2.
deeddawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 12:57 PM   #5
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi5 View Post
I did a check for map coverage before I changed and it seemed to be OK.
Don't rely on coverage maps. Always confirm real world coverage. Maps are procedurally generated. They don't send people out to every point in the world to measure signal at each of those points.

Try verifying with another TMO device. Keep in mind that no carrier will guarantee indoor coverage. at&t's coverage of your basement is irrelevant with regard to TMO's. They don't use the same towers, frequencies, etc.

Does this happen no matter where you're located or just in certain spots?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi5 View Post
Also asked did searches and a good %age of those that switched seemed
to be happy.
That also means nothing. Always verify real world coverage where you need it. You may need to take a new carrier for a spin to test it out and decide before your period to cancel with ETF runs out in order to do so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeddawg View Post
Highest probability is either your SIM has issues or the SIM socket in your phone has issues.
Unless the OP has ruled out TMO's coverage I'd suspect that to be the highest probability. It could certainly be the phone but there's not enough info provided to say one way or another.

Last edited by takeshi74; Jul 9, 2013 at 01:04 PM.
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 01:10 PM   #6
rockitdog
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
This is a T-Mo issue. My iPhone goes in and out of service every once in a while. With T-Mo you have to take the good with the bad, this is one of the bad parts of service with them.
__________________
Talk nerdy to me!
|13" late 2012 MBP | Black Ipad 2
Galaxy S5 while I wait for the iPhone 6!
rockitdog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 10:22 PM   #7
Jedi5
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Burbs, IL
Thanks all for the replies and suggestions!

It doesn't happen everywhere or all the time but I do see it happening
now more often. I'm in the basement right now in my office looking at the phone and see "No Service" staring right back at me.

Today I went out to eat during lunch and for a good 30 seconds I lost
service. I also couldn't access the internet. I tried turning on/off wifi and data
to see if that would trigger something but nothing worked.

When I switched to TMO, I wasn't expecting 100% service... but I also
wasn't expecting this.

I'll go to TMO and ask them to switch out the SIM.
Now I just tell them I think i have a bad SIM?
Is there anything else I should say or word it differently to get a better response from them?

So it is safe to say that upgrading my 4S to the new phone when it comes out
will most likely not improve anything?

Thanks again!
__________________
15.4" Mac Book Pro 2009
21.5" iMac 2009
iPhone 3GS 32GB
iPod Nano
Jedi5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2013, 10:28 PM   #8
deeddawg
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi5 View Post
So it is safe to say that upgrading my 4S to the new phone when it comes out
will most likely not improve anything?
Not enough info to be safe to say anything at all.
deeddawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2013, 08:23 AM   #9
rockitdog
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Keep us posted.
__________________
Talk nerdy to me!
|13" late 2012 MBP | Black Ipad 2
Galaxy S5 while I wait for the iPhone 6!
rockitdog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2013, 08:57 AM   #10
Cursor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
My service got much better when I upgraded from the 4S to the T-Mobile-optimized 5. The 4S was dropping out and getting horribly slow speeds. Now, the 5 get good speeds and I don't get "No Service" nearly as often, if ever.

I think the better antenna that is able to receive a wider band (T-Mobile HSPA+?) in the newer iPhone 5 helps.
__________________
#^@$*%!!
Cursor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 10, 2013, 12:47 PM   #11
deeddawg
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cursor View Post
My service got much better when I upgraded from the 4S to the T-Mobile-optimized 5. The 4S was dropping out and getting horribly slow speeds. Now, the 5 get good speeds and I don't get "No Service" nearly as often, if ever.
Are you in a refarmed area or no? Guessing you may not have been.

Quote:
I think the better antenna that is able to receive a wider band (T-Mobile HSPA+?) in the newer iPhone 5 helps.
While it's true that iphone5 is able to use frequencies used by T-mobile that iphone4 cannot, the reason is the chipset inside the phone not the antenna.
deeddawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2013, 11:13 PM   #12
Jedi5
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Burbs, IL
So a quick update.

Finally went to TMO and they quickly with no problems exchanged my SIM card. I asked the rep if this was a common problem and she said yes.
They do have customers come in complaining about a bad SIM and they exchange them out.

It's been 2 days so far and I haven't gotten a "No Service" message on my 4S in my basement or anywhere else in my house. Now I still don't know if I can make calls in my basement though. Haven' tried that yet. But so far, everything seems to be working better. Fingers crossed!!

Thanks to all for the suggestions and help!
__________________
15.4" Mac Book Pro 2009
21.5" iMac 2009
iPhone 3GS 32GB
iPod Nano
Jedi5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2013, 02:39 AM   #13
Agent-P
macrumors 68020
 
Agent-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi5 View Post
So a quick update.

Finally went to TMO and they quickly with no problems exchanged my SIM card. I asked the rep if this was a common problem and she said yes.
They do have customers come in complaining about a bad SIM and they exchange them out.

It's been 2 days so far and I haven't gotten a "No Service" message on my 4S in my basement or anywhere else in my house. Now I still don't know if I can make calls in my basement though. Haven' tried that yet. But so far, everything seems to be working better. Fingers crossed!!

Thanks to all for the suggestions and help!
Luckily it ended up being a simple fix of just needing a new SIM card.
__________________
I have a dream that one day iOS users, Android users, and Windows Phone users will be able to sit down together at the table of brotherhood.
Agent-P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2013, 10:42 PM   #14
Jedi5
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: North Burbs, IL
And of course I spoke way to soon... grr!!!

Outside my house in the front lawn and phone is searching.
Upstairs and phone has no service.

I shouldn't have left ATT.

If I were to go back or try to go back, could I get my old plan back?
I still had the 200 txts for $5.
__________________
15.4" Mac Book Pro 2009
21.5" iMac 2009
iPhone 3GS 32GB
iPod Nano
Jedi5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 27, 2013, 11:00 PM   #15
futurefortress
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
The same thing has happened to me twice this week for about 45 seconds each time. Weird because it never happened on my iPhone 4 but after upgrading to the 5 a couple weeks ago it seems to happen somewhat often.

It's really obnoxious but I pay such a good price for my plan on T-Mobile that I don't really care.
futurefortress is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 28, 2013, 09:03 PM   #16
awesomest47
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi5 View Post
And of course I spoke way to soon... grr!!!

Outside my house in the front lawn and phone is searching.
Upstairs and phone has no service.

I shouldn't have left ATT.

If I were to go back or try to go back, could I get my old plan back?
I still had the 200 txts for $5.
I absolutely loved my AT&T service. But it's okay, at least you didn't switch to sprint! Haha.. No, AT&T will not let you get back on the $5 texting plan as that is grandfathered you can choose $20 for unlimited or 20 cents a message.
awesomest47 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2013, 11:17 AM   #17
Apple Trees
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2013
T-Mobile's coverage is already spotty, by using a 4S with them you're crippling yourself even more. You should have at least gotten the iPhone 5 if you're going to use them so that you can access their AWS frequencies.

Their coverage maps don't show the 1900mhz frequency that the iPhone 4S requires, just the AWS that the iPhone 5 uses. For some reason T-Mobile still refuses to provide a 1900mhz coverage map for customers (probably because the coverage is too embarrassing).
Apple Trees is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 10:36 PM   #18
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi5 View Post
If I were to go back or try to go back, could I get my old plan back?
I still had the 200 txts for $5.
No.
That option is long gone and you cannot get it back again.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:13 PM   #19
RotaryP7
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Miami, FL
It's not the SIM card nor the iPhone. Unfortunately it's T-Mobile's service on the 4S. Remember, you're not using a T-Mobile phone. Like someone else said, you should of at least gotten the iPhone 5. The coverage map you see everywhere on T-Mobile's website or in-store does not apply to you.
__________________
MacBook Pro, 2.4 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB HD ; iPhone 5 16 GB ; iPad Mini 16 GB
RotaryP7 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2013, 02:24 AM   #20
swish2351
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Why do people leave grandfathered plans
__________________

13" rMBP, iPhone 5s, iPhone 4S, iPad Mini

swish2351 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying the SIM-free iphone for VZW & TMO darksparkz iPhone 10 Nov 25, 2013 08:18 PM
Carrier: Have TMo sim starter kit + unlocked iPhone 5. Can I check coverage without activatng? anthonymoody iPhone 20 Nov 8, 2013 05:44 PM
iPad: Can anyone confirm iPad Air - AT&T/Tmo iPad with Verizon SIM? Jades iPad 12 Nov 1, 2013 01:36 PM
Differences between Straight Talk or Net10 (Tmo sim) and T-mobile... x2thaz iPhone 4 Mar 31, 2013 10:08 PM
Sold my phone on ebay, left my sim card in, bad? brinycbri iPhone 3 Sep 21, 2012 01:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC