Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bluebird3

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jun 29, 2013
I've been using Photoshop from CS3 version and I mostly do the basic task such as resizing the image, changing level, contrast, brightness, crop, brush, removing object, etc ..,

but when I buy my new compute, I will no longer have the CS software... I have never used iPhoto before and I was wondering what it can do?

Nishi100

macrumors 6502a
Mar 27, 2010
iPhoto isn't really a photo editing piece of software; it's a photo management app, with some photo editing abilities built in.

You can:
Rotate, fix redeye, straighten, crop, retouch (magic removal tool / content-aware) images.
Lighten / darken, add / remove contrast, make image warmer / cooler, edit saturation, add effects like - B&W, Sepia, Vignette, Matte, Edge Blur etc.
Levels adjustment & exposure, contrast, saturation, sharpen, highlights, shadows, de-noise, temperature and tint control.

mumph

macrumors regular
Apr 18, 2013
I've been using Photoshop from CS3 version and I mostly do the basic task such as resizing the image, changing level, contrast, brightness, crop, brush, removing object, etc ..,

but when I buy my new compute, I will no longer have the CS software... I have never used iPhoto before and I was wondering what it can do?

Think of iPhoto as iTunes for photos. Its kind of a management app with a few simple tools like resizing, contrast settings, colour adjustments etc.

It will come free with your new Mac so theres no harm in giving it a go and finding out for yourself.

magilla

macrumors regular
Aug 3, 2013