Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

EliteDeforce

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 10, 2013
Ok here goes...

I am going to be purchasing a Haswell rMBP 15" when they do eventually come out. However, I think I will be opting for the 256GB SSD that will most likely come standard. Thus, this means I have to make use of my various external hard drives to hold the big stuff (movies, backups, etc.) However, I am switching to Mac from a very Windows-based setup I currently have going on, so I am new at this and wondering what I should do here:

-I have 3 externals currently,

a 2TB shared (home) network external that currently has another Mac computer running time machine on it (which I believe is an Apple file system), about a year old;
a 500GB powered FireWire/USB2 external which I'm currently using as a main drive for my windows desktop (NTFS), about 6 years old;
and a 1TB little portable USB3 external which I basically only use when on the go (FAT32), about 4 months old.

I've decided I will be using the network drive solely for the Time Machine of my computer and my other iMac unless otherwise necessary. My biggest decision is whether to use the older 500gig drive as a main drive for my rMBP or simply keeping it as an archive. Most of my data is in this drive already with NTFS, so it's pretty useless in OSX at current. What I would do is transfer all the data to my portable 1TB unit and format the older drive for Apple file system. However, I fear I may somehow use some data in that big of a transfer.

Alternatively, since I don't mind formating the portable unit, I could just use that as the rMBP's main drive and just write on the older drive manually through Parallels if absolutely necessary to archive. However, I feel the portable unit would be more prone to fail with heavy usage.

Lastly, I could just spend 100 bucks to get a good powered external hard drive. Thus I ask you...