Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 13, 2013, 06:00 PM   #1
bigbadneil
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Help needed with the set up of my new Mac Pro

Guys,
I recently bought a new Mac Pro with this configuration
I use my new computer mainly for photo processing and when I upload my photos to Lightroom it is a very slow process.......I do this via a Sandisk USB card reader.
Is there a better way to do this and if so what is it. Also I am storing my pictures on external hard drives and they can also be slow. I only used one of the internal tray in the Mac Pro for storage so I think I still have one left.
Any tips and help would be much appreciated

----------

I just noticed that my MBP has 4 trays for hard drives, would it help if I put a SSD in one of them so that the computer uses that one of everything and the other ones for spill over.......or am I missing the plot here
bigbadneil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 06:01 PM   #2
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbadneil View Post
Guys,
I recently bought a new Mac Pro with this configuration Image
I use my new computer mainly for photo processing and when I upload my photos to Lightroom it is a very slow process.......I do this via a Sandisk USB card reader.
Is there a better way to do this and if so what is it. Also I am storing my pictures on external hard drives and they can also be slow. I only used one of the internal tray in the Mac Pro for storage so I think I still have one left.
Any tips and help would be much appreciated
There are 4 internal trays and two more SATA connectors in optical area.

You can thus easily install 6 HDD or SSDs at no additional cost. Enjoy this freedom, to install these same drives in a 2013 nMP will set you back hundreds in TB enclosures and cables.
MacVidCards is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 07:17 PM   #3
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
There are 4 internal trays and two more SATA connectors in optical area.

You can thus easily install 6 HDD or SSDs at no additional cost. Enjoy this freedom, to install these same drives in a 2013 nMP will set you back hundreds in TB enclosures and cables.
Or you could buy a single Thunderbolt enclosure for all of the drives and a single Thunderbolt cable. Now there is an idea. Why would someone buy 6 separate enclosures and six separate ThunderBolt cables when it could be handled better with much less.

The OP never even mentioned the yet to be released 2013 Mac Pro his question was specific to the 2012 Mac Pro that he already owns so your bias wasn't really needed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbadneil View Post
I just noticed that my MBP has 4 trays for hard drives, would it help if I put a SSD in one of them so that the computer uses that one of everything and the other ones for spill over
Err, you wouldn't have spill over if one drive is used for everything. Unless you define everything differently than how the dictionary does.

Last edited by brand; Jul 13, 2013 at 07:37 PM.
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 07:31 PM   #4
drewsof07
macrumors 68000
 
drewsof07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
Or you could buy a single Thunderbolt enclosure for all of the drives and a single Thunderbolt cable. Now there is an idea. Why would someone buy 6 separate enclosures and six separate ThunderBolt cables when it could be handled better with much less.
Since when does the current MP support Thunderbolt?
drewsof07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 07:36 PM   #5
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewsof07 View Post
Since when does the current MP support Thunderbolt?
I never said the current Mac Pro has ThunderBolt. If you would have bothered to read the post I was replying to he was talking about adding 6 external drives to the 2013 Mac Pro and that it would several ThunderBolt enclosures and ThunderBolt cables.
brand is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 07:36 PM   #6
mcnallym
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewsof07 View Post
Since when does the current MP support Thunderbolt?
Read the quoted bit about about internal hard drives and then makes sense! Helps if read the FULL entry.

He is isn't saying use Thunderbolt Chassis with the current Mac Pro.

Is merely passing comment as people can't seem to resist putting digs in about the Mac Pro 2013 model ( because there isn't enough threads about that already )
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 - 3.33Hex, 12Gb DDR-1333, OCZ Vector 512Gb x 4 on Sonnet SSD Pro,
4 x 1Tb Samsung F3 SW RAID0, Zotac 680GTX 4Gb
Optiarc AD-7240S, Pioneer BDR-208DBK
mcnallym is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 07:44 PM   #7
drewsof07
macrumors 68000
 
drewsof07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
I never said the current Mac Pro has ThunderBolt. If you would have bothered to read the post I was replying to he was talking about adding 6 external drives to the 2013 Mac Pro and that it would several ThunderBolt enclosures and ThunderBolt cables.
Ah, so we're making suggestions based on an unreleased product that the OP doesn't have? That's probably helpful to him/her.

Got it now.
drewsof07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 07:51 PM   #8
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
Or you could buy a single Thunderbolt enclosure for all of the drives and a single Thunderbolt cable. Now there is an idea. Why would someone buy 6 separate enclosures and six separate ThunderBolt cables when it could be handled better with much less.
Read it again, I wrote "enclosures" as in more than 1. Never said 6. Or do you know of a single enclosure that can hold 4@3.5 HDD and 2@optical drives? If not, I guess plural was correct as it would take at least 2 enclosureS

And an enclosure for 4-6 drives is how much?

I was trying to point out that he has luxury of having 6 drives of his choosing, a reason to be glad he has a 2009. He originally believed it only held 2 total drives.

People are getting a LITTLE too sensitive.

Last edited by MacVidCards; Jul 13, 2013 at 08:04 PM.
MacVidCards is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 09:19 PM   #9
crjackson2134
macrumors 65816
 
crjackson2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
I was trying to point out that he has luxury of having 6 drives of his choosing, a reason to be glad he has a 2009.
Just curious, but how can you tell it's a 2009 machine he's using?
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 6-Core 3.33 GHz, 48GB, ATI HD 5870
Optical-Apple Super Drive & MCE Internal Blu-ray
512GB Samsung 840 Pro 1TB WD, 1TB Barracuda
HP RocketU 1144C USB 3.0/SOLO-X2/OS X 10.10
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 09:34 PM   #10
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by crjackson2134 View Post
Just curious, but how can you tell it's a 2009 machine he's using?
Look at RAM speed, it's 2009 or later.

So, it has 6 SATA ports ready for drives.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 10:29 PM   #11
flat five
macrumors 68000
 
flat five's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: newyorkcity
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbadneil View Post
when I upload my photos to Lightroom
be careful about buying a bunch of stuff to try to fix your speed problems because you might end up wasting some money..

lightroom has to do some things to the files when they come in (such as generate thumbnails).. this is possibly (probably) where your slowdown is coming from.

maybe go ask around at an adobe forum as you might (probably) get better help there.
flat five is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2013, 11:07 PM   #12
mcnallym
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
http://macperformanceguide.com/Optim...Lightroom.html

Not a bad place to start
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 - 3.33Hex, 12Gb DDR-1333, OCZ Vector 512Gb x 4 on Sonnet SSD Pro,
4 x 1Tb Samsung F3 SW RAID0, Zotac 680GTX 4Gb
Optiarc AD-7240S, Pioneer BDR-208DBK
mcnallym is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2013, 06:05 AM   #13
Macsonic
macrumors 65816
 
Macsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Earth
Send a message via Yahoo to Macsonic
Hi Bigbadneil. Congrats on your Mac Pro. It's a fast and durable machine that can give you many years of service. I am using a 4.1 and 5.1 Mac Pro and both are similar and working fine. Putting SSDs on the optical bay area and HDDs on the 4 sled trays should work fine. HERE is an article about Lightroom that may help your setup.
Macsonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2013, 10:59 AM   #14
butch10x
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbadneil View Post
Guys,
I recently bought a new Mac Pro with this configuration Image
I use my new computer mainly for photo processing and when I upload my photos to Lightroom it is a very slow process.......I do this via a Sandisk USB card reader.
Is there a better way to do this and if so what is it. Also I am storing my pictures on external hard drives and they can also be slow. I only used one of the internal tray in the Mac Pro for storage so I think I still have one left.
Any tips and help would be much appreciated

----------

I just noticed that my MBP has 4 trays for hard drives, would it help if I put a SSD in one of them so that the computer uses that one of everything and the other ones for spill over.......or am I missing the plot here
If I'm understanding the the issue correctly, he is having issues with uploading at a slow rate. The problem is the USB card reader. Couple ways to speed up the upload via cards are (1) get a firewire card reader, (2) get a USB 3.0 pci card and upload via a USB 3.0 card reader ( super fast transfers for us photographers using high MP camera files). I use the latter and it's a huge difference in speed from the usb 2.0. Again, this is what I'm taking from the OP's post. Using SSd's can dramatically increase the import time once the files are on the ssd. Using a pci card like the Sonnet Tempo ones can even further speed up file read/ writes. I plan on upgrading my 2010 with the Sonnet Tempo Pro soon and I'm currently using a Synology Diskstation to store/ backup my photo archive. I cant say enough how awesome the Synology system is! They have usb 3.0, sata, connections for fast transfers as well.
Hope this helped.

Last edited by butch10x; Jul 14, 2013 at 11:45 AM.
butch10x is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 2013, 08:52 PM   #15
crjackson2134
macrumors 65816
 
crjackson2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Charlotte, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
Look at RAM speed, it's 2009 or later.

So, it has 6 SATA ports ready for drives.
okay, I see. You meant 2009 or later. I missed the or later part first time around. I thought you meant it was specifically a 2009 assembled machine, and was wondering how you could tell.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 6-Core 3.33 GHz, 48GB, ATI HD 5870
Optical-Apple Super Drive & MCE Internal Blu-ray
512GB Samsung 840 Pro 1TB WD, 1TB Barracuda
HP RocketU 1144C USB 3.0/SOLO-X2/OS X 10.10
crjackson2134 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 08:22 AM   #16
bigbadneil
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macsonic View Post
Hi Bigbadneil. Congrats on your Mac Pro. It's a fast and durable machine that can give you many years of service. I am using a 4.1 and 5.1 Mac Pro and both are similar and working fine. Putting SSDs on the optical bay area and HDDs on the 4 sled trays should work fine. HERE is an article about Lightroom that may help your setup.
Thank you sir.
Sorry to everyone else for not replying earlier but I have been away on a photo shoot

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by butch10x View Post
If I'm understanding the the issue correctly, he is having issues with uploading at a slow rate. The problem is the USB card reader. Couple ways to speed up the upload via cards are (1) get a firewire card reader, (2) get a USB 3.0 pci card and upload via a USB 3.0 card reader ( super fast transfers for us photographers using high MP camera files). I use the latter and it's a huge difference in speed from the usb 2.0. Again, this is what I'm taking from the OP's post. Using SSd's can dramatically increase the import time once the files are on the ssd. Using a pci card like the Sonnet Tempo ones can even further speed up file read/ writes. I plan on upgrading my 2010 with the Sonnet Tempo Pro soon and I'm currently using a Synology Diskstation to store/ backup my photo archive. I cant say enough how awesome the Synology system is! They have usb 3.0, sata, connections for fast transfers as well.
Hope this helped.
Thank you Sir

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbadneil View Post
Thank you sir.
Sorry to everyone else for not replying earlier but I have been away on a photo shoot

----------

Thank you Sir
Quote:
Originally Posted by crjackson2134 View Post
Just curious, but how can you tell it's a 2009 machine he's using?
Guy's,
I bought my MP at the beginning of this year so its 2013.
I went and talked with the apple shop in Malaysia today and he is getting me a price for one 512GB.. SSD hard drive and 2 more 2TB hard drives for backups. He also told me that my machine does not have thunderbolt so I might as well forget about that.
As far as the USB-3 goes how do I tell if my USB ports are 2 or 3???.
I love my MP so any help you guys can offer me is very much appreciated.
One last thing the guy in the apple shop also told me that I would be better reinstalling all my current applications onto the new SSD drive as that will help speed everything up.........is that about right???
bigbadneil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 08:59 AM   #17
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbadneil View Post
I bought my MP at the beginning of this year so its 2013.
Apple has yet to release a 2013 Mac Pro so that is not possible. Your model is a 2012 Mac Pro.
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 09:00 AM   #18
bigbadneil
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by brand View Post
Apple has yet to release a 2013 Mac Pro so that is not possible. Your model is a 2012 Mac Pro.
OK great 2012 it is.........what would you recommend for the above question
bigbadneil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 09:02 AM   #19
brand
macrumors 68040
 
brand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbadneil View Post
OK great 2012 it is.........what would you recommend for the above question
The easiest way would be to look at the specifications on Apple's website but to save you time they are USB2.0.
brand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 09:31 AM   #20
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
All current MPs have USB 2.0
Some setup ideas:

1. when money isn't the limit:
256GB SSD for OS and apps to HDD bay
Sonnet Tempo SSD Pro
2x 512GB SSDs in RAID 0 on above Sonnet card - for your LR library
3TB HDD for backup
pcie card reader
~$1400 for 1TB working space with ~900MB/s R/W speed and near 0 access time

2. cheaper one:
128GB SSD for OS and apps to HDD bay
SYBA SD-PEX40068 PCIe card
2x 256GB SSDs in RAID 0 on above SYBA card - for LR library
3TB HDD for backup
pcie card reader
~$750 for 512GB working space with ~500/900MB/s R/W speed and near 0 access time

3. bugdet (compromise) one:
128GB SSD for OS and apps to optical bay
3x 3TB HDDs in RAID 0 - for LR library
3TB HDD for backup
pcie card reader
~$650 for 9TB working space with ~450MB/s R/W with standard HDD access time

In all above options main limiting factor (when copying files from the card) will be card's speed.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 12:45 PM   #21
Macsonic
macrumors 65816
 
Macsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Earth
Send a message via Yahoo to Macsonic
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbadneil View Post

Guy's,

As far as the USB-3 goes how do I tell if my USB ports are 2 or 3???.
I love my MP so any help you guys can offer me is very much appreciated.
One last thing the guy in the apple shop also told me that I would be better reinstalling all my current applications onto the new SSD drive as that will help speed everything up.........is that about right???
Hi Bigbadneil For your 2012 Mac Pro you can install a USB 3.0 card on your PCIe slot. You can either use the Orico USB 3.0 or Caldigit USB 3. I am using the Caldigit USB 3.0. For your applicatioins yep you can put them in your SSD and use your other hard drives to store all your files.
Macsonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 05:06 PM   #22
bigbadneil
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macsonic View Post
Hi Bigbadneil For your 2012 Mac Pro you can install a USB 3.0 card on your PCIe slot. You can either use the Orico USB 3.0 or Caldigit USB 3. I am using the Caldigit USB 3.0. For your applicatioins yep you can put them in your SSD and use your other hard drives to store all your files.
Perfect thank you that is what I will do
bigbadneil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 11:44 PM   #23
willgreene99
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DFW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macsonic View Post
Hi Bigbadneil For your 2012 Mac Pro you can install a USB 3.0 card on your PCIe slot. You can either use the Orico USB 3.0 or Caldigit USB 3. I am using the Caldigit USB 3.0. For your applicatioins yep you can put them in your SSD and use your other hard drives to store all your files.
Does the Caldigit require a power connector? and If so, is a cable supplied with it? and where does it plug into?
__________________

MacBook Air 6,1 - 11"-1.7Ghz-8G-512G
willgreene99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 2013, 11:56 PM   #24
Macsonic
macrumors 65816
 
Macsonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Earth
Send a message via Yahoo to Macsonic
Quote:
Originally Posted by willgreene99 View Post
Does the Caldigit require a power connector? and If so, is a cable supplied with it? and where does it plug into?
Hi Willgreene Nope. The Caldigit did not require a power connector. It just came with the CD driver containing drivers for OS 10.6 and 10.8 and some Windows drivers. The model I bought had 2 ports USB 3.0 and 2 ports eSATA so you can also connect eSATA ext Hard drives or maybe SSD. After installing the card, I just installed the driver.

The card works fine as it's stable, as in no disconnection specially transferring large files. Tested this Card on 4.1 2009 Mac Pro, 5.1 Mac Pro and also on 2008 Mac Pro and all worked well.

The Orico is also a good card but you will need a power cable and the price is cheaper. Caldigit's price is higher so there's a trade off. Hope this helps
Macsonic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2013, 05:54 AM   #25
applegeek897
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Something that would help is to get a USB 3.0 PCI-E card and a USB 3.0 Card reader this should be a huge help.
__________________
cMac Pro 5,1: 2.8GHz QC / 16GB Ram / ATI 5770 / 1x2TB / 3x1TB / 240GB SSD. 30" ACD, 24" Benq.
rMacBook Pro: 2.6Ghz / 16GB / GT 750M 2GB / 1TB SSD.
Gear: Canon 1D MK IV / Canon 16-35mm 2.8L II USM
applegeek897 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me set a sale price for my 09 Mac Pro Montymitch Buying Tips and Advice 7 May 5, 2014 04:44 AM
Mac Pro 2009 set-up Levina Mac Pro 21 Apr 27, 2014 12:31 PM
How to set up Thunderbolt drive with Mac Pro? alen655321 Mac Pro 4 Mar 7, 2014 01:08 PM
A Mac Mini Pro Mod Set Up Michaelgtrusa Picture Gallery 3 Jun 9, 2013 10:11 AM
Help needed in buying a Mac Pro bigbadneil Mac Pro 39 Dec 23, 2012 06:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC