Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

johnnyyt

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 22, 2013
ive been looking in buying a display for my rmbp 15. i tend to play alot of games and movies at home so i want something bigger. the 15 is good for on the go but at home, it tends to get small at times

im fairly new to macs so whats good about the apple cinema displays? they seem to be priced aloooot higher than other display brands like samsung or LG. is there a reason for this?

if i were to go with apple (ive developed a soft spot for apple products), what would be the difference in the newer and older cinema displays?

COrocket

macrumors 6502
Dec 9, 2012
What is your budget? Higher end dell/Samsung etc. can compete with apple TBD at a much more reasonable price point. The real difference is the TBD has the laptop charging and docking, but any brand display would work fine.

johnnyyt

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 22, 2013
What is your budget? Higher end dell/Samsung etc. can compete with apple TBD at a much more reasonable price point. The real difference is the TBD has the laptop charging and docking, but any brand display would work fine.

I don't have a budget really.. I want to save money of course but if it means spending more money for a better display then sure.

Are there any advantages to apple displays at all?

COrocket

macrumors 6502
Dec 9, 2012
I don't have a budget really.. I want to save money of course but if it means spending more money for a better display then sure.

Are there any advantages to apple displays at all?