Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

drjack69

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 16, 2013
Hi All, Sorry I'm a noob.

I wonder if anyone can help me.

I have 2 ATV's in the house and also a Blu Ray surround system. One of the ATV's is V2 (in the bedroom) and one is an ATV3 (in the living room hooked up to the surround sound).

Obviously, I am more than happy to just watch a blu ray in the living room, but I'd like to also be able to watch stuff in the bedroom via ATV2. Having said that, I would also like the convenience of transferring my bought Blu rays to my mac so I can just fire up the ATV3 and see my whole library rather than having to get up off my fat ar$e and actually put a disc in the player :)

I have bought a blu ray burner which is performing well with MakeMKV and then transferring it to Handbrake for re-encoding. The video is fantastic!

My main issue is with audio....

With bought itunes content, I can happily have stereo in the bedroom and surround in the living room. Even with my DVD's that I have ripped with Handbrake, this is the case. For some reason, with a blu ray rip, ATV3 plays the stereo sound file through the optical port even if there is a 5.1 track in Dolby or DTS available in the mp4. I have tried having the prologic mix as track one and the AC3 passthrough as track two and vice versa.