Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 12, 2005, 01:26 PM   #1
Geddy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Pro Tools HD with 30" apple moniter..

Hi Folks, I wonder if anyone can help me. I am a musician and run a 'Pro Tools TDM HD 2' system. I was suprised to be told recently that it is impossible to use an Apple 30" moniter display whilst running Pro Tools TDM as the required graphics card overhangs and causes problems with the HD core card. I have a dual 2.3 G5 that i bought 6 weeks ago (not one of the latest machines). I have subsequently been advised that an ATI Radion 850X graphics card may solve the problem,What d'ya reckon?
Geddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2005, 02:29 PM   #2
bigandy
macrumors G3
 
bigandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: B'more
get the latest, greatest, most expensive graphics card you can possibly afford that'll drive the 30" ACD properly. that card should be ok, but it may be an incompatibility with certain hardware, so maybe get in touch with the guys that make ProTools.

or use Logic
__________________
"any day that involves cat pee is a really bad day" - iBlue
bigandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2005, 05:18 PM   #3
OutThere
macrumors 603
 
OutThere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigandy
get the latest, greatest, most expensive graphics card you can possibly afford that'll drive the 30" ACD properly. that card should be ok, but it may be an incompatibility with certain hardware, so maybe get in touch with the guys that make ProTools.

or use Logic
I think he was referring to the fact that the graphics card actually physically hangs over the slot for the ProTools card within the computer...If they claim that the X850 doesn't cover the slot then go for it...you should probably get the best card that you can afford that doesn't hang over the slot.
__________________
puisqu'on est jeune et con, puisqu'ils sont vieux et fous. . .
OutThere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2005, 01:26 PM   #4
DDarkfire
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Hey,
The problem isn't an actual system incompatibility. As OutThere mentioned, the problem is a physical one. You need to make sure that the video card doesn't block the slots for the HD cards. If it does, you can always go for a 64-bit PCI Expansion Chassis, such as the one made by Digidesign. The problem with this one is that it is a bit too hardcore, and in all honesty Digidesign isn't known for having fair prices.
Cheers
__________________
----------------------------------------------------
Digidesign HD3 Accel, Dual 2.3 G5, Dual 23" Displays, Control 24, Focusrite ISA Pres, Avalon Pres, Lots of Assorted Mics and Instruments.


Daniel Bitran
Youngest Certified ProTools Operator

Last edited by DDarkfire; Nov 28, 2005 at 01:28 PM. Reason: Broken Link
DDarkfire is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 9 (familiarity with Logic's Ultrabeat) cps-sound Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Aug 16, 2011 06:35 PM
Pro Tools HD on Imac ?? gdeusthewhizkid iMac 3 Feb 4, 2011 03:00 PM
New 30" Apple Cinema Display :-) jasone6 Mac Pro 10 Jan 6, 2011 05:19 AM
Anyone with 2009 or 2010 MBP with 30" Apple Cinema Display? takamine MacBook Pro 2 Jun 15, 2010 11:20 PM
Pro Tools HD Compatibility scottyh Digital Audio 3 Sep 16, 2009 10:25 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC