Powerbook not recognising new RAM! - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 13, 2005, 08:15 AM   #1
al3000
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: England
Send a message via AIM to al3000
Powerbook not recognising new RAM!

I have just installed 512 of ram (crucial) to my new powerbook, I have followed the instructions exactly and it has snapped into place...but it is not showing up in system profiler. The first time it happened I took it out and tried again, but still nothing.

Please help, I really don't know what to do and worry i'm going to damage my system!

Thanks in advance
__________________
I've got a sexy mac (yeah!).
al3000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2005, 12:58 PM   #2
varmit
macrumors 68000
 
varmit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by al3000
I have just installed 512 of ram (crucial) to my new powerbook, I have followed the instructions exactly and it has snapped into place...but it is not showing up in system profiler. The first time it happened I took it out and tried again, but still nothing.

Please help, I really don't know what to do and worry i'm going to damage my system!

Thanks in advance
Take it out, send it back to Crucial for another chip, this seems to be bad RAM.
varmit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2005, 09:53 PM   #3
1hot5.0
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Take the stick of ram out, and try putting it in again. It may have snapped into place, but not have gone all the way in. If it still does not work after doing this, then I would send the stick of ram back for a replacement.
1hot5.0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2005, 10:18 PM   #4
joecool85
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maine
Send a message via AIM to joecool85
Crucial guarantees their ram, so no worries, just talk to them about it and they will take care of it in a hurry.
__________________
Linux, Mac, Windows...yeah, we got that.
thatraymond.com
joecool85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Parallels not recognising bootcamp davenz Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Dec 1, 2013 12:47 PM
iFlicks not recognising movies? elfy Apple TV and Home Theater 9 Sep 19, 2013 01:40 PM
Not recognising disc :-( Macaroooon MacBook Pro 0 Apr 10, 2013 07:39 AM
HELP! iMovie 11 not recognising TRANSPARENCY! EarthNeutron Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Aug 1, 2012 06:36 AM
Help please. Itunes not recognising my iphone sigooner Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jul 8, 2012 12:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC