Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

surf808

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 24, 2013
Hi!
I am new to Mac and want to purchase a MBA 11 or 13 -- I checked them out at Apple and Best Buy but I cant get past the fonts being blurry/not sharp on websites. I asked the Genius rep at Apple and he said there is no fix and I should get a rMBP.

Any suggestions? I really want a MBA! Thank you!

Sputnek

macrumors regular
Feb 4, 2011
Florida - Ohio
Hi!
I am new to Mac and want to purchase a MBA 11 or 13 -- I checked them out at Apple and Best Buy but I cant get past the fonts being blurry/not sharp on websites. I asked the Genius rep at Apple and he said there is no fix and I should get a rMBP.

At the end of the day it's a matter of opinion. I just received the MBA 11 today, and am completely satisfied with what I got. However, I never had expectations for a retina-like resolution. My primary use for the MBA is student (read pdfs, pots, type word docs, browse websites, and stream movies). If my primary use was video editing, photography, sound production, or gaming I would have gone for the MBP-Retina. My only recommendation for the MBA is to buy 8gb of ram. Hope this opinion helps.

Zaphyrus

macrumors member
Jun 20, 2013
At the end of the day it's a matter of opinion. I just received the MBA 11 today, and am completely satisfied with what I got. However, I never had expectations for a retina-like resolution. My primary use for the MBA is student (read pdfs, pots, type word docs, browse websites, and stream movies). If my primary use was video editing, photography, sound production, or gaming I would have gone for the MBP-Retina. My only recommendation for the MBA is to buy 8gb of ram. Hope this opinion helps.