Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 24, 2013, 11:27 PM   #1
Viantef
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Do I absolutely need 8GB RAM for my uses?

I need a computer now and can't wait for the shipping. Here are things I'll be running. Would 4GB run fine?

Xcode 5

Firefox

Spotify

Pixelmator

I'll probably buy a MacBook Pro Retina 15" in December. Quick question, can I transfer my Xcode project from a Mac to a different Mac and have everything work seamlessly?

Thanks
Viantef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2013, 11:59 PM   #2
iphonedude2008
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Irvine, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viantef View Post
I need a computer now and can't wait for the shipping. Here are things I'll be running. Would 4GB run fine?

Xcode 5

Firefox

Spotify

Pixelmator

I'll probably buy a MacBook Pro Retina 15" in December. Quick question, can I transfer my Xcode project from a Mac to a different Mac and have everything work seamlessly?

Thanks
Yes to the transfer question. You need to transfer your private key though. You can look that up. I don't know about the memory. I run xcode 5, skype, safari, iTunes, and iOS simulator all at the same time with plenty of memory left on 4 gb.
iphonedude2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 01:01 AM   #3
mattdo93
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SJ
Send a message via AIM to mattdo93
That's it? Even 2GB will do.

Lol jk. 4GB is fine dude!
mattdo93 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 01:11 AM   #4
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Xcode could do with more ram than 4GB.

You could RUN all that with 2GB, but buying a new machine with 4 GB today is like buying a Ferrari and running space-saver tyres on it. You're cippling a whole heap of other decent hardware in terms of performance by doing that.

If you migrate your stuff with time machine it will work seamlessly. I did this to migrate from my Mac Mini to my MBP just fine.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 01:17 AM   #5
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viantef View Post
I need a computer now and can't wait for the shipping. Here are things I'll be running. Would 4GB run fine?


Thanks
Probably. Of all listed, FireFox maybe the one that can reach that 4GB limit.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 06:51 AM   #6
ZBoater
macrumors 604
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
Do you absolutely need 8GB?

No.

Should you get 8GB?

If you can afford it. No one has ever complained about having too much RAM.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus | iPad Air 2 | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 07:06 AM   #7
RightMACatU
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: 192.168.1.1
and I might add that your resale value in a few years will be better with 8GB when the rest of the world will run on 16GB+
RightMACatU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 07:10 AM   #8
TC25
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viantef View Post
Do I absolutely need 8GB Ram for my uses?
Why do people ask questions like this?

No, you do not absolutely need 8GB Ram for any uses.
TC25 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 07:21 AM   #9
AppleMacFinder
macrumors 6502a
 
AppleMacFinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Does 4GB option still exist? I thought that in 2013 the default RAM volume is equal to 8GB
__________________
Anonymous: making Internet a better place since 2003!
AppleMacFinder is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 07:32 AM   #10
TC25
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleMacFinder View Post
Does 4GB option still exist? I thought that in 2013 the default RAM volume is equal to 8GB
A quick trip to the Apple site wold have told you that you thought wrong.
TC25 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 09:29 AM   #11
silverf1re
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
What kind of developer doesn't have a good grasp on memory usage?
silverf1re is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 09:41 AM   #12
cedwhatev
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
You don't need 8GB, but you'll be glad you did.
__________________
MacBook Air 11" 2013 1.7GHz, 8GB, 256SSD
iPad Mini 16GB iPhone 5C 16GB
TV 3 iPod Nano 16GB 4th Gen
cedwhatev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 09:41 AM   #13
Psychj0e
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleMacFinder View Post
Does 4GB option still exist? I thought that in 2013 the default RAM volume is equal to 8GB
No you didn't, stop attention seeking now.
Psychj0e is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 09:48 AM   #14
kanselmo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Standard 4 GB would be fine. Obviously more is always better but it's easier to find sales in places like MicroCenter with the more common model. You're buying a new laptop later this year so you could save the money to upgrade that machine's ram.

I have a 2012 MacBook Air 13" with 4 GB. I use it for travel and for tracking audio for my band in Logic. The computer isn't sweating with 30 audio tracks and about as many plugins going. Firefox works great and Pixelmator does too (though my Pixelmator use is simple so I'm not pushing it hard for that).
kanselmo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 09:50 AM   #15
AXs
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleMacFinder View Post
Does 4GB option still exist? I thought that in 2013 the default RAM volume is equal to 8GB
When I was in college, my 1GB of DDR1 was already badarse. DDR2 came out and everyone went insane.

Before that I went through school using a 166mhz Pentium MMX, all the way up to senior year.

Tell me more about how 4GB DDR3 isn't good enough for you.
AXs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 09:53 AM   #16
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
MBA memory is soldered so once it spec'ed you will not have a chance to upgrade it along the way assuming that you will stick it out with it. Go for 8GB, you will regret later if you don't.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 11:22 AM   #17
DisplacedMic
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post

You could RUN all that with 2GB, but buying a new machine with 4 GB today is like buying a Ferrari and running space-saver tyres on it.
no it isn't. you're on the Macbook Air forum, remember? It's not a Ferrari, it's a work horse. I would agree with you if we were talking about the Pro.

If you're buying an Air, you are looking for where portability and power converge and for most people the 4 gigs is plenty.

A better car/tyre analogy for this case would be to claim that upgrading is like putting racing tyres on your 4cyl accord. If you're doing work that really requires 8 gigs maybe the pro is the better machine for you?

that being said it's a pretty cheap upgrade, especially if you're a student, and i'd put the money there before upgrading the chip. And in light of the fact that it's "permanent" i think you have to ask yourself what you're more likely to regret - not getting it or getting it?
DisplacedMic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 11:32 AM   #18
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplacedMic View Post
no it isn't. you're on the Macbook Air forum, remember? It's not a Ferrari, it's a work horse. I would agree with you if we were talking about the Pro.

If you're buying an Air, you are looking for where portability and power converge and for most people the 4 gigs is plenty.
8 GB doesn't take up any more space (i.e, it does not compromise your portability requirement). It costs maybe 10% on top of the price of 4 GB (or roughly the same as a tank of fuel on my car) and will double the effective usable life of the machine (CPUs have been plenty good enough for non-specialist uses for about 5 years plus now, storage is upgradable - RAM will be the limiting factor).

It's a no brainer decision.


I've used both an air and a pro. There's little wrong with a maxxed out air.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 11:45 AM   #19
DisplacedMic
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
8 GB doesn't take up any more space (i.e, it does not compromise your portability requirement). It costs maybe 10% on top of the price of 4 GB (or roughly the same as a tank of fuel on my car) and will double the effective usable life of the machine (CPUs have been plenty good enough for non-specialist uses for about 5 years plus now, storage is upgradable - RAM will be the limiting factor).

It's a no brainer decision.


I've used both an air and a pro. There's little wrong with a maxxed out air.
i think you missed my point. i'm not saying it would add space or weight or that there's anything "wrong with the maxed out air"

i'm saying that the purpose of the Air is not the same as that of the Pro and I think claiming it doubles the effective usable life of your machine is hyperbole.

just because "CPUs have been plenty good for the past 5 years" doesn't mean that they won't be the limiting factor in machines in the next 5 years. But that also wasn't my point - as i said, i would certainly upgrade the ram before the chip but i stand by the claim that 4 gigs of RAM is going to be fine for the vast majority of people looking to buy the Air.

The biggest upgrade for most people is going to be the SSD. For those coming from spinning drives, that alone is going to blow people away. I recently upgraded my old 2009 2.4ghz laptop to 8 gigs and a SSD. I barely noticed the ram, but the drive is unbelievable.

But, as you say - for less than $100 it's certainly not going to break the bank and will help with resale down the road. I just don't think it's essential nor is it a "no brainer."
DisplacedMic is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 11:47 AM   #20
ttran88
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Some Apple stores will have some BTO options in stock. I know mine had a few with 8 GB ram. Call and ask. No shipping needed
__________________
mid-2013 Macbook Air. i5/8GB RAM/128GB SSD
ttran88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 11:55 AM   #21
throAU
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by DisplacedMic View Post
i'm saying that the purpose of the Air is not the same as that of the Pro and I think claiming it doubles the effective usable life of your machine is hyperbole. ."
Not as much as you may think.

I've been doing it since 1992 (ordering double the "normal" amount of RAM in my machines), and towards the end of the machine's life (i.e., 3+ years old) it is typically outperforming other people's machines (who didn't go for more memory) by 3-5x as it isn't constantly paging to disk.

More ram has ALWAYS been way better value than going for the slightly higher locked CPU. Going up a CPU speed grade won't win you 3x performance after 5 years. The RAM will.
__________________
MBP (early 2011) - Core i7 2720 2.2ghz, Hires Glossy, 16GB, Seagate Momentus XT 750GB
Mac Mini (mid 2007) - Core2 Duo 1.8, 2gb, 320gb 7200 rpm
iPhone 4S, iPad 4, iPad Mini, HTC One (eval)
throAU is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:02 PM   #22
DisplacedMic
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by throAU View Post
Not as much as you may think.

I've been doing it since 1992 (ordering double the "normal" amount of RAM in my machines), and towards the end of the machine's life (i.e., 3+ years old) it is typically outperforming other people's machines (who didn't go for more memory) by 3-5x as it isn't constantly paging to disk.

More ram has ALWAYS been way better value than going for the slightly higher locked CPU. Going up a CPU speed grade won't win you 3x performance after 5 years. The RAM will.
again, i am not arguing with you over which is the bette upgrade between ram and cpu. i am arguing whether or not you need either in this particular case.

there are a whole host of factors that will affect a machine's end of life performance and i suspect most of them have little to do with total amount of RAM in most cases. available RAM might be an issue - but that's user error related.

How many of those machines could have been brought back to life with a new battery, new hard drive or hell even just a good old fashioned wipe and fresh OS install?

Like I said, the SSD alone on my aging macbook brought it right back to current. it boots up in less than 30 seconds and every program loads with only 1 bounce of the icon. it's like a brand new machine. Now for $300 or so that is a bigger decision than whether or not to put 80-100 worth of ram into a new or old machine. It's like putting a new Tranny in a 20 year old car...the upgrade might cost more than the unit is worth.

but for me it was worth every penny - ymmv.

but i really don't believe RAM upgrade is as essential as you are making it out to be and the "it's only a few bucks more" type attitude is a dangerous one in today's economy. Not a judgement, I know i'm as guilty of it as the next man but i am hesitant to advise people to spend more money when they might not need to.
DisplacedMic is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 01:05 PM   #23
Viantef
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverf1re View Post
What kind of developer doesn't have a good grasp on memory usage?
Me.

I just started learning C, and now I'd like to move into Objective - C/iOS Dev, hence I have to get a Mac. As far as I'm concerned and my experience, development is a memory hog but I hear Xcode isn't that great of handling ram usage efficiently.
Viantef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 02:07 PM   #24
ttran88
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Just do it... its only 90 bucks over 3+ years of you owning the machine. What if one day you need it?
__________________
mid-2013 Macbook Air. i5/8GB RAM/128GB SSD
ttran88 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 02:56 PM   #25
silverf1re
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viantef View Post
Me.

I just started learning C, and now I'd like to move into Objective - C/iOS Dev, hence I have to get a Mac. As far as I'm concerned and my experience, development is a memory hog but I hear Xcode isn't that great of handling ram usage efficiently.
My sincerest internet apologies.

i dont know anything about xcode however I use Visual Studio with 4 GB dedicated to the VM.
silverf1re is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buy 4gb ram MBA on sale for $950, or pay $1200 for 8gb ram model? Jitster MacBook Air 11 Dec 18, 2013 12:00 PM
rMBP 13" (late 2013) 4GB RAM vs 8GB RAM Thomasasz MacBook Pro 9 Nov 10, 2013 05:38 PM
21.5" - 2.7GHz 16GB RAM or 2.9GHz 8GB RAM? benjamwes iMac 11 May 10, 2013 12:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC