Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 25, 2013, 11:34 AM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Apple Updates Logic Pro X with Bug Fixes, Stability Enhancements




After launching Logic Pro X earlier this month, Apple has updated the audio software with a number of stability fixes and performance enhancements.
Quote:
- Fixes an issue that could cause content downloading to stall
- 24-bit audio files are no longer converted to 16-bit when exporting projects to AAF
- Improves stability when switching between audio editors while Flex Pitch is enabled
- Track Stacks that contain both software instrument and audio tracks will no longer be inadvertently flattened by loading a Patch
- Tuner is now available when selecting a Track Stack containing audio tracks
- Addresses graphic and selection behavior issues in the Score Editor
Logic Pro X is described as Apple's most advanced Logic Pro software to date, offering a number of new creative tools for musicians, a redesigned interface, and an expanded collection of instruments and effects.

Logic Pro X can be downloaded from the Mac App Store for $199.99. [Direct Link]

Article Link: Apple Updates Logic Pro X with Bug Fixes, Stability Enhancements
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 11:36 AM   #2
St0rMl0rD
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Slovenia
99% of plugins I am using are 32 bit, and they don't work in Logic Pro X. Massive fail, Apple!
__________________
Apple Certified Support Professional 10.6
Apple Certified Associate - Mac Integration 10.7
Apple Sales Professional
Apple Product Professional
St0rMl0rD is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 11:46 AM   #3
Attonine
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tripoli, Libya
Quote:
Originally Posted by St0rMl0rD View Post
99% of plugins I am using are 32 bit, and they don't work in Logic Pro X. Massive fail, Apple!
Massive fail? really? Don't you just use the version you have, which worked fine until the recent release, and wait until the plug ins you need are rolled out in 64 bit version over the next few months, and then decide if you want to upgrade?
Attonine is offline   18 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 11:47 AM   #4
Mike Oxard
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by St0rMl0rD View Post
99% of plugins I am using are 32 bit, and they don't work in Logic Pro X. Massive fail, Apple!
Why is that Apples fault?
Mike Oxard is offline   14 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 11:49 AM   #5
polaris20
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by St0rMl0rD View Post
99% of plugins I am using are 32 bit, and they don't work in Logic Pro X. Massive fail, Apple!
I suppose you think PT11 is a massive fail too, since it's all 64-bit? 100% of my plugins are 64-bit, so no problems for me!
__________________
2.4Ghz i7 15" rMBP | 1.7Ghz Haswell 13" MBA
3rd gen iPad 32GB, 32GB iPhone 5 | HP XW4600 Ubuntu 12.04
VMWare ESXi 5.1, Thinkpad w/ Win8 Pro
polaris20 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 11:52 AM   #6
Carlson-online
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by St0rMl0rD View Post
99% of plugins I am using are 32 bit, and they don't work in Logic Pro X. Massive fail, Apple!
I'm more impressed that you have 100 plugins!
Carlson-online is offline   19 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 11:57 AM   #7
kirky29
macrumors 65816
 
kirky29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lincolnshire, England
Send a message via Yahoo to kirky29 Send a message via Skype™ to kirky29
If I have Logic 9 installed and want Logic X, does it overwrite version 9? Or does it install a separate version of X? If so do I just then delete version 9 (move to trash) and all my plugins and content will remain the same?

Thanks
__________________
27" iMac, 15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz i7 2011, iPhone 5 16GB - iPad 1/2/3/Mini - 24" Cinema Display,
Apple Magic Mouse, Trackpad, Time Machine, Apple TV,
| Check out my flickr |
kirky29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:01 PM   #8
Midphase
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by St0rMl0rD View Post
99% of plugins I am using are 32 bit, and they don't work in Logic Pro X. Massive fail, Apple!
Wrong, I would actually say that the massive fail should be blamed on your plugin developers. It's not like 64 bit technology was just discovered the other day....if these guys can't be bothered to rewrite some code and update their plugins after 4 years, perhaps it's time to dump them!
Midphase is offline   12 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:06 PM   #9
519tbarr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
All companies should be forced to update plugins and software to 64 bit compatibility. 32 bit software and machines are part of the past not the future.
519tbarr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:08 PM   #10
maplingstorie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Malaysia
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirky29 View Post
If I have Logic 9 installed and want Logic X, does it overwrite version 9? Or does it install a separate version of X? If so do I just then delete version 9 (move to trash) and all my plugins and content will remain the same?

Thanks
They're separated. Deleting either one or both will not disturb your plugins. So yeah, your plugins and content will remain the same. Logic Pro X only supports 64 bits plugins, just so you know
maplingstorie is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:08 PM   #11
teknikal90
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Quote:
Originally Posted by St0rMl0rD View Post
99% of plugins I am using are 32 bit, and they don't work in Logic Pro X. Massive fail, Apple!
noone is forcing you to update you know....and if youre any serious about this you shouldnt upgrade for a while still...
most likely a 64 bit version will be launched soon. if not, then those plug ins are outdated anyway and you should really get new, supported ones.
cant imagine it to be too big of a problem...
__________________
Logic Pro and Mainstage 3 User. I use iOS a lot.
teknikal90 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:10 PM   #12
AgentElliot007
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midphase View Post
Wrong, I would actually say that the massive fail should be blamed on your plugin developers. It's not like 64 bit technology was just discovered the other day....if these guys can't be bothered to rewrite some code and update their plugins after 4 years, perhaps it's time to dump them!
Exactly. But in the few cases where you want to keep using 32-bit plugins, it's nice that Logic Pro 9 doesn't just disappear.
AgentElliot007 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:11 PM   #13
mentholiptus
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I've been very impressed with LPX. LP9 was great, but this is really something else. Nice work, Apple. Looking forward to Aperture 4 or X or whatever you call it.
mentholiptus is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:14 PM   #14
fredoviola
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by St0rMl0rD View Post
99% of plugins I am using are 32 bit, and they don't work in Logic Pro X. Massive fail, Apple!
It's about time that all 3rd party plugins are 64 bit. Apple created the bridge to help aid in the transition from 32 to 64, but after a certain time the 3rd party plugins should have been replaced with 64 bit capable versions. This is not an Apple problem, imo.
fredoviola is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:16 PM   #15
4God
macrumors 68000
 
4God's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ventura, CA
FCPX XML fix?
4God is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:17 PM   #16
jonnysods
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Aussie living in Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by mentholiptus View Post
I've been very impressed with LPX. LP9 was great, but this is really something else. Nice work, Apple. Looking forward to Aperture 4 or X or whatever you call it.
I was just about to ask for an opinion on what everyone thought of X. I really want to make the jump. It looks slick.
jonnysods is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:22 PM   #17
hdaboliv
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Funny

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlson-online View Post
I'm more impressed that you have 100 plugins!
he could also have 200, 300, 400, 500... plugins and so on
hdaboliv is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:39 PM   #18
jayducharme
macrumors 68000
 
jayducharme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The thick of it
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnysods View Post
I was just about to ask for an opinion on what everyone thought of X. I really want to make the jump. It looks slick.
I really like it. I've worked with Logic since version 7, and although I liked its power and versatility, the interface needed work. Apple got it right with the new version.

I'm glad the update is out so quickly; I was working with a software instrument the other day and Logic crashed, just vanished from the screen. Hopefully that bug is fixed now.
jayducharme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 12:56 PM   #19
akm3
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
What do you guys think of Logic vs Propellerhead Reason? I know they serve very different uses, but the solo musician without a lot of physical tracks is where I'm at. I have an old version of Reason I've been using and it's great. Not sure which one (or both) to upgrade to.
__________________
akm3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 01:23 PM   #20
jrlcopy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carlson-online View Post
I'm more impressed that you have 100 plugins!
lol, most apple users are so reliant on presets it's not even funny. I just sigh in professional environments, "I could do this if you bought this plugin". How were you hired again?
__________________
15" Macbook Pro i7 / 8gb ram / Lion / Windows 8
Avid Symphony 6.5
jrlcopy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 01:27 PM   #21
Skika
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I must say, i am absolutely in love with Logic Pro X. Apple really delivered with this one.
__________________
MacBook Pro, iPad, iPhone
Skika is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 01:32 PM   #22
dannys1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by St0rMl0rD View Post
99% of plugins I am using are 32 bit, and they don't work in Logic Pro X. Massive fail, Apple!
99%?? What the hell devs are you using? Nearly everything worth having is updated to 64bit now!
__________________
iMac 27" Raid0 SSD Vertex 3 MAX IOPS (240gb 1000mbps R&W) 16gb ram rMBP 2.8ghz i7 16gb ram Mac mini Server iPad mini Retina iPhone 5S Grey
dannys1 is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 01:40 PM   #23
travisbrowning
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Anyone else getting a bug where full screen isn't displaying correctly?
__________________
2009 Macbook White, 2.13 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HD
iPhone 4, 16 GB
travisbrowning is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 02:09 PM   #24
alexmshore
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Full release notes as follows. Some nice fixes here.

Quote:
Stability

Logic Pro X should no longer quit unexpectedly when:
A Track Stack is flattened during playback.
Trimming an audio file in the Audio File Editor.
Switching from the Audio File Editor to the Audio Track Editor after enabling Flex Pitch.
Selecting or moving notes in the Piano Roll.
Saving a patch with an edited Smart Controls layout.
Several Software Instrument tracks are created in quick succession from Logic Remote.
Changing a velocity range in the EXS Editor while playing a note.
Deleting an Arrangement marker.
A second lane of MIDI data is added with the pencil in the Step Editor.
Fixes an issue that could cause content downloading to hang.
Logic Pro X should no longer hang if the Length parameter in the Step Editor was double-clicked.
Logic Pro X no longer hangs when a settings folder containing more than 138 settings files is accessed from Logic Remote.


Track Stacks

Tuner is now available when selecting the main track of a Track Stack.
The output routing on a Drummer Track that has been manually reassigned to an Aux is no longer reassigned to No Output when changing drum characters.
It is again possible to switch Aux channels that are part of a Multi Output Software Instrument between mono and stereo.
Resolves an issue in which a copied main track of a Summing Track Stack did not maintain the correct routing for sub-tracks.
Track Stacks that contain both software instrument and audio tracks will no longer be inadvertently flattened by loading a Patch.
Multi-timbral tracks are no longer created as track stacks by default.


Score

Text styles in the Score window event inspector pop-up menu now display the currently selected language.
You should now be able to import custom Text Styles into a new project.
Edit focus on selected regions should now be properly maintained when opening the Staff Style window.
You should now be able to select rests and bar repeat objects in the Score window.
Mapped Staff Styles no longer improperly show a Transpose value.


General

Create New Track with Next Channel now works as expected for multi-timbral Software Instrument or External MIDI tracks.
When Follow is selected in the Drummer Editor, a track is now automatically assigned for Drummer to follow.
When exporting projects to AAF, 24-bit audio files are no longer converted to 16-bit.
Resolves an issue in which in some cases notes copied in the Piano Roll ended up at unexpected positions.
Shift-clicking in the timeline to adjust the cycle range now works as expected.
The Mixer now correctly shows channel strips when navigating between multiple folders in the Main window.
Take regions now appear consistently in the Track Audio Editor when they are selected.
Resolves an issue in which Arrangement markers were improperly resized after being dragged in projects with a start point before bar 1 1 1 1.
Resolves an issue in which undo did not work after an Arrangement marker was copied.
__________________
alex-shore.com
Producer / Composer / Sound Design
alexmshore is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2013, 02:10 PM   #25
djarpit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdaboliv View Post
he could also have 200, 300, 400, 500... plugins and so on
I have 497 plugins....

over 200 are gone in logic X
__________________
iPhone 4 | Blackberry 9000 | iPhone 4 | Samsung Galaxy SII | Samsung Galaxy SII Skyrocket | Samsung Galaxy SIII
djarpit is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC