Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 29, 2013, 06:26 PM   #1
iphnhelp
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Terrible Yahoo maps makes iPhone weather wrong

I live in the Burbank, CA area and the weather on my iPhone has always shown my current location, using GPS, as Los Angeles, CA. And the weather is different enough between the two cities that it's getting annoying.

I traced this back to the fact that Yahoo is providing the weather, and Yahoo uses Naveteq for maps, and Naveteq maps shows a large part of the Burbank/ Studio City area as Los Angeles. So when it seems my location in that area it looks it up on the Naveteq/ Yahoo map and it is listed as Los Angeles so it shows weather from Los Angeles.

Very frustrating. I've used Naveteq map reporter to suggest they change it but I'm not holding my breath. Wish I could send a request to Yahoo but can't find any support site for suggestions.

Anyone else have this problem?
iphnhelp is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 06:28 PM   #2
barkomatic
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manhattan
It's often off by 10 degrees or more here.
barkomatic is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 06:31 PM   #3
waa1futs
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Go in your weather app.

Press the "i" symbol in bottom right.

Press the "+" sign in upper left.

Type "Burbank, CA" and click on it in the search results.

Done
waa1futs is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 06:35 PM   #4
iphnhelp
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by waa1futs View Post
Go in your weather app.

Press the "i" symbol in bottom right.

Press the "+" sign in upper left.

Type "Burbank, CA" and click on it in the search results.

Done
Right. But then you don't get accurate weather in the notification screen or any other place in iOS where the weather is integrated with the gps.
iphnhelp is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 06:49 PM   #5
waa1futs
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iphnhelp View Post
Right. But then you don't get accurate weather in the notification screen or any other place in iOS where the weather is integrated with the gps.
Feel free to try any of the many weather apps in the AppStore then.

There are so many they even have their own category
waa1futs is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 29, 2013, 07:54 PM   #6
ValerieDurden
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by iphnhelp View Post
Right. But then you don't get accurate weather in the notification screen or any other place in iOS where the weather is integrated with the gps.
And even then it doesn't work right, it's always off by several degrees so I don't use the notification center for weather anymore it's just so inaccurate.
__________________
Nexus 5 Kitkat 4.4.4 [Sprint]
ValerieDurden is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2013, 03:38 AM   #7
jer04
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Australia
For me, the location is correct, but accuracy of forecast is horrible. I gave up on that built-in weather app, downloaded one from App Store instead.
jer04 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2013, 03:58 AM   #8
Italianblend
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: The Igloo
The op doesn't want a weather app, he/she wants apple"s default weather to be accurate so he/she doesn't need to launch an app to see the weather.

Just another thing apple does poorly and stubbornly. It is not too much to ask that apple use a credible source for default weather.
__________________
@Pontifex
Our life has been saved by the blood of Christ. Let us always be renewed by this love.
From the cross, Christ teaches us to love even those who do not love us.
Italianblend is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2013, 09:06 AM   #9
ericg301
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Yahoo gets their weather data from the The Weather Channel. Have you tried that route?
ericg301 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2013, 07:11 PM   #10
C DM
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Are you sure that what Yahoo! uses for mapping is involved in iPhone's weather app? It could easily be that the phone itself figures out the local location and then uses that to ask Yahoo!'s weather service (which uses The Weather Channel weather data) to provide the weather information for that location.
C DM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2013, 09:54 PM   #11
dotme
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Iowa
Settings - Privacy - Location Services - Weather - OFF

Now open weather app, add Burbank, drag it to the top of your list of places. Finally, go back into weather app and make sure Burbank is showing on page 1

Close weather app. Drag down notification center. Burbank should be displayed. .

Admittedly not useful if you travel a lot, but it's a way to do away with the GPS-dependent weather info (and associated battery hit every time you pull down Notification Center)
dotme is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2013, 01:24 AM   #12
stonyboys
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
While we're on the topic is there anyway to get a different notification centre widget for another weather provider?
stonyboys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2013, 11:45 AM   #13
C DM
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonyboys View Post
While we're on the topic is there anyway to get a different notification centre widget for another weather provider?
nope, just what Apple provides.
C DM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2013, 12:16 PM   #14
Menel
macrumors 601
 
Menel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlanta
Odd that Yahoo uses two completely different data sources for weather...

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk 21375290996.250443.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	123.5 KB
ID:	425776
__________________
iPhone 6 iPad Air Mac mini (i5, 2011)
Menel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2013, 04:10 PM   #15
C DM
macrumors G5
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Menel View Post
Odd that Yahoo uses two completely different data sources for weather...

Attachment 425776
The Weather Channel owns Weather Underground, so in a sense really different weather sources.
C DM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 31, 2013, 08:47 PM   #16
cole01
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I've recently been having the same issue...it used to work fine before and now it most often displays "Los Angeles" as my current weather location when I'm in Santa Clarita...and that's even further from Los Angeles than Burbank. What gives, Apple? I hope this is fixed in later software updates...annoying.
__________________
Late 2012 27" iMac 3.4 i7, 1TB Fusion, 680MX ; Unibody C2D Macbook Pro 2.66 ; iPhone 5s Space Gray 64GB ; iPad 3 White 32GB Cellular ; iPad mini Black 32GB Wifi
cole01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Yahoo Weather default weather app dmick89 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 25 Jan 16, 2014 07:12 PM
Update to iPhone 5s - Navigon loading wrong maps fhall1 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 5 Oct 10, 2013 05:47 AM
iPhone: Latest iOS 7 Theme makes messages look terrible mdwsta4 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 24 Jun 29, 2013 04:45 PM
iPhone: Reroute Weather Widget and Weather app to new Yahoo Weather eyoungren Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 May 2, 2013 12:40 AM
Other than maps & scratches, is there anything wrong w/ the iPhone 5? NoOneHitsHarder iPhone 19 Sep 30, 2012 11:01 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC