Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 4, 2013, 03:39 AM   #1
DJTaurus
macrumors 6502a
 
DJTaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Apple TV - Movies Stuck on Buffering (1080P)

I used Subler to add subtitles at my movies which i download most of them already on mp4's.

Some movies on my itunes play buttery smooth on my Apple Tv via Airplay..... and some others stuck on buffering in the beginning... and nothing happens... they stuck there. I tried ETHERNET connection and i didn't see any difference... movies which work via airplay play smoothly even on wifi....

Codec problem for Apple tv?

Last edited by DJTaurus; Aug 4, 2013 at 06:35 AM.
DJTaurus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2013, 06:35 AM   #2
DJTaurus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
DJTaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
I Just noticed that the movies who are NOT playable are those who are 1080P!!

For example the movie below is 720P and plays without problem.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-08-04 at 2.30.47 PM.png
Views:	63
Size:	99.2 KB
ID:	426485

Cannot play it

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-08-04 at 2.31.07 PM.png
Views:	79
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	426486

I only used subler... am i doint sth wrong? I ve got a MBA Haswell and Apple TV 3!
DJTaurus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2013, 09:58 AM   #3
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Run them through Subler again and have Subler "Optimize" the file.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2013, 09:03 AM   #4
DJTaurus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
DJTaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Is there a subler option for optimize and where ?
DJTaurus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2013, 10:02 AM   #5
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTaurus View Post
Is there a subler option for optimize and where ?
It's in the File pull down menu.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2013, 10:49 AM   #6
DJTaurus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
DJTaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
It's in the File pull down menu.
So i open the file with Subler and then i choose optimize. When its finished do i have to export it again (save as in a folder) or its ready to throw it back to itunes?
DJTaurus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2013, 10:51 AM   #7
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTaurus View Post
So i open the file with Subler and then i choose optimize. When its finished do i have to export it again (save as in a folder) or its ready to throw it back to itunes?
ready to throw back into iTunes.

Good luck, hope that solves your problem.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2013, 11:22 AM   #8
DJTaurus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
DJTaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
ready to throw back into iTunes.

Good luck, hope that solves your problem.
Another matter i want to solve.

I wanted to change the default language on the Subtitle Track from English to Modern Greek.

1) Tell me if there is an easier way from what i did: I opened the file with subler, change the Language to modern greek and then i choose Save as in order to export the file in the desktop... the problem is that with these procedure the file that was working fine with airplay from mac to apple tv stopped working... stuck on buffering like the 1080p files who are not working.

2) Also tell me if i have to choose anything from the default settings below (for apple tv) before using subler.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-08-08 at 7.21.12 PM.png
Views:	25
Size:	16.5 KB
ID:	427381
DJTaurus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2013, 01:43 PM   #9
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTaurus View Post
Another matter i want to solve.

I wanted to change the default language on the Subtitle Track from English to Modern Greek.

1) Tell me if there is an easier way from what i did: I opened the file with subler, change the Language to modern greek and then i choose Save as in order to export the file in the desktop... the problem is that with these procedure the file that was working fine with airplay from mac to apple tv stopped working... stuck on buffering like the 1080p files who are not working.

2) Also tell me if i have to choose anything from the default settings below (for apple tv) before using subler.
Attachment 427381
Sorry, have never worked with anything but English audio/subtitle tracks and I don't want to confuse the situation trying to help in an area I don't have any expertise. Hopefully, some else will chime in to help.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2013, 03:25 PM   #10
priitv8
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Estonia
1) Make sure your sub file is named like that
Code:
moviename.gre.srt
so Subler will catch the language without you needing to select it later
2) There are no preferences you could preselect, but for one, you can save a set of metadata, if you need it more than once.
From my experience, Subler catches the movie type and resolution quite well from metadata and frame size. But that piece is saved in a saved set as well, if you need to reapply them later.
PS Sets don't save any of the language settings for movie tracks.
priitv8 is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2013, 10:46 AM   #11
DJTaurus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
DJTaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
Sorry, have never worked with anything but English audio/subtitle tracks and I don't want to confuse the situation trying to help in an area I don't have any expertise. Hopefully, some else will chime in to help.
The movie app of iOS play subler edited movies with a grey box behind the subtitles.... is there a way to remove that grey box with subler?
DJTaurus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2013, 10:57 AM   #12
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTaurus View Post
The movie app of iOS play subler edited movies with a grey box behind the subtitles.... is there a way to remove that grey box with subler?
Are you referring to the aTV? Are your OS's up to date? This used to be the way they were shown on the aTV (I don't have any other iOS devices). But this was changed somewhere in the last few aTV updates (and I would have assumed the other iOS devices as well).

Anyway to answer your question: No Subler cannot change that as it's not really there. It's added by the device you are viewing on. The gray background box was supposed to enhance the subtitle text visibility but got enough complaints it was removed. At least I thought it was.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2013, 11:07 AM   #13
DJTaurus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
DJTaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post

Anyway to answer your question: No Subler cannot change that as it's not really there. It's added by the device you are viewing on. The gray background box was supposed to enhance the subtitle text visibility but got enough complaints it was removed. At least I thought it was.
I tested on movie app on ios7 beta 5. Fortunately it has not been removed

Thanks anyway. Tomorrow i will test my apple tv if with optimize 1080ps are playable.

Last edited by DJTaurus; Aug 14, 2013 at 11:14 AM.
DJTaurus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2013, 11:42 PM   #14
DJTaurus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
DJTaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
Run them through Subler again and have Subler "Optimize" the file.
I just checked my movies with optimize. I am sooooo happy.... everything now is buttery smooth playable with wifi connection on Apple Tv. I dont know what the developer of subler has done but that program is damn fast!!!

Is Perian necessary for the mkv files?...i mean is there another way not to have installed perian on my mac?

Last edited by DJTaurus; Aug 15, 2013 at 12:11 AM.
DJTaurus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2013, 08:34 AM   #15
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTaurus View Post
I just checked my movies with optimize. I am sooooo happy.... everything now is buttery smooth playable with wifi connection on Apple Tv. I dont know what the developer of subler has done but that program is damn fast!!!

Is Perian necessary for the mkv files?...i mean is there another way not to have installed perian on my mac?
On the main page is a link to forum pages that provide links to files that provide the functionality that having Perian installed provided. With Mountain Lion, Perian broke and audio issues occurred. So the developer provided links to codec files that fixed the problem.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2013, 02:38 PM   #16
DJTaurus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
DJTaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
On the main page is a link to forum pages that provide links to files that provide the functionality that having Perian installed provided. With Mountain Lion, Perian broke and audio issues occurred. So the developer provided links to codec files that fixed the problem.
Major issue: i changed the file in the library->audio->component and now i cannot add/drandrop avi's and on subler...i reinstalled mac os and the same problem occurs... where do i find the original file on the component faulder?
DJTaurus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2013, 03:49 PM   #17
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTaurus View Post
Major issue: i changed the file in the library->audio->component and now i cannot add/drandrop avi's and on subler...i reinstalled mac os and the same problem occurs... where do i find the original file on the component faulder?
I didn't think Subler worked with AVI's. Seen that as a feature request in it's forum, though.

Also, the path you outline above does not match the Sublers instructions: "replace the one in /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components or ~/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components".

Can't you just trash Subler and re-install it?
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2013, 09:38 AM   #18
DJTaurus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
DJTaurus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
I didn't think Subler worked with AVI's. Seen that as a feature request in it's forum, though.

Also, the path you outline above does not match the Sublers instructions: "replace the one in /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components or ~/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components".

Can't you just trash Subler and re-install it?
Thanks again.

Also how can i enlarge subtitles with subler? They are damn too small.
DJTaurus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2013, 10:16 AM   #19
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTaurus View Post
Thanks again.

Also how can i enlarge subtitles with subler? They are damn too small.
After you load your file into Subler you will see a subtitle track. Select that track and you will see a subtitle parameters menu appear below. There are options to scale the subtitle there. Just so you know, I have never done this (scale subtitles) so I have no idea if it works or not or if it does work, how well it works. IIRC from other posts here, the ability to scale may depend on the subtitle type (VOBSUB, PGS, SRT, etc). I suspect srt is probably the only one that you might be able to scale since it is a text based file vs the others with are image files.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2013, 10:54 AM   #20
priitv8
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Estonia
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTaurus View Post
Also how can i enlarge subtitles with subler? They are damn too small.
I've got the impression, that Apple TV ignores the saved subtitle size and uses it's own based on picture size.
I mean, I have subs much better readable for 720p picture than for 1080p picture. If I change subtitle change with Subler or iSubtitle, has no effect on playback via Apple TV.
priitv8 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2013, 02:16 PM   #21
Dave84
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTaurus View Post
I Just noticed that the movies who are NOT playable are those who are 1080P!!

For example the movie below is 720P and plays without problem.

Attachment 426485

Cannot play it

Attachment 426486

I only used subler... am i doint sth wrong? I ve got a MBA Haswell and Apple TV 3!
Hi DJTaurus,

Did the Subler "optimise" work for you? I too am in the same boat, all SD and 720P movies stream perfectly from itunes on my mac to ATV3. It is only when I try and play 1080p rips (and then only some of them) that they just will not stream.

Not sure if file size has something to do with it as the 1080p rips that do stream fine are relatively small files (5-10 GB). The ones that don't work are larger size rips like Aliens (24 GB) and Hurt Locker (19GB).

All the 1080p rips where done in Handbrake ATV3 preset, and all 720P rips done using the ATV2 preset. "Web Optimise" in Handbrake was checked on all rips :S
Dave84 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2013, 03:05 PM   #22
priitv8
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Estonia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave84 View Post
Not sure if file size has something to do with it as the 1080p rips that do stream fine are relatively small files (5-10 GB). The ones that don't work are larger size rips like Aliens (24 GB) and Hurt Locker (19GB).

All the 1080p rips where done in Handbrake ATV3 preset, and all 720P rips done using the ATV2 preset. "Web Optimise" in Handbrake was checked on all rips :S
I'd check the resulting video and total bitrate of those 20GB files first!
I compress also the 1080p files to around 5000kbps in HandBrake and they have no problem with streaming.
priitv8 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2013, 03:14 PM   #23
priitv8
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Estonia
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJTaurus View Post
Cannot play it

Attachment 426486

I only used subler... am i doint sth wrong? I ve got a MBA Haswell and Apple TV 3!
I just wonder, why are your audio tracks so different from mine? What version of Subler and iTunes are those pics taken from?
I get proper Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 displayed in iTunes 11. As you can see, conversion was done with HB 0.9.9
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Untitled.png
Views:	12
Size:	42.6 KB
ID:	441250  
priitv8 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2013, 03:15 PM   #24
Dave84
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
I'd check the resulting video and total bitrate of those 20GB files first!
I compress also the 1080p files to around 5000kbps in HandBrake and they have no problem with streaming.
I'm sure the final file sizes after handbrake are correct. Aliens and Hurt Locker are very grainy films so I would expect sizes this large. I will redo Aliens (from the original MakeMKV rip) through Handbrake using both the ATV2 & 3 presets to double check the 1st attempt is not a dodgy transcode.

If that fails, I don't have a clue.
Dave84 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2013, 03:45 PM   #25
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
I'd check the resulting video and total bitrate of those 20GB files first!
I compress also the 1080p files to around 5000kbps in HandBrake and they have no problem with streaming.
My Hurt Locker is 22GB, using HB aTV3 preset.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Streaming 1080p Movies with TC to rMBP sofandi Mac Peripherals 7 Jun 30, 2013 12:44 PM
no 1080p movies on apple tv? rabidz7 Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Oct 7, 2012 05:49 PM
1080p HD movies chrismarle Buying Tips and Advice 4 Aug 23, 2012 10:06 PM
looking for a clear explanation about 1080p movies jg216 MacBook Pro 1 Aug 9, 2012 08:37 PM
Are iTunes movies really 1080p format for Apple TV jny2012 Apple TV and Home Theater 21 Jul 28, 2012 12:51 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC