Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dr. McKay

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 20, 2010
Belgium, Europe
I currently own a mid 2011 iMac (21.5 inch, quad core i5 2.7Ghz, Radeon 6770, 1Tb hard drive, 16Gb of RAM).
I find myself missing a portable computer, though (my wife and kids use the iPad in my signature more than I do :D ), and am thinking about getting a MBA to replace it (don't want to keep both, that would be overkill, really).

In Mactracker, my iMac gets a performance index (Geekbench 2 results) of 7857 ; the MBA I'd like to buy (1.3 Core i5, 8Gb of RAM, 256 Gb SSD) gets a score of 5946.
That seems like a decrease in general performance of about 20% to 25%. Should I worry ?

Now, I mostly use iWork and Textwrangler (I'm a translator), iTunes, iPhoto, some occasional iMovie, web browsing and Youtube plus some VM's of different linux distros, hence the 16Gb of RAM. No doubt in my mind that the MBA will be more than powerful enough for that (although with 8Gb of RAM, I just won't be able to run lots of distros simultaneously).

I'm just concerned about the performance of some games. Not too worried about Valve's games (Half life, Left4dead, etc) as they're older and less demanding games but I'm not too sure about World of Warcraft. Anyone have any hands-on experience with Wow on this particular 2013 MBA with i5 processor, 8Gb of RAM and 256 SSD ? It runs smooth as butter now on my iMac in full HD, but seeing the MBA has a lower native res of 1440x900, is it safe to assume I should be fine ?