Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

.eric

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 30, 2013
Hey guys, I have a 2011 MBA and was wondering what would be recommended for an external monitor?

I really would like to have a TB display,but $$ is an issue being in college and everything.

Are there any solutions that are much cheaper, but still really great? I've considered the refurbished TB display, and it's still just shy of my reach....

Thanks!

-edit-

This will mostly be for having an external monitor so I can have more than one screen up at a time. No video or photo editing outside of, say, iPhoto. I do some programming occasionally and need an external monitor. I do want a good resolution, and I'm looking for something 23 inches +. I don't really care about the adapter cost, I probably have one anyway.

Last edited:

Apple fanboy

macrumors Ivy Bridge
Feb 21, 2012
Behind the Lens, UK
Hey guys, I have a 2011 MBA and was wondering what would be recommended for an external monitor?

I really would like to have a TB display,but $$ is an issue being in college and everything.

Are there any solutions that are much cheaper, but still really great? I've considered the refurbished TB display, and it's still just shy of my reach....

Thanks!

What are you doing with the monitor? Photography, video, TV or gaming? All would mean you need slightly different things.
What size screen do you have in mind? Look for the following;
IPS Panel, anything else is old tech.
Good resolution. This will very by screen size but the higher the numbers the better!
A wide colour space means your monitor can produce better pictures.
A high contrast (number of steps from white to black)
Connectivity, obviously when looking at price think about the inputs on your Air and the cost of any adapters etc.

Boyd01

Staff member
Feb 21, 2012
New Jersey Pine Barrens