Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 6, 2013, 11:09 PM   #1
pertusis1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Civilization V update - very nice

I recently downloaded Civ 5 campaign edition. The gameplay improvements are great, but the real kicker is that it plays about 5 times faster than it used to. I fired up my 'activity monitor', and sure enough, the game now uses multicore processors properly. I just thought I'd point this out in this forum as it is an enjoyable game, but was almost completely unplayable before.
pertusis1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2013, 08:12 AM   #2
ScarletRed
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Right here
Which Version?

Are you referring to version 1.3.1?
__________________
[B]iMac 27" Mid-2011 3.4 GHz i7, 8 GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2048 MB, OS X Lion 10.7.5
ScarletRed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2013, 01:59 PM   #3
pertusis1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScarletRed View Post
Are you referring to version 1.3.1?
Yes
pertusis1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2013, 02:09 PM   #4
cerote
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
And here I thought it was my new iMac I bought.
cerote is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2013, 03:47 PM   #5
TedM
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: California
I'm pretty happy with civ5 as well.
__________________
http://www.yourpoetic.com/
TedM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2013, 07:33 AM   #6
txa1265
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Awesome ... just reinstalled on my MBP. Hadn't played since last year, wanted to get back to it - looks like I picked the right time! Thanks for the post!
txa1265 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2013, 06:03 PM   #7
pertusis1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Ok, I had a chance to try it on my 2012 mac mini 2.6 with 16 gb ram. Even on a huge map, it performs smoothly.

It begs the question - why didn't they do this before?!

Now to try on my 2010 13" macbook pro (intel 3000 level graphics)
pertusis1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2013, 01:54 AM   #8
Miguel Cunha
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Braga, Portugal
Definitely better!

I've had Civilization 5, from some previous versions, and this update really excels.

I was playing in fast machine. Still, the game wasn't fluid and always made me wonder about the system requirements which the machine clearly surpassed, because they didn't match the actual game experience.
But I had no major problems, I just had to reduce many detail settings.

All that is gone with this update.

Thank you to the developers for their great job and you guys, for this thread.
Miguel Cunha is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2013, 08:02 AM   #9
txa1265
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by pertusis1 View Post
It begs the question - why didn't they do this before?!
Actually it DOESN'T.

It tells you that in a massive strategy game like this it is incredibly hard to develop the engine, the turn-based system with combat and extensive AI personalities, and to get it all running reasonably well. But that once the core content is in place the DLC and expansion guys can work on content while the engine and graphics guys can further optimize things.
txa1265 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2013, 03:09 PM   #10
davecom
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I haven't seen the update come up in Steam. How do you check what version you have in Steam?
davecom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2013, 03:32 PM   #11
txa1265
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by davecom View Post
I haven't seen the update come up in Steam. How do you check what version you have in Steam?
Right click the game to get 'Properties', choose the Updates tab, then 'Update History' and you will see the updates. That is as close as it gets ...
txa1265 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2013, 09:24 PM   #12
thekingofnerds
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Good news indeed!

As far as why it wasn't done before, there's a mixture of possible reasons:

Lead engineers will get traded around projects all the time. This is especially true with small developers such as Firaxis. I bet they only have one or two people capable of performing low-level optimizations in their core code. You have to remember Xcom was also in development alongside Civ 5. After Xcom they probably had them working on other yet-to-be-released games, etc.

I often run into this problem with my own job. As soon as I get something "working" the powers-that-be move me to another project before I have time to properly optimize it.

Smaller companies are also vulnerable to outside pressures and strict release schedules. ID software is quite similar to Firaxis. If you watch some of John Carmack's keynotes he often talks about the pressure from outside influences forcing them to to get things done ASAP, at the expense of quality. I believe he talked about this extensively at Quakecon last year (or possibly 2011)
thekingofnerds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 10:42 AM   #13
macgames
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
 
Brilliant news! Hopefully this means I can now play it without lags & without burning my knees from the overheated Mac!
macgames is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2013, 08:51 PM   #14
davecom
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by txa1265 View Post
Right click the game to get 'Properties', choose the Updates tab, then 'Update History' and you will see the updates. That is as close as it gets ...
Yeah been there and it's blank... makes me think they haven't updated the Steam client yet.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by davecom View Post
Yeah been there and it's blank... makes me think they haven't updated the Steam client yet.
Actually finding the actual Civ 5 app in the application support folder shows that it is version 1.3.1
davecom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2013, 10:33 PM   #15
pertusis1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
faster indeed

Well, I finally found time to install it on my 2010 Macbook Pro 13" with the '3000' series on board video chip (no dedicated video card). On the largest map size, it was still smooth well into the mid-game. Granted, the computer does have a SSD and 16 GB of ram, but still - pretty incredible given the lack of real graphics card.
pertusis1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2013, 01:18 AM   #16
thekingofnerds
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Finally got around to trying civ 5 again and man, what a difference this patch makes. My mac mini's fans didn't kick on once through a game.

Before they would have been screeching after 10 minutes. Turns are much quicker, etc. Very nice.
thekingofnerds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2013, 08:30 AM   #17
Plutonius
macrumors 68040
 
Plutonius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Hampshire
Quote:
Originally Posted by pertusis1 View Post
Well, I finally found time to install it on my 2010 Macbook Pro 13" with the '3000' series on board video chip (no dedicated video card). On the largest map size, it was still smooth well into the mid-game. Granted, the computer does have a SSD and 16 GB of ram, but still - pretty incredible given the lack of real graphics card.
It must be the 16GB of RAM. My 2010 Macbook pro 15" (330M video )with 4GB of RAM has problems later in the game.
Plutonius is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Unable to play Civilization 5 since latest update. create90mph Mac and PC Games 3 Apr 1, 2014 02:18 PM
Pages for iPad. Nice update. Centris 650 iPad Apps 6 Nov 14, 2013 08:12 PM
What would be a nice graphics card update from an ATI Radeon HD5870? chrono1081 Mac Pro 9 Jul 8, 2013 04:33 PM
Nostalgio update: nice app for creating and sharing beautiful photo collages willcamp iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Oct 26, 2012 09:57 AM
Civilization 5 Glockron MacBook Air 13 Aug 11, 2012 05:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC