Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 7, 2013, 03:11 PM   #1
tommy70817
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Setting up VPN service on UVerse 2Wire 3801 PG WITHOUT an Airport Extreme?

I am trying to set up a VPN on my iMac using Mountain Lion Server. Everything I see in my searches involves bridging an Airport Extreme behind the 2Wire Gateway. Can anyone help me establish this connection WITHOUT having to use the AE, and using just the 2Wire gateway as the router? The main problem I have is trying to log into the VPN on my home computer from my work computer. Since I am not sure where the problem starts, I'm trying to make sure I've done it right from the beginning. I have set up the server from the video instructions from ToddOltoff.com , but he too uses an Airport Express Router. The reason I am trying to avoid using the AE is because (1) added expense, and (2) I see where there is another set of problems involving AE and AT&T UVerse, so why compound the problem. Thanks.
tommy70817 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2013, 04:03 PM   #2
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
I'd try this: http://www.att.com/esupport/article....id=w1oZOoVyVa0

Quote:
Tip: Some services may use two or more ports. It is recommend that once you've found an instance of a product in this list, search on the name (Command-F) and then repeat (Command-G) to locate all occurrences of the product. For example, VPN service may use up to four different ports: 500, 1701, 1723, and 4500.
http://support.apple.com/kb/ts1629

That should help you. Sub the correct ports for the ports they state.

NOTE: Never tried it, never had a 2Wire. It "should' work but, I really have no idea. The AE does the same thing (port forward), just in an easier GUI.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 7, 2013, 04:08 PM   #3
tommy70817
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Thanks. I've forwarded some ports, but will double check to make sure I have them all covered.
tommy70817 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2013, 11:47 AM   #4
alexrmc92
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwhities View Post
I'd try this: http://www.att.com/esupport/article....id=w1oZOoVyVa0



http://support.apple.com/kb/ts1629

That should help you. Sub the correct ports for the ports they state.

NOTE: Never tried it, never had a 2Wire. It "should' work but, I really have no idea. The AE does the same thing (port forward), just in an easier GUI.
AT&T likes to block ports on non business accounts. I know for a fact they block port 25, and i have heard port 80 is also blocked. I am unsure if they block any VPN ports, but it would be something to keep in mind.
alexrmc92 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2013, 12:06 PM   #5
tommy70817
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Thanks guys. Problem Solved. I started digging into the pool of IP addresses allocated to both my OS X server, and the 2Wire Residential Gateway. Lo and behold, there was some overlapping of the IP addresses causing conflicts. So I reset the IP addresses MANUALLY so that none overlapped. I also made sure to use static IP addresses. I then went about port forwarding the ports you listed to bypass the firewall. I also reset the Security Authentication type on my 2Wire Gateway to WPA-TKIP instead of WPA2-AES. I also shortened my Shared Secret to less than 10 characters. Once at work I set up a NEW VPN remote connection witht he new shared secret. SUCCESS! Well partially...I had a VPN Connection, but could not access any websites in the browser. Tried a few changes to the connection and eventually lost the ability to connect even after reversing the changes. When all else fails, restart Windows. That worked, but still no websites. Then I went into the Connection Setting Properties again and merely inserted these DNS Server Addresses: 127.0.0.1, and 8.8.8.8 (Google DNS). Reconnected to the VPN, and it worked.
tommy70817 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does current Airport Extreme allow for VPN? cmm Mac Peripherals 4 Mar 18, 2014 09:25 AM
VPN and AirPort Extreme (TC) iJny9956 Mac Peripherals 1 Feb 7, 2014 10:02 AM
Setting up old Airport Extreme digidee Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Jul 29, 2013 08:05 PM
Networking a House with Airport Extreme and AT&T Uverse britboyj Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 3 May 9, 2013 01:22 PM
How to Setup Airport Extreme for Internet Sharing VPN simbafish Mac Peripherals 0 May 31, 2012 09:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC