Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iDominic

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 25, 2013
Garden City, MI
Hello, I plan on buying a mac mini pretty soon but I have a few basic questions (I'm not too good with computers :mad:)

1. If I bought a non-apple monitor, could i buy a webcam for facetime and photobooth to work?

2. Is the mac mini scaled to fit any size screen?

3. Can I still use USB's on my desktop and mac mini at the same time?

~ sorry if i sound stupid, I'm just not too good with this stuff.
Thanks.

Thraun

macrumors regular
Dec 18, 2008
Abbotsford, BC
1. Yes

2. Yes

3. I'm sorry, I don't understand, could you clarify? What kind of USB device? And are you saying you also have a desktop computer? If what you're asking is can you plug a USB device into 2 computers at once the answer is no, though you can certainly use them on one computer at a time. Please respond with a little more info.

opinio

macrumors 65816
Mar 23, 2013
Same answers as Thraun above.

On question 3, by 'USBs' I take it you mean USB hard drive? And by 'desktop' I take you mean another Windows PC? Yes?

If that is the case, I take it you mean can you access a USB drive from your Mac mini and Windows PC at the same time? Or can you plug the drive into two computers at the same time?

The answer is no. You can only plug a USB hard drive into one computer at a time.

But... there are a few options for sharing between PCs and Macs...

You could buy a NAS (network drive) so you can access the NAS drive from both computers. That plugs into your router instead of a computer.

Also you could buy an Apply Time Capsule (basically an NAS). That would give you access to a drive from both. This is probably the easiest if you want to move to Macs. You can also plug your old USB drive into it and it is accessible from the Windows PC and a Mac.