Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 17, 2013, 07:06 AM   #1
greatwall9528
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Lightbulb Can Macbook Air 2013 run windows7 in virtual machine fluently?

My Macbook Air is the 2013 standard version with 1.3 GHz i5,4 GB RAM.

I just can't stand the x64 version windows7 ,it's huge and badly in compatibility.For there are not so many 64 bit software,so it is not worthy to run a Windows7 x64.

I wanna to run a Windows7 x86 in virtual machine,but I don't know if it can run fluently.Anyone can tell me?
__________________
Macbook Air 2013:11'',1.3 GHz,4 GB DDR3,128 GB SSD;
iPad 2:16 GB,wifi; iPad mini:16 GB,wifi;
iPod touch 4;
iPod nano 3; iPod nano 2.
greatwall9528 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2013, 08:22 AM   #2
ZBoater
macrumors 603
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
Yes you can, very fluently.
__________________
iPhone 5 | iPad Air | Dell Venue Pro 8 | Nexus 7.2 | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2013, 10:14 AM   #3
m98custom1212
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by greatwall9528 View Post
My Macbook Air is the 2013 standard version with 1.3 GHz i5,4 GB RAM.

I just can't stand the x64 version windows7 ,it's huge and badly in compatibility.For there are not so many 64 bit software,so it is not worthy to run a Windows7 x64.

I wanna to run a Windows7 x86 in virtual machine,but I don't know if it can run fluently.Anyone can tell me?
What lol?

I have windows 8 64bit and you can install/use pretty much anything 64 bit or not
__________________
3930K O/C 4.4ghz | 64gb Ram | (2) 256gb SSD| 770 |(3) 1080P IPS | WIN 8 | MNT LION| Surface Pro 128gb
HTC ONE| HomeServer 4X3TB
m98custom1212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2013, 12:02 PM   #4
dyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: .nl
You want to run x64 bit operating systems since they can use all the features in modern cpus. That would also mean features that make certain things (like multimedia) faster. You can run 32 bit software without problems on x64 bit Windows, OS X and Linux versions and many do exactly that. The only problem will be drivers: you need to have 64 bit drivers. Some old hardware don't have these and that might be problematic. Only things you can do is run 32 bit OS or buy replacement hardware that does have 64 bit drivers.

In terms of stability, hugeness and compatibility you are absolutely wrong when it comes to Windows 7. It is a stable OS that is compatible with a lot of software and hardware. Hugeness is debatable: some consider Windows to always be huge. It doesn't really matter if you use the 64 or 32 bit version. Drivers are the only real problem.

Windows 7 32 bit will run less fluently as a virtual machine than it's 64 bit version. You need a special 32 bit hypervisor and not all of the available virtualisation software have this. However, the 64 bit is always good. One of the requires of 64 bit is the use of VT-x which is hardware supported virtualisation. This is faster in most cases (only VMware has a good 32 bit hypervisor that is able to run as fast or even faster than 64 bit). However, your MBA will run both systems just fine when virtualised (boot camp only supports the 64 bit version on the 2013 MBA apparently).
dyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 04:59 PM   #5
ZBoater
macrumors 603
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
So, in other words, yes, it will run fine.
__________________
iPhone 5 | iPad Air | Dell Venue Pro 8 | Nexus 7.2 | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2013, 10:21 PM   #6
fenderbass146
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northwest Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by m98custom1212 View Post
What lol?

I have windows 8 64bit and you can install/use pretty much anything 64 bit or not
Yea IDK what this guy is talking about. I fix computers for a living have never had issues with 64 bit os since XP. Why would anyone not run 64-bit
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 13" 2.4 i5 256 GB SSD 4 GB
iPad Air 16 GB Space Gray
iPhone 5 16 GB Verizon Black
5th Gen U2 iPod 30 GB
fenderbass146 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2013, 12:04 PM   #7
Dsteller
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Everything will run really fluently no matter what bit system you have. One thing to keep an eye out for is since you got the standard version with 128gb (i suppose) is the with vm's they may require a large percent of your storage. For instance, if you load 30gb on the the vm's partition, you will only have 70 left on OSX.
Dsteller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2013, 12:12 PM   #8
ZBoater
macrumors 603
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunny Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by fenderbass146 View Post
Yea IDK what this guy is talking about. I fix computers for a living have never had issues with 64 bit os since XP. Why would anyone not run 64-bit
In all fairness, some applications behaved oddly in XP 64 bit. MS Office and IE being two of them oddly enough. Windows 7 did a great job in fixing a lot of those issues, but some poorly written 32 bit applications did not do so well in 64 bit Windows, and IE 64 bit is still a scorned browser. Also, many older games disliked Windows 64 bit. Most newer games (in the last 3-4 years) do fine.
__________________
iPhone 5 | iPad Air | Dell Venue Pro 8 | Nexus 7.2 | MacBook Air | Thunderbolt Display | Apple TV | Time Capsule
ZBoater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 02:51 PM   #9
fenderbass146
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northwest Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZBoater View Post
In all fairness, some applications behaved oddly in XP 64 bit. MS Office and IE being two of them oddly enough. Windows 7 did a great job in fixing a lot of those issues, but some poorly written 32 bit applications did not do so well in 64 bit Windows, and IE 64 bit is still a scorned browser. Also, many older games disliked Windows 64 bit. Most newer games (in the last 3-4 years) do fine.

I worded that wrong. I meant to say everything after xp. So vista and newer does not have issues with 64 bit. Xp 64-bit was garbage
fenderbass146 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 08:39 PM   #10
AXs
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Yes and No.

Yes it will run 64bit Windows flawlessly.

No you shouldn't run Windows on a Mac because it is blasphemy
AXs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 08:44 PM   #11
ItHurtsWhenIP
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: 'Merica!
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXs View Post
No you shouldn't run Windows on a Mac because it is blasphemy
LOL, I admit to having Windows 8 for any just in case situation where it's needed, but I also very very rarely boot into it. BUT! I think it runs better on a Mac than a PC (even with trackpad "issues").

ItHurtsWhenIP is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 11:46 PM   #12
NewbieCanada
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Windows 7-32 Windows Experience Index, running on Parallels 8, Mavericks DP7, Macibook 13 2013 i5. Highest score possible under Windows 7 is 7.9
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2013-09-11 at 0.45.57.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	28.4 KB
ID:	432482  
__________________
nMP 6-core, D500, 32 GB, 1 TB rMBP 13" '13 2.4 gHz, 256 GB, 8GB Mini '11 i7, 256 GB SSD & 750 GB HDD, 16GB iPhone 5 64GB iPad Air 128
NewbieCanada is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2013, 10:09 PM   #13
m98custom1212
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewbieCanada View Post
Windows 7-32 Windows Experience Index, running on Parallels 8, Mavericks DP7, Macibook 13 2013 i5. Highest score possible under Windows 7 is 7.9
That means nothing... Parallels is garage for running anything CAD/Engineering related.
__________________
3930K O/C 4.4ghz | 64gb Ram | (2) 256gb SSD| 770 |(3) 1080P IPS | WIN 8 | MNT LION| Surface Pro 128gb
HTC ONE| HomeServer 4X3TB
m98custom1212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 05:02 AM   #14
NewbieCanada
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by m98custom1212 View Post
That means nothing... Parallels is garage for running anything CAD/Engineering related.
How nice. Where did the OP mention a need to run anything CAD/Engineering related?

Let alone in his garage.
__________________
nMP 6-core, D500, 32 GB, 1 TB rMBP 13" '13 2.4 gHz, 256 GB, 8GB Mini '11 i7, 256 GB SSD & 750 GB HDD, 16GB iPhone 5 64GB iPad Air 128
NewbieCanada is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to run OS X in a Virtual Machine on my Mac Cyborg21 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 13 Jun 22, 2014 06:54 AM
Gaming - Macbook Air 11' mid-2013 vs Macbook Pro 13' Retina late-2013 kuanyu24 MacBook Pro 17 Jan 30, 2014 09:56 AM
macbook pro retina (2013)vs macbook air (2013) ?? xiaosinsinful MacBook Pro 0 Oct 26, 2013 06:59 AM
How to Run OS X Mavericks in a Parallels Virtual Machine MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 24 Jun 24, 2013 03:46 PM
MacBook Air 2013 or MacBook Pro retina 2013 ?? Help !! Stephenaureo MacBook Air 4 Jun 12, 2013 09:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC