Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

EliteDeforce

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 10, 2013
Hi everyone,

I'm a university student (and new to Mac) with a more-than-aged setup and I will be replacing my Windows desktop with an older 21-inch iMac and my laptop with a new rMBP 15 in a couple of weeks. I'm just having some difficulty figuring out how my setup is going to work harmoniously, and I was wondering what some of you guys would do in my shoes. My knowledge of OSX is limited, so I'm not sure what is/isn't possible. Here are my issues:

1: Files
I will be transferring all of my old files on my desktop to my new computers, obviously. However, I don't know how I will be able to manage files harmoniously between the iMac and the rMBP. I ultimately would like to be able to have all my old and new documents and pictures on both machines and when I update a file on one machine, I don't have to go manually copy the updated files on the other. I know this setup is far-fetched on a PC setup, but I was wondering if OSX has any provisions for this sort of thing.

I'm not directly closed to other options, mind you. For example, I would be 100% okay with having all files on the rMPB and just working with them over LAN when I'm at home when I want to use the iMac instead.

TL;DR = Want to have all my documents on iMac when at home and rMBP when not at my desk or not home. Also want to sync these documents automatically somehow. Other options are welcome.

1.5: Remote-access
If I decide that I'm going to have files on both machines and if I need to access my iMac from abroad, what is the simplest way to do this? I know about Team Viewer, but not sure if it is possible to do this automatically without someone else on the other side?

2: Externals/Backups