Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gugy

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jan 31, 2005
La Jolla, CA
Hi,
I am looking into buy a NAS and I have been wondering what brand you guys would suggest for my needs. I heard good things about Synology, Drobo and QNAP.

Here is what I need it for
•Time machine back up of my three Macs
•Access all my media library (videos/music/photos) to my home AppleTV and iDevices and when I am on a remote location
•Ability to access my work files from a remote location
•Ability to create FTP to share work files with clients
•ability to back up all the files I have on the NAS to avoid any drive failure.

I will probably need a 4 or 5 bay NAS.

Sorry, I am new to this and the more I read the more confused I get sometimes. I know some of you guys have the experience on this matter and maybe the same needs I have. I appreciate any feedback. Thanks!

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Either the Synology or the Qnap can handle all 5 of your requirements. I'm not familiar with Drobo's Nas units enough to say that it can or cannot.

I have a Drobo Mini connected to my MBP, but its not a NAS since its not networked and so its a poor fit for what you're looking for.

Many people here like the Synology over the Qnap, but check both out.

gugy

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jan 31, 2005
La Jolla, CA
Thanks for the info.
What I have described is too hard to accomplished? Since I am a 100% Mac user, does Synology offer any software that is easy to use to set up the needs I have?
Is there a model from Synology that is better suited for Mac with 4 or 5 bays?
Thanks again.

ColdCase

macrumors 68040
Feb 10, 2008
NH
I wouldn't trust time machine backups to anything other than an apple approved product. None of the NAS's are approved. The synology may work better that the others but the net is full of reports of corrupted sparse images.