Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CapnCrunch53

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 9, 2012
Indiana
Hi guys, I'm sure this is a really stupid question, but I'm a PC guy through and through, so go easy on me :eek:

I have a dual 1.42GHz MDD running Leopard, and I recently noticed in the Hardware menu under System Preferences, that the pulldown menus for L2 and L3 cache are set to "None" by default. If I set the L2 cache to 256KB, it stays until I close the window, and if I go back, it's set to "None" again. If I try to set the L3 cache to 2MB it immediately reverts to "None".

Is this just some dumb quirk of the menu, or is it actually disabling cache? The machine doesn't feel ridiculously slow like I imagine it would without L2 or L3 cache, but I also have no gauge for it, being the fastest Mac I've ever used. I do have Nap enabled if that's relevant.

Sorry if this is stupid, I'm new to OSX (and googling it is proving difficult since it just brings up spec lists)

Edit: I should add that About this Mac and System Profiler both report the correct amounts of cache.

Specs:
PowerMac MDD FW800
Dual 1.42GHz G4
2GB RAM
Radeon 9800Pro 128MB (flashed)
OSX 10.5.8 Leopard

Swampus

macrumors 6502
Jun 20, 2013
Winterfell
It doesn't report Level 2 or Level 3 cache correctly. The only thing that you want that for is to enable nap mode. It makes your CPUs run cooler without any hit to performance.