Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Shabouk26

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 28, 2013
Can anyone recommend a color laser printer that: 1. prints well on card stock and 2. prints well on both sides of a sheet of card stock -- duplex printing not required. I am a designer and when creating prototypes I often have to print on 2 sides of a sheet of card stock and because it's an illustration I don't bother with duplex printing.

I used to have a Konica Minolta Magicolor 2300DL that was AMAZING but died. Just replaced it with a Konica Minolta Magicolor 7450EN and it's HORRIBLE. It doesn't play nice with my mac and the print quality is awful on the 2nd side. Not to mention the pages never seem to go through perfectly straight. It's been a nightmare. Any advice/suggestions are most welcome. I'd prefer a stand alone printer -- no scanning required. THANKS!

FreakinEurekan

macrumors 603
Sep 8, 2011
I've had good luck with Okidata. I have a C531DN that has a feeder (not just single sheet) multi-purpose tray on the front, and a rear exit that gives a very straight paper path. I don't do card stock but it does a good job on thick envelopes.

imhereareyou

macrumors regular
Aug 28, 2013
Check out the Epson Stylus Pro 3880 Inkjet Printer. It can print on paper up to 1.5mm thickness. So pretty darn thick...
Edit: Pretty funny, after I posted this I see an ad below here with a pic of the same printer...

Shabouk26

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 28, 2013
Thanks for the suggestions! I'll look into the Okidata and see if has something listed in the specs. As awesome as the Epson sounds, I print SO MUCH that I blow through ink with an inkjet printer making it not cost effective at all.

jdelgado

macrumors regular
Oct 25, 2009
Chile