Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TechieMark

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 29, 2013
Hi All,

I'm new to MAC as I started a new job where everyone uses MAC. I'm a whizz on Windows but sadly not at all on MAC.

So..

I have this repetitive task that I have to find and replace words in Word documents and it's tedious to open each document to replace them.

I'd like to be able to replace the words in the Word documents across a number of documents all at the same time.

I'm not sure how to go about this.

Can you guys help out?

Thanks

micropig

macrumors newbie
Aug 2, 2013
Command+space to Spotlight, find and run 'Automator'

Make a new workflow.

Add these actions (you can search for them by name):

- Get Specified Finder Items
- Open Word Documents
- Find and Replace Text in Word Documents
- Save Word Documents
- Close Word Documents

Set the options for which files to get and what to find and replace.

Click Run. You should see the documents popping up and changing.

jacory

macrumors newbie
Oct 22, 2015
These instructions worked great for me for individual word replacement on 1200+ documents. Thanks for that!

Now how about for adding/replacing large amounts of text (a few paragraphs) to multiple documents? Using this string of automators only causes an error when I try this. Any suggestions?

Make a new workflow.

- Open Word Documents
- Save Word Documents
- Close Word Documents

remerick

macrumors newbie
Oct 28, 2015
These instructions worked great for me for individual word replacement on 1200+ documents. Thanks for that!

Now how about for adding/replacing large amounts of text (a few paragraphs) to multiple documents? Using this string of automators only causes an error when I try this. Any suggestions?