Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:02 AM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Bioshock Infinite Now Available for Mac




Bioshock Infinite, the third game in the first-person shooter series, is now available for download from the Mac App Store. Originally released for consoles and PCs in March of this year, Bioshock Infinite is set in the floating city of Columbia.

In the game, players take on the role of former Pinkerton agent Booker Dewitt, who teams up with AI-controlled Elizabeth.

Quote:
Forced to trust one another, Booker and Elizabeth form a powerful bond during their daring escape. Together, they learn to harness an expanding arsenal of weapons and abilities as they fight on zeppelins in the clouds, along high-speed Sky-Lines, and down in the streets of Columbia, all while surviving the threats of the air-city and uncovering its dark secret.
Players will need OS X 10.8.4 or later, 2.2 GHz CPU speed, 4GB RAM, 512MB video RAM and 30GB of free disk space. Minimum video card requirements include the Radeon HD 3870 and the GeForce 640M.

Bioshock Infinite can be downloaded from the Mac App Store for $39.99. [Direct Link] The game is also available on Steam and from GameAgent.com.

Article Link: Bioshock Infinite Now Available for Mac
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:03 AM   #2
Michaelgtrusa
macrumors 601
 
Michaelgtrusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Everywhere And Nowhere
This is a great Mac title. Looking forward to playing.
__________________
iMACAll life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better.
TWITTER TUMBLR
Michaelgtrusa is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:05 AM   #3
peglegjack
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Would this play on the new Macbook Airs?
peglegjack is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:09 AM   #4
DJJAZZYJET
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by peglegjack View Post
Would this play on the new Macbook Airs?
probably quite well thanks to intel hd 5000
DJJAZZYJET is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:21 AM   #5
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJJAZZYJET View Post
probably quite well thanks to intel hd 5000
What about the previous models?
3bs is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:22 AM   #6
jclo
Editor
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by peglegjack View Post
Would this play on the new Macbook Airs?
Yes, Intel HD 4000 and beyond are supported so this would probably do pretty well on the new Airs.
jclo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:28 AM   #7
Eorlas
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumors View Post
Players will need OS X 10.8.4 or later, 2.2 GHz CPU speed, 4GB RAM, 512GB video RAM and 30 GB of free disk space. Minimum video card requirements include the Radeon HD 3870 and the GeForce 640M.
Would someone please point me to the nearest store that has an affordable (or existing) 512GB GPU
Eorlas is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:29 AM   #8
RoelJuun
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Let's hope it isn't as buggy as the previous games…
RoelJuun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:30 AM   #9
bearda
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germantown, MD
I really enjoyed this game on the Xbox and would have bought it for the Mac instead if it had been available a few months ago. These delayed releases are really killing my desire to game on my iMac, though.

Still, an awesome game for those who haven't picked it up already.
bearda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:33 AM   #10
Codyak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Great game.
Codyak is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 11:54 AM   #11
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJJAZZYJET View Post
probably quite well thanks to intel hd 5000
That's funny. You will most likely need at least a dedicated GPU to get the most out of this game. Depends greatly on what you are expecting. Low shaders and shadows, effects on low, and res under 1280 and the Air can probably pull it off ~30FPS give or take the Mac port losses. It looks to be unplayable on anything but the very lowest settings on even the better optimized Windows systems.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Intel-H...0.91978.0.html
Look at the very 1st Game benchmark area.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 12:03 PM   #12
jclo
Editor
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eorlas View Post
Would someone please point me to the nearest store that has an affordable (or existing) 512GB GPU
hahaha, thanks for pointing that out. I'll fix it
jclo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 12:04 PM   #13
Treq
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by derbothaus View Post
That's funny. You will most likely need at least a dedicated GPU to get the most out of this game. Depends greatly on what you are expecting. Low shaders and shadows, effects on low, and res under 1280 and the Air can probably pull it off ~30FPS give or take the Mac port losses. It looks to be unplayable on anything but the very lowest settings on even the better optimized Windows systems.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Intel-H...0.91978.0.html
Look at the very 1st Game benchmark area.
Not sure how this relates, but I played it all the way through in bootcamp with a current Mac mini. 1600x900 res and some setting on high and some at medium. None at low. Played great. Can't wait to try it in osx.
Also played some at 1080p and was still very playable.
Treq is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 12:12 PM   #14
ThunderSkunk
macrumors 68000
 
ThunderSkunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Durango, Co
Holy shmokes.

Not being a gamer since the summer Super Mario 3 hit, I must say I am compelled.

Q though, is this what the actual game looks like, playing, rendering in real-time? Or is this just a nice rendered promo video?

If playing looks like this, I'm giving video games another try.


(my personal machine is a brand new fully maxed imac 27, if it comes down to hardware...)
ThunderSkunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 12:14 PM   #15
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Treq View Post
Not sure how this relates, but I played it all the way through in bootcamp with a current Mac mini. 1600x900 res and some setting on high and some at medium. None at low. Played great. Can't wait to try it in osx.
Also played some at 1080p and was still very playable.
Good info. The tests in that link looked dismal. And the other stuff on the HD5000 had no real hard numbers just marketing fluff. But it sounds like it may play fine for most users. It is truly a great game that made me smile many times at the detail and thought put into it.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderSkunk View Post
Holy shmokes.

Not being a gamer since the summer Super Mario 3 hit, I must say I am compelled.

Q though, is this what the actual game looks like, playing, rendering in real-time? Or is this just a nice rendered promo video?

If playing looks like this, I'm giving video games another try.


(my personal machine is a brand new fully maxed imac 27, if it comes down to hardware...)
That video is not actual gameplay graphics. They are great in game but not as hyper real.
Here is the real deal:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kEBwKO4RFOU
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zvIU1e7k7Oc
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 12:16 PM   #16
iThinkIt
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Florida, USA
great.. more money to spend..
iThinkIt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 12:25 PM   #17
blasto2236
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderSkunk View Post
Holy shmokes.

Not being a gamer since the summer Super Mario 3 hit, I must say I am compelled.

Q though, is this what the actual game looks like, playing, rendering in real-time? Or is this just a nice rendered promo video?

If playing looks like this, I'm giving video games another try.


(my personal machine is a brand new fully maxed imac 27, if it comes down to hardware...)
That's an odd promotional video. It's definitely pre-rendered. The odd thing is it doesn't match the art design of the actual game. It's close, but...off. Anyway, the game is gorgeous, and all of the design elements represented in the video (skylines, Handymen, etc) are very much a part of the game. Highly recommended, although you may get a bit more story than you would expect if you haven't played a game since SMB3.
__________________
iMac (Late 2011 21.5) - iPhone 5s (16GB space grey) - iPad Air (16GB silver) - Apple TV (3rd gen)
blasto2236 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 12:26 PM   #18
willryan42
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I'm not a big gamer, especially on my mac, but 30GB of free space?! Ain't no SSD got space for that! Although I'm assuming it has to be installed on the same disk as the OS, I could be wrong though.
willryan42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 12:42 PM   #19
Aspyr-Blair
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin Tx
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by willryan42 View Post
I'm not a big gamer, especially on my mac, but 30GB of free space?! Ain't no SSD got space for that! Although I'm assuming it has to be installed on the same disk as the OS, I could be wrong though.
It's actually around 17GB. The 30GB is for the space needed on the DLC's
Aspyr-Blair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 12:43 PM   #20
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by willryan42 View Post
I'm not a big gamer, especially on my mac, but 30GB of free space?! Ain't no SSD got space for that! Although I'm assuming it has to be installed on the same disk as the OS, I could be wrong though.
My 11" Air with 512GB begs to differ
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 01:04 PM   #21
Jo Bot
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eorlas View Post
Would someone please point me to the nearest store that has an affordable (or existing) 512GB GPU
512GB GPU does seem a bit excessive. The textures must be very high res indeed.
Jo Bot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 01:12 PM   #22
DavidLeblond
macrumors 68020
 
DavidLeblond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
I have and beat this game for the 360. It's possibly one of the most beautiful games I've ever played. The cinematography truly is top notch for a video game.
__________________
iOS Developer
DavidLeblond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 01:13 PM   #23
Mattsasa
macrumors 68000
 
Mattsasa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minnesota
Send a message via AIM to Mattsasa
Awesome! I love this game.

too bad I have already beaten it twice on bootcamp
Mattsasa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 01:33 PM   #24
ri0ku
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Whoever has bought this on windows via steam you can download it on steam on osx too. Happy days
ri0ku is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 01:37 PM   #25
madsci954
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by willryan42 View Post
I'm not a big gamer, especially on my mac, but 30GB of free space?! Ain't no SSD got space for that! Although I'm assuming it has to be installed on the same disk as the OS, I could be wrong though.
When I uninstalled WoW from my rMBP a month or so ago, it was at about 30GB.
madsci954 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS-neutral: Bioshock Infinite on Mac with very avarage graphics ventuss Mac and PC Games 2 Mar 20, 2014 04:20 PM
BioShock Infinite Coming to Mac on August 29th MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 80 Aug 10, 2013 04:14 PM
BioShock Infinite to be Released for Mac This Summer Blaquespell Mac Blog Discussion 5 Mar 28, 2013 01:16 PM
OS X: Bioshock Infinite coming to Mac this Summer! Dirtyharry50 Mac and PC Games 3 Mar 21, 2013 10:13 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC