Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

roksraka

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 9, 2012
Slovenia
Hi guys! I'm planning on buying a 13" retina very soon, since my 4 year old macbook pro 13" just isn't good enough anymore. But I'm in a dilemma...macbooks are pretty cheap right now, with back to school discounts etc., but I know there are new models coming out real soon with haswell processors (but the price will go up). As an architecture student, I use my computer for 3D and CAD modeling, photo editing, heavy multitasking etc. I don't really play any games. Would it make sense to wait for the new mb generation, or are the gains in performance low enough for me to just go with the "old" model.
Thanks!

henry72

macrumors 68000
Jun 18, 2009
New Zealand
I'd say if your old MacBook Pro working "fine" and just not "good enough", definitely WAIT because the new update will have a much better battery life which is great for uni and also faster flash, improved graphic and maybe a bit cheaper.

Unless you don't care about those nice improvement then you can buy now, look at the refurbished store as well. It's all up to you at the end :)

ValSalva

macrumors 68040
Jun 26, 2009
Burpelson AFB
I'd say wait if you can because in all likelihood the wait is now less than 60 days. And everyone is going to tell you that battery life is going to get at least a little bit better and if that means anything to you it's definitely worth waiting for.

As for price, IMO it will at least stay the same. The MBA's got Haswell and I believe the prices went down by $100.

roksraka

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 9, 2012
Slovenia
thanks for the advice guys! however, the battery life really isn't that important for me (i'm either working at home or in the studio, in both cases the computer is plugged in)...graphics may be a more important issue, since i have to do some renderings from time to time :)

sofianito