Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Monyx

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 24, 2005
Australia
Yes...I'm a G5 PMac newbie, I've got to say I was amused at how much noise the fans made especially when it kernel panicked - the gradual spin-up in speed accompanied by a faint whine reminded me of 747 turbines.
At full speed I realised why Apple made the damn thing is so heavy - just in case adequate thrust does not overcome friction on a polished table ;)

Lacero

macrumors 604
Jan 20, 2005
You may be the first person to be amused by a kernel panic. :p ;) :D

I agree. Knowing the G5 has that much wind power is re-assuring. I've been awaken several times in the past. I thought someone was running the vacuum at 3 in the morning. :eek:

Monyx

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 24, 2005
Australia
mad jew said:
Nice. :D

How'd you get it panicking?

Compressor V1.2.1 - it runs without fault on my G4DP but there are a number of variables:
10.3.9 vs Tiger
QT 6.5 vx QT 7.0.3
G4DP vs G5DP

After weekend of re-installing, disk repair, searching forums etc. I resorted to finishing a client DVD on the vernerable G4. I'm hoping it's bad ram and will remove 2x1Gb sticks (Apple dealer fitted) tonight and try an encode w/ 512MB

EricNau

Moderator emeritus
Apr 27, 2005
San Francisco, CA
Monyx said:
Yes...I'm a G5 PMac newbie, I've got to say I was amused at how much noise the fans made especially when it kernel panicked - the gradual spin-up in speed accompanied by a faint whine reminded me of 747 turbines.
At full speed I realised why Apple made the damn thing is so heavy - just in case adequate thrust does not overcome friction on a polished table ;)
Sounds like when I put my iMac G5 into Target Disk Mode. Only of Course yours is a 747 and mine is a little 7-seater. ;)

EricNau

Moderator emeritus
Apr 27, 2005
San Francisco, CA
You all are making me so curious and I have no way of hearing it :(