Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 1, 2013, 01:33 PM   #1
MoodyM
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Got a sound bar - have a few questions

I bought an Apple TV 3rd gen for my bedroom, and the sound from my 24" LED TV was rubbish, so I bought a basic sound bar (Philips HTL2100/12). My TV's only audio output is 3.5mm headphones or SPDIF coax.

The sound bar takes coax AND optical inputs. So my questions are:

1) Would I best to use Apple TV > sound bar via optical, or TV > sound bar via coax? (I should add I ONLY use an Apple TV, no other devices will connect to the TV at all)

2) What settings in the Apple TV Video/Audio menu should I set? Dolby Digital on/off/auto? My content (streamed from MBP's iTunes) is a mixture of HD movies/TV shows with 5.1 AC3 audio and SD TV shows with 2 channel audio.

Details of the sound bar here:

http://www.philips.co.uk/c/home-cine...tl2100_12/prd/

Thanks!
MoodyM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 02:49 PM   #2
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoodyM View Post
I should add I ONLY use an Apple TV, no other devices will connect to the TV at all
Not even broadcast TV? then ATV -> soundbar fine.

Quote:
2) What settings in the Apple TV Video/Audio menu should I set? Dolby Digital on/off/auto? My content (streamed from MBP's iTunes) is a mixture of HD movies/TV shows with 5.1 AC3 audio and SD TV shows with 2 channel audio.
Auto.
__________________
Solution: FREE, Explanation: Is gonna cost ya.
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 03:02 PM   #3
ZeRoLiMiT
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Southern California
I have a LG Sound bar 2.1 and its amazing! I have it via OPTICAL! sounds and works GREAT!
__________________
Dad: 13' Macbook Pro 2012 8GB Ram, 128 SSD
iPhone 5S, iPad4, Apple TV3,
Mom:13' Macbook Air 2011 4 GB Ram, iPhone 5,iPad Mini
Daughter:iPad Mini
ZeRoLiMiT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 03:03 PM   #4
MoodyM
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrbobb View Post
Not even broadcast TV?
Nope, no aerial. I have satellite TV in all the rooms I need it in. I don't need broadcast TV in the bedroom, just a way to stream my movies.



Quote:
Auto.

Ok. Although I have noticed that music streamed from MBP is LOUD and TV Shows/Movies are very quiet...
MoodyM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 04:14 PM   #5
Mrbobb
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoodyM View Post
Ok. Although I have noticed that music streamed from MBP is LOUD and TV Shows/Movies are very quiet...
Try ON see if better.

TRY IT PEOPLE. Won't blow up. Promise!
Mrbobb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 08:25 AM   #6
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoodyM View Post
Nope, no aerial. I have satellite TV in all the rooms I need it in. I don't need broadcast TV in the bedroom, just a way to stream my movies.

Ok. Although I have noticed that music streamed from MBP is LOUD and TV Shows/Movies are very quiet...
If I were you then I would check if your TV has an optical port out. Then just get an optical cable from MonoPrice. You will get the best sound this way.
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 10:45 AM   #7
MoodyM
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
My TV only has coax out
MoodyM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 01:35 PM   #8
Che Castro
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoodyM View Post
My TV only has coax out
Go coax from TV to soundbar




Edit : or if you have optical cable go from Apple TV to soundbar
Don't matter which way you go


I would go Apple TV to soundbar if you only have atv

Last edited by Che Castro; Sep 2, 2013 at 01:42 PM.
Che Castro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 06:06 PM   #9
hagr182
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I have both setups, ATV to Soundbar on the studio and TV to Soundbar (which also has another ATV) on my folk´s. Same bars and tv, same sound as far as I can hear.
hagr182 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2013, 12:22 PM   #10
lexvo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoodyM View Post
2) What settings in the Apple TV Video/Audio menu should I set? Dolby Digital on/off/auto? My content (streamed from MBP's iTunes) is a mixture of HD movies/TV shows with 5.1 AC3 audio and SD TV shows with 2 channel audio.
From what I've read, if you want 5.1 audio then set Dolby Digital to ON.
__________________
27" iMac i5 8GB - iPod 80GB - iPhone 5s 64GB - iPad3 - ATV3 - Airport Extreme - Airport Express
lexvo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC