Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 1, 2013, 04:18 PM   #1
LeandrodaFL
macrumors 6502a
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
New MacMini 2012 Fusion problem. No SSD in Disk utiliby

Hello all. I just pruchased a brand new MacMini 2012 with Mountain Lion. I want to install a SSD and fusion with the 1TB HDD. I got the 500GB Samsung 840.

I installed the SSD to the 2nd bay using OWC kit, and kept the original 1TB HDD in the original connector. However, disk utility is not seeing the SSD. QUESTIONS ARE:

1) How do I format the SSD or make it appear in Disk utility? Is there any application I can use? Its probably in a NTFS format, but nothing is appearing for me in dik utiliyt.

2) Now we are at it, do I need to put the SSD in the primary connecter in order to fusion it? I could swap the sata connectors.
LeandrodaFL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 04:22 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Even if the SSD would be already formatted, normally new bare drives come unformatted when bought new, it would show up in Disk Utility, thus either a connection is loose (check or put the SSD into a USB enclosure) or it may be DOA.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 04:32 PM   #3
LeandrodaFL
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
I will check the SSD in my PC, but can anyone tell me if in order to fusion the drives SSD + HDD, does the SSD has to be in the primary connector?
LeandrodaFL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 04:38 PM   #4
chrfr
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeandrodaFL View Post
I installed the SSD to the 2nd bay using OWC kit, and kept the original 1TB HDD in the original connector. However, disk utility is not seeing the SSD.
Most likely you either didn't properly seat the SATA cable on the board correctly, or you did seat it and it popped out when you reassembled the computer.
chrfr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2013, 09:34 PM   #5
LeandrodaFL
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Even if the SSD would be already formatted, normally new bare drives come unformatted when bought new, it would show up in Disk Utility, thus either a connection is loose (check or put the SSD into a USB enclosure) or it may be DOA.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrfr View Post
Most likely you either didn't properly seat the SATA cable on the board correctly, or you did seat it and it popped out when you reassembled the computer.
OH, just the tought of having to disassemble everything again............
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2013-09-01 at 10.26.42 PM.png
Views:	0
Size:	128.4 KB
ID:	431017  
LeandrodaFL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2013, 08:13 AM   #6
LeandrodaFL
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Problem solved

Sata cable was loose, probably disconected itself from the motherboard when I plug-ing the aiport antenna. Wverything working fine
LeandrodaFL is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC