Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 2, 2013, 04:13 PM   #1
stev0190
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Age of Empires 2 HD on Parallels

Hi I just started playing AoE 2 HD on Parallels with my MacBook Pro and I can't seem to figure out how some of the controls correlate. For instance, my "delete" key doesn't delete buildings or units.

Is there a site that will tell me how the controls correlate? Or can someone just tell me some of the useful hotkeys from Macs?

Thanks
stev0190 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2013, 01:16 PM   #2
stev0190
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
bump
stev0190 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2013, 03:46 PM   #3
WMD
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Florida, USA
"Delete" is probably Fn+Delete.
WMD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 3, 2013, 04:10 PM   #4
JLarson
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
lol i cant believe you still play aoe2!
I though no one ever did. favorite game by far.
how did you get the mac version?
JLarson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2013, 12:18 AM   #5
collinmac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chilliwack, BC
It was just re-released with HD graphics, well not really HD graphics but using HD resolutions, Windows only.

http://www.ageofempires.com/age2.html
__________________
13" 2013 MBA, i5, 8GB, 256GB
collinmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2013, 01:15 AM   #6
Deelron
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by collinmac View Post
It was just re-released with HD graphics, well not really HD graphics but using HD resolutions, Windows only.

http://www.ageofempires.com/age2.html
Not only that they're actually releasing an expansion soon "The Forgotten."
Deelron is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2013, 04:28 AM   #7
liquidtwitch
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brisbane Australia
pretty sure if you use fn you can delete buildings etc. such a good game!
liquidtwitch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2013, 03:32 PM   #8
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
I haven't bothered to check AppDB yet but has anyone tried this game out with Wineskin? It would be nice if that worked although I do have Parallels setup if need be. Anything to avoid the dreaded reboots! lol
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2013, 08:49 AM   #9
stev0190
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
thanks guys...i just changed the hotkeys... there is no mac version (pretty sure its only available in windows version) so i just started playing it again on parallels through windows using my macbook... i only started playing again bc they came out with this HD version not too long ago and soon are coming out with the new expansion...
stev0190 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2013, 06:34 PM   #10
doh123
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyharry50 View Post
I haven't bothered to check AppDB yet but has anyone tried this game out with Wineskin? It would be nice if that worked although I do have Parallels setup if need be. Anything to avoid the dreaded reboots! lol
Would be nice to know how it works if anyone has tried Wineskin (or anything else using Wine). I always loved AoE2.

Looks like people have gotten it to run in Linux, so I think a Wineskin port should be possible.
http://steamcommunity.com/app/221380...5361270250345/
doh123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2013, 02:58 PM   #11
JLarson
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deelron View Post
Not only that they're actually releasing an expansion soon "The Forgotten."
is this an actual expansion or a fan mod?
JLarson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2013, 04:59 PM   #12
collinmac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chilliwack, BC
Official Expansion.
__________________
13" 2013 MBA, i5, 8GB, 256GB
collinmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2013, 05:35 PM   #13
mizaco
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Do people really still play this game? I mean really?
mizaco is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2013, 06:37 PM   #14
Deelron
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mizaco View Post
Do people really still play this game? I mean really?
I would guess enough people bought it when it was released on Steam for an official expansion (not that it would have been a ton of work), and there was a moderate line to play it at PAX, so I guess enough people do to make it worth while.
Deelron is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2013, 11:26 PM   #15
tillsbury
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Excellent stuff, it rocks. Only thing I use Windows 8 Parallels for...
__________________
riMac: 4.0/32/1, rMBP15: 2.6/16/768, iPhone 6/64, iPad 1+2+3+Air, iPod nano 1+4, Lisa 2 + 5Mb ProFile
tillsbury is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2013, 11:28 PM   #16
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deelron View Post
Not only that they're actually releasing an expansion soon "The Forgotten."
Serious?
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 01:29 PM   #17
Deelron
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Haha yes, there were actually at PAX demoing it and handing out bandanas promoting it.
Deelron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2013, 04:57 AM   #18
karlth
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Be warned that it lags considerably with many units on screen, even on a powerful pure Windows machine.

Great, great game though!
__________________
iPhone and iPad developer.
Digital White Knight
karlth is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: RTS like Age of Empires 2 tonythemediaguy Mac and PC Games 11 Jan 5, 2014 04:39 AM
Age of Empires? phr0ze iPad Apps 8 Jun 25, 2013 12:22 PM
Downloading Age of Empires II Willmix911 MacBook Pro 1 Feb 12, 2013 09:30 PM
OS X: Age of Empires III wizzywig27 Mac and PC Games 4 Dec 30, 2012 08:33 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC