Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 6, 2013, 02:48 AM   #1
macrbest
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Router Firmware

I have a rp614v4 Netgear Router and I would like to find out if I would be able to load third party firm ware to enable the QoS function. Is there a way that I would be able to support QoS using this router?
macrbest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2013, 08:29 AM   #2
slomo86
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Turkey
It don't look like OpenWRT or DD-WRT firmware are supported by your router...

I was looking into flashing my router today and its not compatible either
__________________
Mid '10 White MB 2.4/8/128GB SSD/500GBHD -Early '09 MM 2/8/128GB SSD/2TB External - PPC G5 Single 1.8/4/60GB/1TB - 3rd G iPad 32GB/500GB GoFlex HD - 16GB 4th G iPod Touch
slomo86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2013, 12:28 PM   #3
QuantumLo0p
macrumors 6502a
 
QuantumLo0p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: U.S.A.
If you cannot configure your router to do what you want, I recommend taking a look at Smoothwall, IP Cop or something similar. You would also be able to physically separate your wifi traffic from your wired traffic quite easily. I don't think I've seen any consumer grade routers with that ability but they may be available.
__________________
Mid-2010 Mini, 8GB ram, 23" ACD.
Custom build: Liquid cooled i7-3930K@4.8Ghz, 32GB ram, 1TB hdd, 120GB cache ssd, GTX680x2 SLI, Win8 (horrible dual UI)
QuantumLo0p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2013, 02:25 PM   #4
MacUser2525
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuantumLo0p View Post
If you cannot configure your router to do what you want, I recommend taking a look at Smoothwall, IP Cop or something similar. You would also be able to physically separate your wifi traffic from your wired traffic quite easily. I don't think I've seen any consumer grade routers with that ability but they may be available.
My Asus RT-N56U has the settings for QoS also does dual wifi so the N traffic does not get slowed down by lower speed traffic on it.
__________________
MacPro 5,1 16gb HD6870; MacPro 4,1 5,1 12x2.66ghz 24gb GT120
MacUser2525 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2013, 04:17 AM   #5
satcomer
macrumors 68040
 
satcomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upstate NYS
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacUser2525 View Post
My Asus RT-N56U has the settings for QoS also does dual wifi so the N traffic does not get slowed down by lower speed traffic on it.
I bet you are fooled in thinking you are getting N speeds on 2.4.

Read the blog posts What is the Difference Between 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz Wireless LAN in Industrial Applications? & How to: Choose the Right Spectrum for 802.11n Deployments.

The short of this is get off the 2.4 channel on your wireless (when trying to use N) and choose the upper channels in your wireless router. This way you get the proper N speeds and much less channel interference on 2.4. (use the iStumbler Beta to look at other networks around you).
__________________
Mac Pro Dual 2.8 Quad(Rev B.), 16 G RAM, OS X 10.9, 23'' LCD
Mac Book Pro Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, SuperDrive, 2G RAM, OS X 10.7.5
iPad 3, 32 black
satcomer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC