Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheBeastman13

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 5, 2012
I have some video side project coming up, and just got the d7100. I'm a novice with both the camera and DSLR video shooting in general. Any tips you can provide would be helpful!

I noticed when I rack focus, my adjustments are shaky and are noticed when playing back test footage. Any thoughts on this? I'm using the kit lens, the nikkor 18-105mm( I believe; I don't have my camera on me currently). The lens is set to MF, and the switch on the camera body is set to MF. This is correct to do, right? Since I do not have a follow focus, I rack with my hand. I think my ******* tripod (it's light and very cheap) is adding to the shakiness as it does not serve as a heavy, study foundation.

Thanks, all, for any insight and tips you have for an amateur such as myself.

ezekielrage_99

macrumors 68040
Oct 12, 2005
I'm using the Nikon D7100 for shooting VOD and weather graphics on a chroma key in a studio.

For on the go shooting:
  • 64GB 45bm/s SD Card.
  • Tripod
  • Stock lens looks not too bad despite what many say.
  • LED Lighting for the Hot Shoe, just like this
    A boom mic or lapel mic, seriously the 7100 mic is pretty darn horrid though there are some good cheap options like this

For me this is really basic set ups but works rather nicely. The only thing I would suggest is with the 7100 it doesn't allow for the aperture to change when shooting so investing in basic lighting and a tripod for really good results is a must.

Studio
This is what I am currently using, it allows be to live view HD directly from the camera via the HDMI then composite over a chroma key, I can mix several channels and record via an external source.

TheBeastman13

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 5, 2012