Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sigol

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 10, 2013
Hi,

This post is not flamebait, and neither am I looking to get a cheap rise out of the Mac community. So please take these comments on board with the genuine spirit in which they are intended. I'm not being disrespectful or anything like that - these are my genuine thoughts...

I've always been a Windows user from 3.1 all the way to 8. I'm a developer - a techie.

I bought an iMac 10.1 a couple of years ago and I'M SORRY BUT I JUST DON'T GET what the fuss is about.

I really am struggling to understand why there is so much emotion around having a Mac and why Windows is hated by the Mac community so much. Honestly I've tried. I promise I have. I just cannot understand why people rave on so much about their Mac!

The argument that Windows is not stable and so prone to viruses is very old now, and frankly a bit boring. Personally, I run Windows 7 and as a developer, I take it to the max and have never found any issue. It's rock solid for me. Whatever I develop, device drivers, very complex math routines, huge memory requirements, etc. it just works. And I've never had a virus either.

I run Windows on several servers, desktops and laptops. It runs great on everything I own. No Issue. EVER.

I find the Mac 10.1 (500 GB HD, Mountain Lion) 4GB RAM pretty slow. All I hear is the hard drive chugging away, like nothing is ever cached. In contrast, I have a virtually identical spec Windows PC - runs like a dream.

I think the way some of the programs are designed (like leather bound diaries and wooden bookshelves) a bit patronising to be honest. Are we really dummies? Do we need to relate our little on-screen diary to the one I have on my desk?