Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:25 PM   #1
LeandrodaFL
macrumors 6502a
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Raid 1 on external HDD, is a myth?

I have 2x G-Drives Firewire 800 drives in Raid 1 (daisy-chained), as you can see in Disk Utility, Pic 1. Then, Pic 2 shows the drive in the Finder, I named it Matrix HD, homage to Intel matrix storage. Now, I am told by the internet that this offers some kind of security in case of drive failure. Well, today I disconected one of the Raid drives, and I was hoping my data would still be acessible and perhaps get some warning at disk utility. But instead, EVERYTHING WENT MISSING. Even tough I had one of the Raid 1 drives conected to the Mac, there was nothing to see in the Finder or Disk Utility. So how the hell this offers security? The array got broken. In case of a real drive failure, Im gonna lose all my data.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	25
Size:	134.3 KB
ID:	432387   Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	19
Size:	100.3 KB
ID:	432388   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.png
Views:	19
Size:	102.2 KB
ID:	432389  

LeandrodaFL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2013, 08:04 AM   #2
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
If the drive is connected directly to the Mac, powered, but not showing anything in Disk Utility, (i.e. not even the hardware drive, as opposed to the partitioned volume on that hardware) then that might point to a hardware failure of the drive itself.
This might be coincidental to splitting the RAID, or possibly a consequence.

Does the drive show up in System Report > Firewire?

What happens if you connect only the other drive from the RAID? Do you get the same result?

And if you re-unite the pair? Is it all working again?
__________________
2012 MacMini, 2.6GHz i7, 16Gb RAM, Fusion Drive | 2012 MacBook Pro, 16Gb RAM, 480 Gb SSD |
2009 MacBook | 2006 iMac | 2003 G3 iBook | Beige G3 | PowerMac 7600 | Mac IIsi |
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2013, 08:46 AM   #3
LeandrodaFL
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by benwiggy View Post
And if you re-unite the pair? Is it all working again?
If I reunite the pair, its all working again, but I wonder what is the point of RAID 1, as appaarently, if there is 1 drive failure, you lose both data
LeandrodaFL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2013, 11:07 AM   #4
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
You're sure that the drive was connected directly and powered up? It's very odd that Disk Utility did not even show the hardware drive, in order to allow erasing/re-partitioning.

I'm no expert on RAID, but perhaps a RAID-ed volume always expects to be one of a pair? Perhaps you need to add another new mirror to the RAID set before things will work as normal. This is nothing more than a pure hunch.

It's worth asking: do you actually need RAID 1? It is usually used for particular circumstances, usually "mission critical" server stuff.
Any reason why a simple backup isn't good enough -- be it Time Machine, Retrospect, CarbonCopyCloner, Chronosync, etc, etc...?
__________________
2012 MacMini, 2.6GHz i7, 16Gb RAM, Fusion Drive | 2012 MacBook Pro, 16Gb RAM, 480 Gb SSD |
2009 MacBook | 2006 iMac | 2003 G3 iBook | Beige G3 | PowerMac 7600 | Mac IIsi |
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2013, 02:19 PM   #5
LeandrodaFL
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by benwiggy View Post
You're sure that the drive was connected directly and powered up? It's very odd that Disk Utility did not even show the hardware drive, in order to allow erasing/re-partitioning.

I'm no expert on RAID, but perhaps a RAID-ed volume always expects to be one of a pair? Perhaps you need to add another new mirror to the RAID set before things will work as normal. This is nothing more than a pure hunch.

It's worth asking: do you actually need RAID 1? It is usually used for particular circumstances, usually "mission critical" server stuff.
Any reason why a simple backup isn't good enough -- be it Time Machine, Retrospect, CarbonCopyCloner, Chronosync, etc, etc...?
I did another test today, and it appeared.

The first time, I disconected the cable of the 2n hard drive, but let it connected to the first (the drives are daisy chained), and of course, the first drive was connected to the Mac

This time I disconnected the cable from the first drive instead, while letting the first drive connected to the Mac. This way, itshows fine in the Finder and I can acess my files.


I check all these bakcup options and none satisfy me.
LeandrodaFL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 12:16 PM   #6
ElectricSheep
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Send a message via AIM to ElectricSheep
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeandrodaFL View Post
I did another test today, and it appeared.

The first time, I disconected the cable of the 2n hard drive, but let it connected to the first (the drives are daisy chained), and of course, the first drive was connected to the Mac

This time I disconnected the cable from the first drive instead, while letting the first drive connected to the Mac. This way, itshows fine in the Finder and I can acess my files.


I check all these bakcup options and none satisfy me.
RAID is not a backup option. That cannot be stressed enough.
__________________
15'' MBP (early 2011) | i7 3770k Hackintosh | i7 Mac Mini (late 2012) | iPhone 5 | iPad 3 (2012) | iPad mini | MacOS X 10.9.2
ElectricSheep is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2013, 08:36 PM   #7
LeandrodaFL
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricSheep View Post
RAID is not a backup option. That cannot be stressed enough.
Anwer me this, Can I take a Time Machine backup and connect to a diferent Mac (diferent model, diferent year) and can this new Mac acess the data from the Time Machine Backup?

Im not asking regarding a complete system restore, I just want to know if I can manually acess videos, photos and documents and manually copy them over.
LeandrodaFL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2013, 09:22 AM   #8
ElectricSheep
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Send a message via AIM to ElectricSheep
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeandrodaFL View Post
Anwer me this, Can I take a Time Machine backup and connect to a diferent Mac (diferent model, diferent year) and can this new Mac acess the data from the Time Machine Backup?

Im not asking regarding a complete system restore, I just want to know if I can manually acess videos, photos and documents and manually copy them over.
Yes, you can present a Time Machine volume as just another HFS+ volume to another Mac. From there, you can navigate into the Backups.backupsdb folder and copy files from a specific snapshot. However, do not attempt to remove files from the backups. Time Machine uses hard links on directories and files for each snapshot in order to present a complete filesystem without having to actually replicate data. If you remove a file from one snapshot, that can impact the integrity of many other snapshots.
__________________
15'' MBP (early 2011) | i7 3770k Hackintosh | i7 Mac Mini (late 2012) | iPhone 5 | iPad 3 (2012) | iPad mini | MacOS X 10.9.2
ElectricSheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2013, 08:27 PM   #9
mfram
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricSheep View Post
Time Machine uses hard links on directories and files for each snapshot in order to present a complete filesystem without having to actually replicate data. If you remove a file from one snapshot, that can impact the integrity of many other snapshots.
Deleting the files may be bad for various reasons, but this isn't one of them. Think of a hard-linked file as the same file with multiple directory entries. If you remove the file out of one directory, the same underlying data is still there. The data won't go away until the hard-link count goes to zero. Those are Unix filesystem semantics.
mfram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2013, 09:21 PM   #10
ElectricSheep
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Send a message via AIM to ElectricSheep
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfram View Post
Deleting the files may be bad for various reasons, but this isn't one of them. Think of a hard-linked file as the same file with multiple directory entries. If you remove the file out of one directory, the same underlying data is still there. The data won't go away until the hard-link count goes to zero. Those are Unix filesystem semantics.
The difficulty in this situation comes with removing directories. While directories in a Time Machine volume may have multiple hard links, their underlying objects may or may not. If one were to try to remove one of these hard-linked directories in a standard fasion, such as "rm -r", this would unlink and delete underlying objects which may appear in numerous snapshots. This means that what appears to be removing a folder from a later snapshot could delete objects in other snapshots.
__________________
15'' MBP (early 2011) | i7 3770k Hackintosh | i7 Mac Mini (late 2012) | iPhone 5 | iPad 3 (2012) | iPad mini | MacOS X 10.9.2
ElectricSheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2013, 09:27 PM   #11
opinio
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Is the one you disconnect first in the daisy chain or second?
opinio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2013, 11:56 PM   #12
bryan85
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
The reason this isn't working as you think it should is because you are disconnecting the enclosure and the HDD within. In a HDD failure situation the enclosure is still attached but can't read the drive. Place a new HDD in the enclosure and it should rebuild the array. However, when you disconnect the enclosure you are removing hardware that has no redundancy. Thus the broken array as it can't detect the missing/failed HDD.
__________________
27" iMac, 3.4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, 680MX 2GB, 768GB SSD (Late 2012) | ATV 3 | iPad 3 64GB | iPhone 6 64GB T-Mobile
bryan85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2013, 07:01 PM   #13
Mac.User
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Wait... You made a RAID with two separate external Firewire drives?

Oh god I would not trust that at all. Software RAIDs (what you had) are not as secure or stable as Hardware RAIDs. I have had a few problems with them and refuse to use them again.
__________________
2014 11in Air: i5/4GB/128GB
Surface Pro 2: i5/4GB/128GB
Mac.User is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2013, 07:21 PM   #14
LeandrodaFL
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
LeandrodaFL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac.User View Post
Wait... You made a RAID with two separate external Firewire drives?

Oh god I would not trust that at all. Software RAIDs (what you had) are not as secure or stable as Hardware RAIDs. I have had a few problems with them and refuse to use them again.
Yeah...but its RAid 1....its better then not having anything...
LeandrodaFL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2013, 10:28 PM   #15
ElectricSheep
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Wilmington, DE
Send a message via AIM to ElectricSheep
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeandrodaFL View Post
Yeah...but its RAid 1....its better then not having anything...
That depends on what your goal is. The fundamental purpose of RAID is to ensure that data is always online, irrespective of how reliable hardware is. Given a likelyhood that a physical disk can fail, RAID ensures that the likelyhood that the logical volume fails as well is lower. This can extend to block-level or byte-level depending on the configuration.

If the goal is to prevent against data loss, then a backup solution is warranted. A good backup solution works by tracking changes to files, and keeping a history of those changes. This offers protection from runaway processes, human error, or even environmental distaster (via off-site backups); RAID cannot protect you from this.
__________________
15'' MBP (early 2011) | i7 3770k Hackintosh | i7 Mac Mini (late 2012) | iPhone 5 | iPad 3 (2012) | iPad mini | MacOS X 10.9.2
ElectricSheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2013, 10:34 PM   #16
gr8tfly
macrumors 603
 
gr8tfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ~119W 34N
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeandrodaFL View Post
Anwer me this, Can I take a Time Machine backup and connect to a diferent Mac (diferent model, diferent year) and can this new Mac acess the data from the Time Machine Backup?

Im not asking regarding a complete system restore, I just want to know if I can manually acess videos, photos and documents and manually copy them over.
Use the Time Machine app's "Browse Other TimeMachine Disks" feature on the other Mac. You then can use the normal TM interface to find the relevant date and file you need.
__________________
Macs from 1984 to 15" Retina MBP 768GB SSD 16GB RAM, from Newton to iPhone 5 S⃣ , iPods, and tv (3). 128GB Wifi iPad Air
gr8tfly is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you guys raid? RAID drive vs standard external drive? PicnicTutorials Mac Peripherals 11 Feb 21, 2014 05:30 AM
Restore External HDD Time Machine backup to another External HDD Pistol Peto OS X Mavericks (10.9) 3 Jan 18, 2014 10:43 PM
Replacing a dead g-tech raid with an external RAID? SpastikMonkii Digital Video 16 Jul 19, 2013 08:47 AM
Recommendations for a USB 3.0 dual HDD or quad HDD enclosure, with RAID? rmwebs Mac Peripherals 4 Apr 9, 2013 11:07 AM
Internal HDD versus External HDD Speed Test JandG MacBook Pro 1 Jul 16, 2012 08:01 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC