Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > iOS Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 10, 2013, 02:59 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
iPhone 5s/5c LTE Band Tweaks Combine AT&T and Verizon in One Model, Add China Mobile




With the introduction of the iPhone 5s and iPhone 5c today, Apple has adjusted the various combinations of LTE band support for the upcoming hardware. Each of the new iPhones actually comes in four different models supporting different bands.

In the United States, a single model of each line supports both AT&T and Verizon, as well as T-Mobile, with support for Sprint coming in a separate model that is also compatible with KDDI and Softbank in Japan.

For UK customers, the expanded LTE band support also means that the new iPhone models will be compatible with Vodafone's new LTE network in addition to continuing support for EE's network. The new devices will also be compatible with Three's LTE network, which launches in December.

For the first time, China will be included in the first wave of launches for a new iPhone model, and the iPhone 5s and iPhone 5c are both offered in models that supported the TD-LTE standard used by China Mobile, the world's largest carrier. Apple and China Mobile have yet to announce a deal for the iPhone, though signs have pointed to a deal being in the works.

As noted by Unwired View, Apple's iPhone 5s may already have received regulatory certification for TD-LTE operation in China. According to reports, China's Ministry of Industry and Information Technology issued TD-LTE certification on four devices, but sources have indicated that a fifth approval, for the iPhone 5s, was kept secret by the agency.

(Thanks, @anexanhume!)

Article Link: iPhone 5s/5c LTE Band Tweaks Combine AT&T and Verizon in One Model, Add China Mobile
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:01 PM   #2
chrmjenkins
macrumors 603
 
chrmjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CA
De nada.
__________________
Twitter: @anexanhume
chrmjenkins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:02 PM   #3
saud0488
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Does this mean that it'll come unlocked? I know the likely answer is "no" but didn't verizon have some deal with FCC that required it to be unlocked?
saud0488 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:02 PM   #4
SONiC5
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: U.S.
The SoftBank/Sprint/KDDI model should've supported Band 41 LTE.
SONiC5 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:04 PM   #5
bradl
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by saud0488 View Post
Does this mean that it'll come unlocked? I know the likely answer is "no" but didn't verizon have some deal with FCC that required it to be unlocked?
Not only this, but what about the other carriers? We can't assume that they use the same LTE bands, no?

So what about Rogers, Fido, Telstra, Optus, Orange, etc.? Do they use the same bands as ATT, VZW, and T-Mobile?

BL.
bradl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:08 PM   #6
CrAkD
macrumors 68030
 
CrAkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Boston, MA
thats kind of cool. making it easier to swap carriers.
__________________
iPhone 5S 64GB Macbook Air TV iPad Mini Retina 16gb LTE Hackintosh i7 920
CrAkD is online now   3 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:12 PM   #7
saud0488
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrAkD View Post
thats kind of cool. making it easier to swap carriers.
Easier, sure. But there's still the problem of the carriers themselves.
saud0488 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:13 PM   #8
Lostanddamned
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London, UK
So, as far as I know O2 in the UK operates on an 800mHz LTE band. I read this and understood it to be band 8. Is this not the case?

Am I going to be switching providers come the 20th?
__________________
13" MacBook Pro Retina  iPhone 5S  iPad Mini Retina  Cinema Display
Lostanddamned is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:19 PM   #9
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Wow talk about a inventory nightmare.

36 different iPhone 5s models (For various sizes, colors and LTE models) and 40 different iPhone 5c models!

It's silly though - they could easily combine the Sprint and Verizon models together but Verizon wouldn't allow their phones to be caught on Sprint's network....
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:21 PM   #10
iBungie
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I'm hoping to get this question answered as well. Timing is good for me as my 2yr O2 contract ends in October. Current O2 coverage works well for me but if they wont support these new handsets looks like I'll be moving too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostanddamned View Post
So, as far as I know O2 in the UK operates on an 800mHz LTE band. I read this and understood it to be band 8. Is this not the case?

Am I going to be switching providers come the 20th?
Update: I contacted O2 but so far they have no info although BBC news report this morning suggests O2 included in the networks that will support the new phones. O2 was not included in the Apple list of countries' service providers when I checked last night.

Last edited by iBungie; Sep 11, 2013 at 02:24 AM. Reason: update
iBungie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:30 PM   #11
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lostanddamned View Post
So, as far as I know O2 in the UK operates on an 800mHz LTE band. I read this and understood it to be band 8. Is this not the case?

Am I going to be switching providers come the 20th?
Band 8 is 900.

800 is Band 18, 19 and 20 depending on what country you are in. O2 seems to use 800 in band 20 - which all 4 models seem to support.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2

Last edited by Diode; Sep 10, 2013 at 03:38 PM.
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:31 PM   #12
applefan022
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
So will VZ be able to run data/voice simultaneous? Being the same model number as AT&T
__________________
2012 11" MBA 128GB, iPod Nano 16GB, AppleTV 3rd gen, iPhone 5S (Gold), iPad mini 16gb
applefan022 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:33 PM   #13
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by applefan022 View Post
So will VZ be able to run data/voice simultaneous? Being the same model number as AT&T
No - as long as Verizon continues to use CDMA for calls this will be a limit.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:35 PM   #14
chrmjenkins
macrumors 603
 
chrmjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
No - as long as Verizon continues to use CDMA for calls this will be a limit.
It's not just that. The iPhone 5 is incapable of transmitting data over LTE and calls over the normal CDMA network even. The same limitation exists. VoLTE is needed.
__________________
Twitter: @anexanhume
chrmjenkins is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:48 PM   #15
BruiserB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
So isn't Verizon prohibited from locking phones they sell that access LTE (or something like that)?

Would that mean that a subsidized Verizon iPhone can now be used freely by a T-mobile or ATT customer?

I suppose there would be a risk that the person selling it to you could have a contract problem with VZ which causes them to "Bad ESN" your phone?
BruiserB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 03:57 PM   #16
50548
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Currently in Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrmjenkins View Post
De nada.
It will be able to use Brazil's 4G for the first time as well.
50548 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 04:04 PM   #17
chrmjenkins
macrumors 603
 
chrmjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRLawyer View Post
It will be able to use Brazil's 4G for the first time as well.
They're Portuguese. Is it the same?
__________________
Twitter: @anexanhume
chrmjenkins is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 04:32 PM   #18
FoxyKaye
macrumors 68000
 
FoxyKaye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oakland, Terre d'Ange, Bas Lag, Gallifrey
T-Mobile LTE Advanced

Anybody know what band T-Mobile's LTE Advanced will be on? It's different from the exiting T-Mobile LTE and 4G, and launching later this year. Will the 5S support it?
__________________
Core i7/1.7 8GB 13" 2013 MBA | Core i7/2.66 8GB 17" 2010 MBP | 64GB iPhone 5s
Chaos is a ladder... The climb is all there is.
FoxyKaye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 04:45 PM   #19
50548
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Currently in Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrmjenkins View Post
They're Portuguese. Is it the same?
Not at all

Brazil uses the 2600MHz band, so the new models released over there will be A1529 and A1530 (same as Australia, NZ, South Korea, Singapore and Hong Kong).
50548 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 05:05 PM   #20
mrbrown
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Springfield, MO
Send a message via ICQ to mrbrown Send a message via AIM to mrbrown Send a message via MSN to mrbrown Send a message via Yahoo to mrbrown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
No - as long as Verizon continues to use CDMA for calls this will be a limit.
Well, not necessarily. If Apple changed the antenna design, it is possible that it could use LTE for data and CDMA for voice - this was an antenna limitation of the iPhone 5, IIRC.

Other Verizon phones don't have a problem doing just that...
__________________
Mr. Brown - www.mrbrown.net
mrbrown is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 05:32 PM   #21
chrmjenkins
macrumors 603
 
chrmjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by FoxyKaye View Post
Anybody know what band T-Mobile's LTE Advanced will be on? It's different from the exiting T-Mobile LTE and 4G, and launching later this year. Will the 5S support it?
No, they would have mentioned it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BRLawyer View Post
Not at all

Brazil uses the 2600MHz band, so the new models released over there will be A1529 and A1530 (same as Australia, NZ, South Korea, Singapore and Hong Kong).
I was talking about the phrase "de nada"
__________________
Twitter: @anexanhume
chrmjenkins is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 05:51 PM   #22
50548
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Currently in Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrmjenkins View Post
No, they would have mentioned it.



I was talking about the phrase "de nada"
Ah ok - yep, we use that as well
50548 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 07:18 PM   #23
VanillaCracker
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Washington D.C.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diode View Post
It's silly though - they could easily combine the Sprint and Verizon models together but Verizon wouldn't allow their phones to be caught on Sprint's network....
Why?
VanillaCracker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 07:22 PM   #24
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by VanillaCracker View Post
Why?
CDMA allows any device that receives the carriers frequency to be on the network (The carrier has the ability to block or allow phones from connecting to it's network). Verizon and Sprint use the same technology (well besides LTE) but won't allow non-branded devices on their networks for $$ issues.

They want you to buy the device from them.
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2013, 07:49 PM   #25
Jumpie
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by saud0488 View Post
Does this mean that it'll come unlocked? I know the likely answer is "no" but didn't verizon have some deal with FCC that required it to be unlocked?
Pretty much, yes. This was the whole C Block that Google bid on that VZW out bid them just to make it an "open" network. The VZW i5 on/off contract came unlocked knowing that it would only work on ATT and Tmo 3G network.

This is pretty damn good news. I have a Tmo SIM and will be able to pop it in and out as needed. Certain areas like my home suck with VZW's LTE service but Tmo's is awesome considering they have a tower almost in my back yard. I can forward my VZW calls to my Tmo number. The only issue will be dialing out as it will register the Tmo number unless there's a way to update the number.

This is making the VZW "version" of i5S more and more appealing for VZW users especially when traveling overseas.
__________________
Jumpie
Jumpie is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > iOS Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is iPhone 5S Verizon Lte band the same as At&t? macno0b iPhone 24 Sep 29, 2013 10:27 AM
China Mobile Poster Promoting iPhone 5s/5c Surfaces Ahead of Final TD-LTE Standard Approval MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 24 Sep 28, 2013 02:24 PM
Different LTE Band Model Designations .. Dwalls90 iPhone 0 Sep 10, 2013 02:43 PM
China Mobile Announces Big LTE Push, No Progress on iPhone Negotiations MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 33 Mar 15, 2013 05:02 AM
Will a Verizon iPhone 5 be able to utilize T-Mobile's 4G and LTE? Ann P iPhone 3 Jan 29, 2013 01:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC