Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Andyrew12

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 11, 2013
Hello,
I'm currently a student at a German high school and I want to buy a MacBook for this school year.

I want to use the MacBook for developing Mac software, writing LaTeX documents and playing some games like Minecraft and Battlefield 3 or Skyrim via Bootcamp. Because we don't have HDMI or WiFi in our school I would need a Thunderbolt to VGA and a Thunderbolt to Ethernet adapter.

I have a 1650€ budget, and I have access to the educational discount in Germany.

Should I wait until Apple refreshes the rMBP or should I get a 2013 MBA?

Last edited:

chrisrosemusic1

macrumors 6502a
Jan 31, 2012
Northamptonshire, England
Hello,
I'm currently a student at a German high school and I want to buy a MacBook for this school year.

I want to use the MacBook for developing Mac software, writing LaTeX documents and playing some games like Minecraft and Battlefield 3 or Skyrim via Bootcamp. Because we don't have HDMI or WiFi in our school I would need a Thunderbolt to VGA and a Thunderbolt to Ethernet adapter.

I have a 1650€ budget, and I have access to the educational discount in Germany.

Should I wait until Apple refreshes the rMBP or should I get a 2013 MBA?

For Gaming you should be looking at a minimum of a rMBP 15" or 15" MBP. The Air will not game, and the 13" rMBP will not game either - the integrated Intel GPU just isn't capable I'm afraid.

streetskooler

macrumors member
Oct 6, 2008
i would def go with the rmbp. I have one and my wife has the 2013 air. Only go with the air if you value portability among all else. If you game a lot then the rmbp is really a no brainer

deskhomeloo

macrumors newbie
Sep 11, 2013
yes, Only go with the air if you value portability among all else. If you game a lot then the rmbp is really a no brainer
z8KVFmE

aiyaaabatt

macrumors 6502
Aug 25, 2013