Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JacobBlen

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 12, 2013
Hello all,
I am planning on purchasing a iMac 27" in the next few months, I just have a few questions and wondering if I could get some advice.

Firstly I am architecture student and I own a MacBook Pro 13" (2009). So my theory is to bring my MBP to uni, but do all my heavy lifting with the desktop.

I will be using programs like autoCAD, photoshop etc., sketchup, revit and also do some a fair bit of heavy 3D rendering. I want this desktop to last quite a few years so I am planning on adding a few extras to increase performance. I also do next to no gaming, so don't worry about taking that into account.

Now I'm not an expert with computers so I'm not exactly sure on what upgrades to get and what will give me the most advantages.

1. RAM
So I understand that increasing the RAM will give me significant improvements, however should I upgrade to 32G or would 16G suffice?

2. Upgrade from i5 to i7
Would this be beneficial and help the desktop not outdate as quickly? Or assist with performance in general?

3. Storage
So I am tossing up between the fusion drive or flash storage. I would prefer the fusion drive (for the obvious reasons) unless there are any significant associated risks. I have heard that because its two drives in one there is a higher chance that it could crash etc.

4. Graphics card
For the work I will be doing (3D rendering, and probably some animation), would the upgrade be required? Or is the card already included sufficient enough if I'm not doing much gaming?

So the easy answer is just to upgrade everything to allow me to keep this desktop for as long as possible, however I don't quite know enough to know whether all the upgrades are required for my needs.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Cheers

Bear

macrumors G3
Jul 23, 2002
Sol III - Terra