Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 25, 2005, 07:22 PM   #1
homerjward
macrumors 68030
 
homerjward's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: fig tree
Send a message via AIM to homerjward
why so slow?

i dont get it. my system can play doom 3 or battlefield 2 at 50+fps at 1280x1024, 4x aa, all settings boosted, etc. but i've been rendering this seemingly simple, 525 frame lightwave scene with 3-pass aa for going on 6 days and i'm on frame 388. why is this? the last 30-40 frames have been 25 min/frame how is it that games can be so fast when lightwave is so slow...
__________________
Congress shall make no law...abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press.
homerjward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2005, 07:35 PM   #2
Coheebuzz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Nicosia, Cyprus
Only realtime renderers used in games utilise the GPU. Rendering to a file from a 3D app uses the CPU. What Mac do you have?
__________________
MacPro Quad 2.6 GHz, 8GB RAM 21" Aluminum iMac, 3.06 GHz, 4 GB RAM PM G5 dual 2Ghz 3.5 GB RAM
Coheebuzz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2005, 07:51 PM   #3
homerjward
Thread Starter
macrumors 68030
 
homerjward's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: fig tree
Send a message via AIM to homerjward
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coheebuzz
Only realtime renderers used in games utilise the GPU. Rendering to a file from a 3D app uses the CPU. What Mac do you have?
currently "between macs." i have an athlon 64 system with an x800. why doesn't rendering in lightwave use the gpu? wouldn't it be immensely faster?
__________________
Congress shall make no law...abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press.
homerjward is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2005, 08:05 PM   #4
Eric5h5
macrumors 68010
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by homerjward
currently "between macs." i have an athlon 64 system with an x800. why doesn't rendering in lightwave use the gpu? wouldn't it be immensely faster?
Not in the least. GPUs are just designed to move polygons in games as fast as possible. Nothing at all to do with true 3D rendering, which is as CPU-intensive as it gets. The only thing GPUs are used for in 3D rendering is for fast previews. They're not capable of the sort of calculations necessary for all the fancy stuff.

--Eric
Eric5h5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2006, 02:57 PM   #5
kalross
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
http://apcmag.com/apc/v3.nsf/0/5F125...25705A0005AD27
kalross is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2006, 04:03 PM   #6
ATD
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
As others pointed out, it's different. Games for the most part are pre-rendered, it is also known as baking. All the hard stuff is pre-rendered, what you are looking at are pre-rendered textures reapplied to the polys. Bumps, shadows, specular, AA ... are baked in. You might find some sections in your Lightwave manuals about it.


ATD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2006, 09:02 PM   #7
ATD
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by homerjward
currently "between macs." i have an athlon 64 system with an x800. why doesn't rendering in lightwave use the gpu? wouldn't it be immensely faster?


GPUs can do renders, it's called hardware rendering. I'm not sure about Lightware but in Maya it's used for rendering particle effects. I don't believe it's any faster than software renders. Again games don't really render the way the 3D program renders, I don't even know if you can call that rendering. A hardware render can only render to your screen size and if you open a window on top of the render it will get enbedded.

Here's a link to a box that does nothing but hardware renders and it's fast

http://www.artvps.com/page/16/renderdrive.htm

but it has a price to match. I have not priced one lately but believe this puppy goes for $14,500 USD.

ATD is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quicktime export - why so slow? ojwk Mac Applications and Mac App Store 11 Dec 26, 2008 07:58 PM
Sound problems solved by Firefox but why won't safari play sound? why so slow? slim tim slide Mac Basics and Help 0 May 13, 2008 03:54 PM
Office 2008 - Why so slow? powerbook911 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 8 Mar 7, 2008 01:50 AM
EXCEL for Mac 2008 - Why so slow? Fred Jones OS X 1 Jan 26, 2008 11:36 PM
Folding??? Why so slow?? Falleron Mac Help/Tips 5 May 31, 2002 09:14 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC