Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 28, 2005, 10:14 AM   #1
dberg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
memory for quad

has anyone had any issues intalling new memory for the quad?

I ordered 2 x 512 from here :

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch..._Code=OCZ_DDR2

and when it boots i get some wierd memory checksum error. Tried it with just the 2 x 512 and got some funky beeps and the fans went into mayhem. Any idea what could be at fault here ?

thanks
adam
__________________
Quad G5 1.5 GB RAM
Powerbook 15" 1.5 Ghz 1GB Ram
dberg is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 10:16 AM   #2
iGary
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Randy's House
Quote:
Originally Posted by dberg
has anyone had any issues intalling new memory for the quad?

I ordered 2 x 512 from here :

http://www.monarchcomputer.com/Merch..._Code=OCZ_DDR2

and when it boots i get some wierd memory checksum error. Tried it with just the 2 x 512 and got some funky beeps and the fans went into mayhem. Any idea what could be at fault here ?

thanks
adam
Return it and buy some from a reputable dealer.

OWC, Crucial, NewEgg.....


If the price looks too good to be true it probably is.
iGary is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 10:17 AM   #3
grapes911
Demi-God (Moderator emeritus)
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
Try datamem.com. They have a guarantee for Mac computers.
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 10:19 AM   #4
dberg
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
so you guys think the memory is bad ?

should i return it ?
__________________
Quad G5 1.5 GB RAM
Powerbook 15" 1.5 Ghz 1GB Ram
dberg is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 10:21 AM   #5
iGary
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Randy's House
Quote:
Originally Posted by dberg
so you guys think the memory is bad ?

should i return it ?
Yeah and go with any of the suggestions above.
iGary is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 10:23 AM   #6
dberg
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
is there any way to confirm the mem is bad ?

it is OCZ memory, its not some no-name brand. Just seems wierd. But i guess if only 1 of the 2 are bad, the whole system wont work due to the paired issue right ?
__________________
Quad G5 1.5 GB RAM
Powerbook 15" 1.5 Ghz 1GB Ram
dberg is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 10:24 AM   #7
grapes911
Demi-God (Moderator emeritus)
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
I don't think the memory is necessarily bad. I think the RAM is not guaranteed to work in a Mac. Macs are picky about RAM. Return it (if they let you, you may have to pay a restocking fee if they say the RAM is not defective). Do yourself a favor and go to a dealer that has Mac specific RAM. The only two memory places I shop for my Mac are datamem.com and crucial.com.
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 10:27 AM   #8
grapes911
Demi-God (Moderator emeritus)
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
Quote:
Originally Posted by dberg
it is OCZ memory, its not some no-name brand.
Just because it is a brand name doesn't mean it will work in a Mac. Crucial for instance has RAM and a more expensive Mac RAM. The regular RAM may work, but it's not worth the risk that it may not.
__________________
grapes911 is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 10:27 AM   #9
dberg
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
just doesnt make sense. Assuming the memory is good, it has the exact specifications that the manual requires for additional memory.
__________________
Quad G5 1.5 GB RAM
Powerbook 15" 1.5 Ghz 1GB Ram
dberg is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 10:31 AM   #10
grapes911
Demi-God (Moderator emeritus)
 
grapes911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Citizens Bank Park
Quote:
Originally Posted by dberg
just doesnt make sense. Assuming the memory is good, it has the exact specifications that the manual requires for additional memory.
Not all specifications are posted. Such things like how many chips are on the stick make little difference in PCs, but are very important to a Mac. There are other little RAM nuances that are very relative for a Mac.

Edit: Here is an example
Stick1 Stick2
Both sticks seem identical. Stick1 is guaranteed to work in a Mac. Stick2 may or my not work in a Mac.
__________________

Last edited by grapes911; Nov 28, 2005 at 10:37 AM.
grapes911 is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 10:47 AM   #11
dberg
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
thanks for the examples. Just seems kinda silly that apple supports installing more ram, yet ram that seems an identical match to their requirements may not work. very frustrating.

not to mention that Monarch wont take returns on memory , only exchanges so now looks like i am out of luck with this identical memory that wont work.
__________________
Quad G5 1.5 GB RAM
Powerbook 15" 1.5 Ghz 1GB Ram
dberg is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 02:47 PM   #12
dberg
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
ordered the certified RAM from OWC. $92 for 2x512 for the quad. cost me $13 restocking fee with Monarch b/c they wont do full refund. Apple says nothing they can do except to use certified memory users, since the macs are very picky about their ram.

oh well guess it is a $13 learning experience. Certified mac resellers only.

thanks for all the help and info guys.
__________________
Quad G5 1.5 GB RAM
Powerbook 15" 1.5 Ghz 1GB Ram
dberg is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 02:51 PM   #13
FFTT
macrumors 68030
 
FFTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
Just saw yesterday Datamem.com has 2 X 1 GB DIMMs for your quad at $178.00
__________________
Don't look at me in that tone of voice!
FFTT is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 02:53 PM   #14
~Shard~
macrumors P6
 
~Shard~'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: 1123.6536.5321
Send a message via Skype™ to ~Shard~
Datamem is a good dealer from what I have heard, I would recommend them also.
__________________
My riches consist not in the extent of my possessions, but in the fewness of my wants.
- J. Brotherton
~Shard~ is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 02:58 PM   #15
dberg
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
yeah they were a few bucks more, so i went with OWC. Hopefully no issues.
__________________
Quad G5 1.5 GB RAM
Powerbook 15" 1.5 Ghz 1GB Ram
dberg is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 04:28 PM   #16
FFTT
macrumors 68030
 
FFTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
OWC is also excellent both in quality and customer service.
__________________
Don't look at me in that tone of voice!
FFTT is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2005, 04:48 PM   #17
ipacmm
macrumors 65816
 
ipacmm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Send a message via AIM to ipacmm
Quote:
Originally Posted by FFTT
OWC is also excellent both in quality and customer service.
I agree, I ordered some ram for my Quad from them and they shipped it really fast and everything worked great.
__________________
[SIZE="1"]My Photography - ipacmm.com
ipacmm is offline   0
Old Dec 1, 2005, 10:22 PM   #18
dberg
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
just wanted to say thanks to you guys for the advice. got my 2x512 from OWC today for my quad and it works perfectly.

thanks for all the help here, just figured i would post something good about OWC since so far everything has been great from them.
__________________
Quad G5 1.5 GB RAM
Powerbook 15" 1.5 Ghz 1GB Ram
dberg is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 iMac 27 i7 Quad 2.93 4gb vs. 2013 iMac 27 i5 quad 3.2 8gb Hello2u2 iMac 18 Jun 20, 2014 06:33 PM
Upgrade RAM: Two, 2GB memory cards or will one 4GB memory card work? cmhall9 MacBook Pro 6 Dec 2, 2013 02:05 PM
Handbrake results on late 2012 2.3ghz quad with 4g of memory xlii Mac mini 11 Nov 6, 2012 10:26 PM
Q's: 2009 4,1 Quad 2.66 verses 2010 5,1 Quad 2.8 TableSyrup Mac Pro 10 Jul 26, 2012 12:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC