Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 20, 2013, 04:15 PM   #1
dmaxdmax
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Update seems to have stalled - blinking light

I ran the software update and it seems to have been going OK until I got the weird picture of the apple tv and a usb cable connecting to an iTunes logo. I wasn't certain if I was supposed to do anything - I wasn't in the room the whole time so I don't know if it was up for 1 minute or 15. Now, the signal has stopped (TV is saying no signal) and the LED on the front of ATV is blinking quickly and has for 10 minutes.

WHat should I try?
dmaxdmax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 04:18 PM   #2
mic j
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmaxdmax View Post
I ran the software update and it seems to have been going OK until I got the weird picture of the apple tv and a usb cable connecting to an iTunes logo. I wasn't certain if I was supposed to do anything - I wasn't in the room the whole time so I don't know if it was up for 1 minute or 15. Now, the signal has stopped (TV is saying no signal) and the LED on the front of ATV is blinking quickly and has for 10 minutes.

WHat should I try?
Use iTunes to restore it (using a micro USB cable hooked to your computer).
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; iPhone 5s; AE; AppleTV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 04:23 PM   #3
Eckscaliber
macrumors 6502a
 
Eckscaliber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
I'm having the same issue. I certainly don't have that HDMI to USB cable.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	670.8 KB
ID:	434728  
Eckscaliber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 04:53 PM   #4
Cell-666
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2011
It's a mini USB to USB cable that you need.
Cell-666 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 05:27 PM   #5
GoodNewsNobody
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Well this sucks.

My AppleTV crashed after I updated as well. It then crashed forcing me to reboot. Now I'm stuck with a brick because I lost my Apple TV remote and have no way to interact with Apple TV to set it up. Guess I have to buy a $20 remote that I'm only going to use once to set up the remote app.
GoodNewsNobody is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 05:54 PM   #6
whsbuss
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: SE Penna.
One thing, it took more than 25 minutes from start to finish!
whsbuss is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 06:33 PM   #7
dmrowley
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dortches, NC
Mine crashed too. Tried restore through iTunes, and that failed. Argghh...

EDIT:
Nevermind - you have to use USB and Power cable. It doesn't get power through the USB cable. It's the first time i've ever had to connect it to the Mac...
__________________
2013 27" iMac i5 3.2Ghz, 16Gig Ram, 3TB Fusion Drive
128G Silver iPhone 6
32G iPad 4
Canon EOS 60D, Canon 24-105 f/4 L, Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 DX II

Last edited by dmrowley; Sep 20, 2013 at 06:42 PM. Reason: Mea Culpa
dmrowley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 06:38 PM   #8
Nlrwilson
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Arkansas
ATV update is a mess

I have done updates dozens of times without a single glitch. Sooo, this time it's like a can of snakes popped open in the tent. I'm getting the cable to iTunes image. Blinking light now going on for 2 hours. I unplugged ATV, restarted my iMac, checked out the airport extreme, checked my flat screen's wifi reception and its good, because the ATV says NO SIGNAL. So now all I get is a fast blinking green light. What now?
Nlrwilson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 07:03 PM   #9
Che Castro
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nlrwilson View Post
I have done updates dozens of times without a single glitch. Sooo, this time it's like a can of snakes popped open in the tent. I'm getting the cable to iTunes image. Blinking light now going on for 2 hours. I unplugged ATV, restarted my iMac, checked out the airport extreme, checked my flat screen's wifi reception and its good, because the ATV says NO SIGNAL. So now all I get is a fast blinking green light. What now?
You need to plug the Apple TV to your computer using a micro usb cable & the power cable

Restore the Apple TV in iTunes
If your micro usb cable works you will see the Apple TV popup in iTunes , if not try another micro usb cable
And hit restore
Che Castro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 08:18 PM   #10
Apollo 13
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2010
Mines downloaded the file and now it's froze at about the 70% mark for updating.
Apollo 13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 09:11 PM   #11
darkfiber
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Mine did the exact same thing today. I started the update and left to go out for dinner and when I came back the Apple TV light was blinking but didn't have any video. I unplugged it and then it showed the plug the Apple TV into USB logo on screen. Sounds like more than a few people are having this issue.

I got it hooked into my PC with iTunes and I have it in recovery mode now. Fortunately I had a USB A to Micro B cable handy.

UPDATE: After recovery mode finished it worked just fine.
__________________
iPhone 5s (64GB) AT&T "Space Gray" 09-26-2013
Apple TV (3rd Gen) 03-09-2012

Last edited by darkfiber; Sep 20, 2013 at 11:29 PM.
darkfiber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 09:32 PM   #12
dmaxdmax
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
My ATV has 4 jacks: power, hdmi, optical and Ethernet. What's the deal with a mini USB?

----------

Found it under a fat hdmi cable.

Should the hdmi be plugged in during the reset?
dmaxdmax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 10:15 PM   #13
jourabchid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Exclamation Fix

I used the micro usb cable to restore the software version 5.3
after it restored i entered my wifi settings
and performed the software update with no problems.

It seems this is happening to people who update over ethernet.
or a bogus ipsw.

download link
http://www.ipswdownloader.com/downlo...ipsw-files.php
jourabchid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 10:45 PM   #14
dmaxdmax
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
FWIW - It worked for me on the second attempt. It might have worked on the first but I neglected to unplug/replug the ATV when reconnecting to the TV.

I didn't use ethernet for the failure or fix. Everything wifi.

Good luck, everyone.
dmaxdmax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 11:28 PM   #15
darkfiber
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Columbus, OH USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jourabchid View Post
I used the micro usb cable to restore the software version 5.3
after it restored i entered my wifi settings
and performed the software update with no problems.

It seems this is happening to people who update over ethernet.
or a bogus ipsw.

download link
http://www.ipswdownloader.com/downlo...ipsw-files.php
My Apple TV is connected via Ethernet, so perhaps that was the issue. Never has happened in previous updates since I bought it in March 2012.
__________________
iPhone 5s (64GB) AT&T "Space Gray" 09-26-2013
Apple TV (3rd Gen) 03-09-2012
darkfiber is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 01:54 AM   #16
steve-p
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Newbury, UK
My ATV3 updated over Ethernet just fine, so I don't think it's related to that. There always seem to be a few casualties whenever there's an update, this time perhaps more than most. This update took longer than most, though.
steve-p is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 04:18 AM   #17
priitv8
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Estonia
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmrowley View Post
Nevermind - you have to use USB and Power cable. It doesn't get power through the USB cable.
Well, Apple specifically instructs you to disconnect it from power in order to be able to restore via iTunes. And last time I checked, it indeed is powered enough to reflash the FW.
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht4367
priitv8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 05:54 AM   #18
NachoGrande
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I hit the same problem. The only time that I've been happy that I own a SG4, since it has a micro USB. I had to plug into iTunes and restore. no power cable.
__________________
27" iMac(2010) // 13" MBA (2011) // iPad // iPad 2 // iPad 3 // iPhone 5&6 // ATV2
NachoGrande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 07:31 AM   #19
dmrowley
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Dortches, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by priitv8 View Post
Well, Apple specifically instructs you to disconnect it from power in order to be able to restore via iTunes. And last time I checked, it indeed is powered enough to reflash the FW.
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht4367
Very strange, as it didn't work for me via just USB. Anywho, it is back up and running now, so I am happy again!
__________________
2013 27" iMac i5 3.2Ghz, 16Gig Ram, 3TB Fusion Drive
128G Silver iPhone 6
32G iPad 4
Canon EOS 60D, Canon 24-105 f/4 L, Tokina 11-16 f/2.8 DX II
dmrowley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 07:41 AM   #20
oddsbodkins
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Mine updated fine over wifi but it took near a half hour.
oddsbodkins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 09:42 AM   #21
HAudidoody
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Mine failed as well over wifi... had to restore to factory with iTunes.

My kindle's micro USB saved the day.

Apple TV 3 must be plugged in for the restore as it notes in the instructions.
HAudidoody is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 09:52 AM   #22
mpact
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Another fail over ethernet on ATV3. Had to restore and then restart one more time to clear out the bugs.
mpact is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 11:47 AM   #23
Penquin79
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Stalled update

I do not know what is causing the problem but I can relate what it isn't. I updated three ATV's today with no issues. Actually biggest issue was turning iTunes Match on on one of them and that was just entering my password again. Updates as follows.

ATV3 updated by WiFi before updating to ITunes 11.1 on the Mac.

ATV3 updated via Ethernet after iTunes update on the Mac.

ATV2 updated via WIFi after iTunes update.

So it does not seem to matter if it is WiFi, Ethernet or before or after ITunes update. Or difference between ATV2 or 3.

Most likely the problem is a corrupted download or problem reaching out to the Apple Store. Have to remember that all of the down load code is 0's or 1's. It doesn't take much of a hiccup with the Internet connection or the modem to end up with an error, an 0 where it should be a 1. Could even be an error in the update packet on one of the many servers. Evidently I was lucky or it is I have a good modem and router, who knows. Sucks when things do not work, but those of us that remember when all installs were done by floppy or disc should recall that if the physical media was damaged it wouldn't install. So bad down load file bad install. Would be nice if you could download the ATV updates to the Mac the same way you can for iPhone and iPad. Probably wouldn't have as many issues or you could fix by downloading again .
Penquin79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 12:26 PM   #24
lunaoso
macrumors 65816
 
lunaoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New England, USA
Happened to me on one of my 2 Apple TV 3rd gens. Tried restoring but didn't do anything (brought me back to the connect to iTunes). Time to try new usb cable and then DFU if that fails too.
lunaoso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 12:46 PM   #25
beaconsfield
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Same problem I have. WTF???
beaconsfield is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airport Extreme Blinking Green Light. M&M Mac Peripherals 6 Sep 28, 2013 08:39 AM
MBP charging problems - green light blinking ana.la MacBook Pro 2 Feb 17, 2013 11:18 PM
Blinking red light by front camera left of speaker Sharkoid iPhone 6 Dec 27, 2012 09:55 AM
Mac Pro won't startup blinking power light albehany Mac Pro 2 Dec 12, 2012 06:42 AM
Cinema Display light blinking stuartm PowerPC Macs 2 Jun 5, 2012 11:12 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC