Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 20, 2013, 06:27 PM   #1
jayinla
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
5s Require Passcode...Immediately only Option?

I'm trying to change the amount of time the 5s needs before it asks me to put in a passcode. In the past I would set it for 5 minutes. I'm only seeing an option for immediately. This is kind of a PITA. Am I missing something?
jayinla is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 06:38 PM   #2
bcaslis
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I see this too. I didn't look before I set the fingerprints so I didn't know if it was the same before reading a fingerprint.
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 13" 3.0GHz i7 16GB/1TB , iPad Air 2 LTE 128GB, iPhone 6 128GB, Mac mini server, iMac 24"
bcaslis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 06:39 PM   #3
dave420
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Do you have an Exchange mail account configured? I have heard sometimes they can limit some of the settings, such as the passcode timeout.
dave420 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 06:45 PM   #4
jayinla
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave420 View Post
Do you have an Exchange mail account configured? I have heard sometimes they can limit some of the settings, such as the passcode timeout.
I'm just using an icloud email account. I tried disabling it but the option for immediately did not change.
jayinla is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 06:52 PM   #5
dave420
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayinla View Post
I'm just using an icloud email account. I tried disabling it but the option for immediately did not change.
Interestinng. The other poster mentioned they were having the same issue, so maybe something has changed. Wish I could test it out here
dave420 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 07:10 PM   #6
jayinla
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I've discovered that if you turn fingerprint lock off then the option comes back to set the amount of time. Once you turn fingerprint on, immediately becomes the only option again. Not sure I like that. Anyone know why the options would change?
jayinla is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 07:28 PM   #7
mdehoogh
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I don't like it. I know the fingerprint sensor works pretty well but it does take slightly longer to unlock every time. I'd like to change it back to 5min
mdehoogh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 07:32 PM   #8
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayinla View Post
I've discovered that if you turn fingerprint lock off then the option comes back to set the amount of time. Once you turn fingerprint on, immediately becomes the only option again. Not sure I like that. Anyone know why the options would change?
Because if you're using Touch ID you won't be entering the passcode anyway?
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 07:39 PM   #9
bcaslis
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmann View Post
Because if you're using Touch ID you won't be entering the passcode anyway?
Makes sense. I wasn't expecting it but I can live with it as long as I have my TouchID!
__________________
MacBook Pro Retina 13" 3.0GHz i7 16GB/1TB , iPad Air 2 LTE 128GB, iPhone 6 128GB, Mac mini server, iMac 24"
bcaslis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 07:52 PM   #10
Jman13
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Columbus, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdehoogh View Post
I don't like it. I know the fingerprint sensor works pretty well but it does take slightly longer to unlock every time. I'd like to change it back to 5min
I doubt it takes longer than pressing the button and swiping to unlock.
Jman13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 08:02 PM   #11
gentlefury
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayinla View Post
I'm trying to change the amount of time the 5s needs before it asks me to put in a passcode. In the past I would set it for 5 minutes. I'm only seeing an option for immediately. This is kind of a PITA. Am I missing something?
Do you not have fingers? The point of the 5S is so you can access your phone immediately but no one else can.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jman13 View Post
I doubt it takes longer than pressing the button and swiping to unlock.
No, it doesn't. I found the quickest way to unlock with Touch ID is to press the home button to wake it up and just leave your finger on the button after you release. It will unlock as soon as the screen turns on.
gentlefury is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2013, 09:48 PM   #12
jayinla
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
[QUOTE=gentlefury;17962909]Do you not have fingers? The point of the 5S is so you can access your phone immediately but no one else can.[COLOR="#808080"]

----------

I should be able to access my phone any way I want to. If I'm engaged in an iMessaage conversation and would like to not have the screen lock needed to be fingerprinted in the middle, that should be my choice. Just as it's my choice to set how long it would take for passcode lock to be needed. I look at the fingerprint sensor as an alternative to the passcode lock with the same rules.
jayinla is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 02:06 PM   #13
solace
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
i think this is an oversight honestly...

because it still says "Shorter times are more secure" in that dialog, but the only choice when Touch ID is enabled is "Immediately".

i too hope they change this. while Touch ID is fast, it's not as fast as swiping to unlock with no passcode.

I almost alway set mine to lock after 15 min of inactivity. my phone is never away from my side longer than that.
solace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2013, 08:57 PM   #14
skywavesli
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by solace View Post
i think this is an oversight honestly...

because it still says "Shorter times are more secure" in that dialog, but the only choice when Touch ID is enabled is "Immediately".

i too hope they change this. while Touch ID is fast, it's not as fast as swiping to unlock with no passcode.

I almost alway set mine to lock after 15 min of inactivity. my phone is never away from my side longer than that.
Same here. Seems like an oversight especially with them leaving the text there.
skywavesli is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Require Passcode: Immediately" is my only option bobsaget123 iPhone 67 Yesterday 03:09 PM
Require Password is set to "immediately" and cannot be changed glman iOS 7 5 Oct 15, 2013 09:12 PM
Umm require passcode immediate only fdot iPhone 21 Sep 27, 2013 08:22 AM
Require Passcode hellomacguy iOS 7 18 Sep 26, 2013 07:12 PM
Can I lock the iPhone to require passcode immediately? Tumbleweed666 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Feb 7, 2013 11:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC