Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

View Poll Results: Would you switch to 13'' if both 15'' and 13'' were integrated GPU only?
No, I would stick with 15''. 48 61.54%
Yes, I would switch to 13''. 30 38.46%
Voters: 78. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 27, 2013, 10:25 AM   #1
Starfyre
macrumors 6502a
 
Starfyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
15'' rMBP Likers... if both 13'' and 15'' had Integrated GFX.. would you switch 13''?

As the question states, if both the 13'' and 15'' models had integrated GPUs only... though 15'' may have better processor... would you get a 13'' instead?
Starfyre is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2013, 11:33 AM   #2
rocknblogger
macrumors 68000
 
rocknblogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New Jersey
Send a message via Skype™ to rocknblogger
I wouldn't get either. I guess I'd have to go back to Windows laptop.
__________________
Don't be stupid.
rocknblogger is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2013, 11:47 AM   #3
GSPice
macrumors 68000
 
GSPice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
It doesn't matter. I would go with the notebook that had the hardware most optimized for my applications.
__________________
15" Haswell rMBP 2.3/16/512/750m | 24" iMac 3.06/500/4/8800 | Mac OS X 10.9.2
AEBS MC340LL/A | APC RS 800VA/XS 1000 | iPhone 5 16GB 7.1 | iPad 16GB LTE 7.1 | Apple TV 2
GSPice is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2013, 11:59 AM   #4
Broadus
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
On the fence

I'm on the fence about this. I have a refurbished 15" rMBP on its way, but I realized after I ordered it that if the graphics processor is improved in the 13" rMBP, it would probably cost only $100 new over the 15" mid-2012 refurb. As my only computer and with my aging vision, I'm not sure if 13" is large enough, but I'm in a bit of a quandary.
Broadus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2013, 12:02 PM   #5
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Since Haswell has the GPU integrated in the processor, and the quad core performance parts have a crappier iGPU, I'm pretty sure it would make no sense for Apple not to use dGPU with them. Therefore I would buy the 15", but I don't need a new computer (then again I say that every year).
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2013, 12:06 PM   #6
johnnylarue
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
My laptop is my only computer, and 15" is just barely large enough to act as a desktop replacement. 13" would not cut it.

That said, I don't think any iteration of the 13" has ever been spec'd as highly as the concurrent 15" option--especially with regards to the CPU--so this question is kind of a moot one...
johnnylarue is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2013, 04:04 PM   #7
dusk007
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Personally I would not go lower than 15" simply because I don't like the screen size of 13". It is too small. I have no problem with the 15" portability and would not be willing to switch to anything smaller.
I would go bigger if the bezel shrinks.
__________________
15" MBP 2013 2.3/750M, 16GB/512GB
dusk007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2013, 06:49 PM   #8
Zeov
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Odense
Nope, the "13 is too small for my needs.. the extra screen space benefits the extra weight i have to carry.. if Apple would release a 17" MacBook Pro i would get that in an instant.. oh boy
__________________
iMac 27 Basemodel MacBook Air "13 Ultimate Macbook Pro "13 iPad iPhone 4
Zeov is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2013, 06:55 PM   #9
actuallyinaus
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
15" - need the resolution and screen size for programming, the more text i can see at once the better, i dont care about the dgpu as i only do adobe suite, not video editing or gaming, ive got a desktop for those
actuallyinaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 12:35 AM   #10
Badrottie
macrumors 68030
 
Badrottie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broadus View Post
I'm on the fence about this. I have a refurbished 15" rMBP on its way, but I realized after I ordered it that if the graphics processor is improved in the 13" rMBP, it would probably cost only $100 new over the 15" mid-2012 refurb. As my only computer and with my aging vision, I'm not sure if 13" is large enough, but I'm in a bit of a quandary.
Speaking of aging vision, you will be fine with 15" rMBP, large screen estate is better than 13" and I really like 27" iMac in my computer lab.
__________________
That is OK to make fun of my poor english grammars just because you are bullying deaf people.
Badrottie is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 12:59 AM   #11
Djlild7hina
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tokyo, Japan
I'd still prefer the bigger screen. More real estate for coding and it's better to watch videos on. I don't game or do anything too graphics intensive on laptops so I think I'll be okay
__________________
2013 15" rMBP 2.3/ 16GB/ 512GB
Gold iPhone 6 Plus 128GB
Gold iPhone 6 128GB
Silver iPhone 5S 64GB
Djlild7hina is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 01:17 AM   #12
Orlandoech
macrumors 68030
 
Orlandoech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
I've thought a bout it but everytime I touch my brothers 13" rmbp it's just too small and the screen loss is huge IMO. I'll stick with 15" for sure.
Orlandoech is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 01:19 AM   #13
Quackers
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Manchester, UK
Nope. Too small for me. (Both physically and in terms of screen size).
__________________
15" MacBook Pro retina 10,1: iphone 4S
Quackers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 01:53 AM   #14
Striker-UMB
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Nope I wouldn't switch, IMO the 15" rMBP is the perfect size laptop for me. I used to think my 13" uMB was satisfactory, until I got my 15" retina. I could never go back to a 13" it is too small and cramped. The 15" is better in every way especially the retina, it's super light and even thinner than the 13" retina by a smidge.
Striker-UMB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 04:47 AM   #15
Brian Buttplug
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: An outhouse near you
I am, like so many others, waiting for the Haswell rMBP.

If Apple make a 13" with Iris Pro I'll get that one.
Unfortunately I don't think Intel make a Core i5 Mobile version with integrated Iris Pro?


-Brian
Brian Buttplug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 05:39 AM   #16
rmwebs
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Nope I'd likely move to a 13" Air. The 13" rMBP only has one worthwhile feature (for me) over the air and thats the screen. But it's not enough to warrant the extra expense.

I'd then have a pro or a hackintosh as a heavy workload machine.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaod View Post
but I don't need a new computer (then again I say that every year).
Few of us ever need a new computer . I dunno about everyone else but I upgrade my mac every 2 years, simply because you only loose between 15 and 20% of its retail value, especially if its still got 1 year of Applecare left

It works out pretty well. If you spend $1000 on a Mac, you sell it 2 years later for $820, meaning you've not got a hefty price to pay for your new mac.

I tend to do the same with the iPhone as CEX (a uk shop that buy 2nd hand electronics) usually give you a great price on them, making your next iPhone peanuts to buy.
rmwebs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 08:48 AM   #17
bking1000
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Neither. I want an rMBP 15" with a dual drive, but still magically slimmer and lighter.
bking1000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 09:14 AM   #18
Mac.User
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaod View Post
Since Haswell has the GPU integrated in the processor, and the quad core performance parts have a crappier iGPU, I'm pretty sure it would make no sense for Apple not to use dGPU with them. Therefore I would buy the 15", but I don't need a new computer (then again I say that every year).
Apple already gave the 21in iMac the 5200 GPU only, and it scores nearly even with the nVidia 650m. I have a feeling they are going to do what they did with the 13in laptops with the iMac.

Base 15in and all 13in will have 5200 Intel GPU, and the higher end option will have an nVidia chip

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by bking1000 View Post
Neither. I want an rMBP 15" with a dual drive, but still magically slimmer and lighter.
That not hard the 14in Razer Blade has space for 2 mSATA SSD drives, and is thinner than the 13in Retina while having an nVidia 765GPU, and quad core i7 and still get 6hrs of battery. There is no reason the 15in Retina can not have the same hardware in it.
__________________
2013 15in MacBook Pro: i7 2.3/16/512, 750dGPU
2014 11in Air: i5/4GB/128GB - Surface Pro 2: i5/4GB/128GB
Gaming Rig: AMD 8320 4.0GHz watercooled, 16GB 2133MHz, 120GB SSD 2TB HDD, 2x R9 270 Crossfire

Last edited by Mac.User; Sep 28, 2013 at 09:46 AM.
Mac.User is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 11:46 AM   #19
theycallmetc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
If the rMBP 15 didn't have a dGPU I would have bought a Razer Blade. I'm pretty indifferent between operating systems, and the Blade is actually closer to my ideal set up in terms of size and GPU, only that the rMBP blows it away display-wise. I also bought my MacBook refurbished, which made it way cheaper than the Blade.
theycallmetc is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 11:52 AM   #20
borgqueens
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Denmark
no never I have a cMBP 13" and it is just for my needs and my preferences too small.

Then again just used all my money on the new iMac 27" so not gonna get a rMBP any time soon
borgqueens is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 12:49 PM   #21
Krazy Bill
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Most of the comments here penalize the 13" display for reasons I don't understand. You take the savings from not buying that 15" and get a 27" external monitor. (And enough left over to buy the wife a Gucci purse to justify it).

Do you really need that extra 2" when mobile?
Krazy Bill is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 01:19 AM   #22
VanillaCracker
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Washington D.C.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac.User View Post
Apple already gave the 21in iMac the 5200 GPU only, and it scores nearly even with the nVidia 650m. I have a feeling they are going to do what they did with the 13in laptops with the iMac.

Base 15in and all 13in will have 5200 Intel GPU, and the higher end option will have an nVidia chip
You do realize that the Iris Pro in the iMac is 65W right? And that the Iris Pro speculated for the 15" rMBP is 47W. And that the Iris (5100) speculated for the 13" is only 28W.

Okay cool, just making sure you knew

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krazy Bill View Post
Most of the comments here penalize the 13" display for reasons I don't understand. You take the savings from not buying that 15" and get a 27" external monitor. (And enough left over to buy the wife a Gucci purse to justify it).

Do you really need that extra 2" when mobile?
You'd be surprised. 14" is fine, but 13" is a bit cramped imo
VanillaCracker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 01:33 AM   #23
PDFierro
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Interesting to see all those comments about the 13-inch being too small/cramped. I honestly think the 15 is way too big, where as the 13 is the perfect size. I'd have issues using the 15.
PDFierro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 06:43 AM   #24
entatlrg
macrumors Demi-God
 
entatlrg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo & Georgian Bay, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krazy Bill View Post
Most of the comments here penalize the 13" display for reasons I don't understand. You take the savings from not buying that 15" and get a 27" external monitor. (And enough left over to buy the wife a Gucci purse to justify it).

Do you really need that extra 2" when mobile?
Sure, if most of your work is done on the go, without access to an external display, or if you just prefer a larger display, go for it.
__________________
iPhone 5S, iPad Air, 13" rMBP, Mac Pro
Line 2 -G Nexus, HTC One X, GS III, HTC One S, Nexus 4, BB Z10, HTC ONE, BBQ10 back to HTC ONE
entatlrg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 08:44 AM   #25
actuallyinaus
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by borgqueens View Post
no never I have a cMBP 13" and it is just for my needs and my preferences too small.

Then again just used all my money on the new iMac 27" so not gonna get a rMBP any time soon
sure if you spend all day programming at uni
actuallyinaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Old rMBP w. discrete gfx card vs. new rMBP without for gaming Hapimp MacBook Pro 17 Oct 27, 2013 11:54 PM
Possible to update rMBP nvidia 650M GFX drivers? randomnut MacBook Pro 5 Mar 13, 2013 10:12 AM
rMBP Integrated Card and OPENGL??? kisbys MacBook Pro 0 Jul 22, 2012 11:58 AM
Switching between Integrated and Dedication GFX on rMBP Vegasboricua702 MacBook Pro 1 Jul 8, 2012 10:53 AM
Resolved: MBPR Never Uses Integrated GFX Card Bwilky MacBook Pro 16 Jul 6, 2012 11:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC