Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 28, 2013, 10:31 AM   #1
guruJust1n
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Web Developer - MBA or MBP?

So as the title states I am a Web Developer and I am looking into getting a new machine. My work has provided me with a 2009 MBP with an SSD and 8GB of memory, but I want to get my own machine so I can be free from their grip.

I know that possibly next month we will see the new generation of machines, but I want to know how they perform now.

With the current MBP I have now I don't see lag, or have any issues with it. Though what I'm afraid of is really the graphics power the Air has and what it can support. At work I use my MBP as the main display and I have a 24" off to the side. But at home I am soon going to support a 24" and a vertical 21" with the laptop closed and set aside.

Does the Air have the ability to support two high resolution displays? Will I see a performance hit? Sometimes I like to have a 1080p Youtube or Movie playing off to the side while I'm working.

On a daily basis I run Chrome with 5-10 tabs open, Outlook/Sparrow, Mountee, Textmate, Terminal, Mamp, Photoshop, AI, and a couple background apps.

I love power, and I enjoy my Custom PC for gaming, but I want a solid machine that can support all my apps running with multiple High Res monitors.

If I would go the Air route I would be getting the 13" with i7 Processor, 512GB SSD, 8GB RAM, ETC.
__________________
15" Mid 2012 Macbook Pro Retina, 2.3Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPhone 5s 16GB Space Grey
Custom PC: Intel i5-3570k, 16GB 1600Mhz RAM, 256 SSD|500GB HDD, GTX 660Ti
guruJust1n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 12:35 PM   #2
AXs
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
if you're going with the ultimate air, I think it's not worth the bang of the buck.

You'd be better off with getting the 15" Retina Pro imo, for about the same price.
AXs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 11:06 PM   #3
jfremani
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AXs View Post
if you're going with the ultimate air, I think it's not worth the bang of the buck.

You'd be better off with getting the 15" Retina Pro imo, for about the same price.
Not even close. Maybe you meant the 13" retina pro?

Even still..
jfremani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 11:09 AM   #4
robvas
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
You can only connect one display to the Air. Unless you use a USB video adapter but they are laggy.

Get the 13" Retina if you want more than one screen.
robvas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 08:39 PM   #5
beautifulcoder
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: The Republic of Texas
Are you going to be working off of monitors mostly? If so, no point in getting the air.
beautifulcoder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2013, 09:35 AM   #6
gavinstubbs09
macrumors 6502a
 
gavinstubbs09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NorCal boonies
Send a message via AIM to gavinstubbs09 Send a message via Skype™ to gavinstubbs09
Web (I wouldn't think) would be too intensive, but I render quite a bit of video and really regret the MBA. Should have went with a rMBP 13"
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" 2008uni / G5 2.3 & 2.7 / iMac Core Duo / G4 QS d1.0 / iBook G4 14" 1.42 / iPhone 4s 16GB
Free stuff for your Mac! - ⌘ - PowerPC Archive
gavinstubbs09 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2013, 11:12 AM   #7
olup
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Sorry to hijack this thread....I'm also in the market for a new laptop for college and was considering the new air due to its better battery life and portablity.
I'll be only using one monitor instead of two like the OP.

The setup I was considering was: i5/256 ssd/8gb ram

Apart from web development I may have to be able to do some 3-d modeling/image for my game design class in autodesk entertainment creation suite 2013/2014.



Any tips/recommendations would be appreciated.
olup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2013, 03:38 PM   #8
guruJust1n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
I was looking into using the Matrox DualHead2go and I have read that it isn't laggy at all. Anyone with experience using this device? Also I am looking towards the Air because of its size and battery.
__________________
15" Mid 2012 Macbook Pro Retina, 2.3Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPhone 5s 16GB Space Grey
Custom PC: Intel i5-3570k, 16GB 1600Mhz RAM, 256 SSD|500GB HDD, GTX 660Ti
guruJust1n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2013, 06:21 PM   #9
sofianito
macrumors 65816
 
sofianito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Spain
I have been told daisy chaining 2 ATDs allows you to connect 2 monitors to your MBA... i.e., MBA (TB) <---> ATD (TB) <---> ATD (TB)
__________________
MBA mid 2013 13", 1.7GHz, 8GB, 512GB PCIe-SSD
MBP late 2008 15", 2.4GHz, 8GB, 500GB Hybrid Momentus-XT
MBP late 2007 17", 2.6GHz, 4GB, 200GB 7200 RPM
Google Nexus 4 16GB
sofianito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2013, 02:39 PM   #10
guruJust1n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by sofianito View Post
I have been told daisy chaining 2 ATDs allows you to connect 2 monitors to your MBA... i.e., MBA (TB) <---> ATD (TB) <---> ATD (TB)
Thank you for your response.

And I knew about this feature, though I don't want to have to spend an additional $2000 for monitors.
__________________
15" Mid 2012 Macbook Pro Retina, 2.3Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPhone 5s 16GB Space Grey
Custom PC: Intel i5-3570k, 16GB 1600Mhz RAM, 256 SSD|500GB HDD, GTX 660Ti
guruJust1n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2013, 07:14 AM   #11
Tanax
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
You can use a Thunderbolt dock like this one: http://www.caldigit.com/thunderboltstation/

That way, you'll go:

MBA (TB) -> Dock
Dock (TB) -> Displayport to DVI (DVI) -> Display #1
Dock (HDMI) -> Display #2

The docks usually costs around $200 and then you're free to choose whichever display you like.
Tanax is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2013, 10:38 PM   #12
GuitarZero
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
The Macbook Air has more power than you need. I upgraded from Macbook Pro 2009 (SSD, 8G of RAM) to Macbook Air 2013 (i7/8G/256) and I couldn't be happier. I'm designer/front-end developer and MBA 2013 is perfect for me.
GuitarZero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2013, 08:29 AM   #13
hexblot
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Athens,Greece
Send a message via Skype™ to hexblot
Depends on what you mean by "web developer", really. And by that I mean if you need a bloated IDE, if your language is resource heavy (looking at you Java).

As a professional PHP/MySQL developer working with CMSs like Drupal (some Wordpress/Joomla as well, though I prefer to avoid them), I still work just fine with my RevA MBA (SSD upgraded), since I don't need an IDE (TextMate beats anything I've seen, hands down). Needless to say, it's not going to win any speed contest, but programs open in a second or two - good enough for now.

Then again, I also prefer the terminal a lot, so it might just be me I also do intend to get a replacement around Christmas, probably a 2013 MBA, unless something extremely radical comes out.

As you understand, depending on what languages you use, and what frameworks/IDEs you will get different results, but I cannot imagine a scenario where a 2013 MBA won't be enough for you.
hexblot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2013, 08:48 AM   #14
guruJust1n
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexblot View Post
Depends on what you mean by "web developer", really. And by that I mean if you need a bloated IDE, if your language is resource heavy (looking at you Java).

As a professional PHP/MySQL developer working with CMSs like Drupal (some Wordpress/Joomla as well, though I prefer to avoid them), I still work just fine with my RevA MBA (SSD upgraded), since I don't need an IDE (TextMate beats anything I've seen, hands down). Needless to say, it's not going to win any speed contest, but programs open in a second or two - good enough for now.

Then again, I also prefer the terminal a lot, so it might just be me I also do intend to get a replacement around Christmas, probably a 2013 MBA, unless something extremely radical comes out.

As you understand, depending on what languages you use, and what frameworks/IDEs you will get different results, but I cannot imagine a scenario where a 2013 MBA won't be enough for you.
Thank you so much for your response. I don't work in an IDE, I mainly just use a couple apps to get the job done. Its just the multitasking.
__________________
15" Mid 2012 Macbook Pro Retina, 2.3Ghz i7, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPhone 5s 16GB Space Grey
Custom PC: Intel i5-3570k, 16GB 1600Mhz RAM, 256 SSD|500GB HDD, GTX 660Ti
guruJust1n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2013, 01:28 PM   #15
technowar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cebu, Philippines
You'll never go wrong with an i5/8GB/256GB. Bang for the buck machine, and never fails to deliver.
technowar is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Tags
air, mpa, web development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does anyone know what happened with Atomic web browser developer? iScope iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 May 28, 2014 06:50 AM
Any ios developer using MBA? asenor MacBook Air 25 Jul 20, 2012 06:32 PM
How do I find/hire a web developer for this? Zauberer Web Design and Development 8 Jul 9, 2012 03:00 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC