Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 28, 2013, 01:15 PM   #1
jfremani
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Haswell MBA: Will OSX slow down a lot when running a Windows 8 virtual machine?

Just curious what the experience has been for those of you with new MBA's with the 1.7ghz cpu when you run Windows 8 in Parallels, Fusion, or virtual box. Can you run the VM (which runs MS Visual Studio 2010, IE, and some office apps) on one core and still have enough power left over to run Photoshop or Garage Band?

The MBA would have 8gb of RAM and a 256g drive.

I feel like that's probably asking too much out of a lightweight mobile processor, but I'm getting more and more impressed with how much power can be packed into such tight spaces these days..

Last edited by jfremani; Sep 28, 2013 at 01:19 PM. Reason: add specs
jfremani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 05:24 PM   #2
cbautis2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
You're overly underestimating the MBA lol. It's more powerful than 90% of laptops bought and sold on 2012 and prior. I run VMware fusion of Windows Server 2012, Windows XP all at the same time on my 2011 MBA i5/4GB/128GB. I can stream Spotify music with 10 browser tabs, Office 2011 Word, Power point, Adobe Reader and mail App on OS X 10.8.5 while running game Metro Apps (Adera, Jetpack, Pinball FX) on the Server 2012 VM and playing emulator games (PSP) on Windows XP VM and it never even slow down at all.

The 2013 MBA should not even be stressing out with the tasks you listed above.
cbautis2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 05:34 PM   #3
ladeer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfremani View Post
Just curious what the experience has been for those of you with new MBA's with the 1.7ghz cpu when you run Windows 8 in Parallels, Fusion, or virtual box. Can you run the VM (which runs MS Visual Studio 2010, IE, and some office apps) on one core and still have enough power left over to run Photoshop or Garage Band?

The MBA would have 8gb of RAM and a 256g drive.

I feel like that's probably asking too much out of a lightweight mobile processor, but I'm getting more and more impressed with how much power can be packed into such tight spaces these days..
i have the 2013 mba w/ max out config, running vm (windows 8). you will be fine.
ladeer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 07:07 PM   #4
jfremani
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbautis2 View Post
The 2013 MBA should not even be stressing out with the tasks you listed above.
Thanks, that's very encouraging.

I should mention that at times I will be doing all this with an external monitor @ 2560x1440 (thunderbolt display) and possibly a 3rd monitor at 1920x1080.

I was wanting to hold out another 2 years or so before getting a computer with a "retina" display because of some occasional difficulties it presents as an IT consultant for large corporations and governments.
jfremani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 07:47 PM   #5
cbautis2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfremani View Post
Thanks, that's very encouraging.

I should mention that at times I will be doing all this with an external monitor @ 2560x1440 (thunderbolt display) and possibly a 3rd monitor at 1920x1080.

I was wanting to hold out another 2 years or so before getting a computer with a "retina" display because of some occasional difficulties it presents as an IT consultant for large corporations and governments.
Even with those 3 displays and 2560x1440 resolutions, the Intel HD 5000 graphics should handle all them fine. See this Quick Reference Guide by Intel: http://software.intel.com/en-us/arti...essor-graphics
You can scroll down to Display and Audio Features Comparison and you'll see the HD 5000 can support 3 displays at 3200 x 2000 @60 Hz or 3840x2160@30Hz

FYI, the base Core i5 2013 MBA model is as fast as the base Core i5 2.5 GHz of the rMBP model. See benchmarks here: http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i...-Core-i5-3210M
cbautis2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2013, 08:23 PM   #6
Idarzoid
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Running Windows XP (with 2GB RAM assigned) and CentOS (with 2GB RAM assigned) on my MBA (specs in sig), I've yet to notice any slow down.

You're fine.
__________________
MacBook Air (13", 2014)
i5-4260U | Intel HD 5000 | 8GB RAM | 256GB SSD
Idarzoid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 04:56 AM   #7
Enrico
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Milano / Roma
How much RAM do you guys assign to Win 8 VM?
Parallels user here.
__________________
MBA 13" 2013 8/256 - Dell 27" IPS LED - Samsung 55" LED TV
Nexus5,iPad Air 32GB Cellular,Canon 5D2,bunch of lenses,Epson R3800
flickr - Proud to be Italian
Enrico is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 11:08 AM   #8
robvas
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enrico View Post
How much RAM do you guys assign to Win 8 VM?
Parallels user here.
As much as it needs. Start at 1 or 1.5GB
robvas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2013, 02:23 PM   #9
Chicane-UK
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I'm using VMware Fusion on my MacBook Air (spec in signature) and I can't believe how fast and smooth it runs. I actually work in InDesign and Photoshop within it (as I only have a Windows license for Creative Suite 5 and Adobe won't exchange it to the Mac version as it's "too old" - sigh) and I find it runs almost like I'm running it natively on the Mac, and not in a VM. I've allocated 3GB RAM to the VM.
__________________
2013 Macbook Air 11" - i7/8GB/512GB | 23" Cinema Display | iPhone 4 32GB
Chicane-UK is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Tags
parallels, vmware fusion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running OSX on Virtual Machine cryingrobot Mac Pro 5 Oct 31, 2012 11:15 AM
Anyone running snow leopard in a vm virtual machine? lloyd709 OS X 1 Jun 23, 2012 03:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC