Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Nutella

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 27, 2003
(sorry if this has been covered already, but i thought i'd share)

i just got off the phone with the apple store in miami and was told that starting december 9 applecare can be purchased at the store and will be valid in florida.

i'm still debating whether to buy it, but i'm sure this is good news for some!

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
Lard
Yes, it would be nice, if it were available everywhere, especially after I've been complaining for the last 6 years. :D So, now that I'm moving out of the state, it would make sense that it's available finally.

Nutella

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 27, 2003
the guy at the apple store said to wait till dec 9 to purchase it in the store. he wasn't sure if it would be available via the website.

MattG

macrumors 68040
May 27, 2003
Asheville, NC
It's about time.

You can buy extended warranties from any other computer company online and any electronics store down here as a Florida resident. I don't understand why Apple is the lone exception. If there's a law preventing them from doing it, maybe they should talk to these other companies that sell them because obviously they found some kind of loophole long ago.

I'm so sick of calling Apple for warranty service and having the following happen:

Apple: "Well the parts are still under warranty, but it's going to cost $XX for phone support. If you had purchased AppleCare however..."

Me: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Me: "I live in Florida."

Apple: "Oh. Sorry."

Me: :mad: :mad: :mad:

You'd think they'd at least give FL residents a break since they're unable to buy support. Anyway, good -- this means I'll be able to buy AppleCare for my iPod before it goes out of warranty next year.

bousozoku

Moderator emeritus
Jun 25, 2002
Lard