Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 3, 2005, 01:15 PM   #1
xolmusic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
imac g5 installed ram/is it the correct speed?

I managed to look into my system profiler and noticed that the ram that came stocked is pc2 4200 533mhz but i had them add additional ram before they sent it to me, but the extra ram in the system profiler says pc2 4200 - 444? is that 444 a sloer speed, and is that gonaa effect me being able to take advantage of the dual channel memory system, i was told that if you have the sam amount of ram in both slots that the ram bandwith creeps up to the powermac bandwith.

thanks, i hope i got the right stuff.

anybody, please reply
xolmusic is offline   0
Old Dec 3, 2005, 01:55 PM   #2
yenko
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SouthWest-USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by xolmusic
I managed to look into my system profiler and noticed that the ram that came stocked is pc2 4200 533mhz but i had them add additional ram before they sent it to me, but the extra ram in the system profiler says pc2 4200 - 444? is that 444 a sloer speed, and is that gonaa effect me being able to take advantage of the dual channel memory system, i was told that if you have the sam amount of ram in both slots that the ram bandwith creeps up to the powermac bandwith.

thanks, i hope i got the right stuff.

anybody, please reply
What do you mean by "creeps up to the powermac bandwidth"?
You got the right stuff.
__________________
Life's too short!
yenko is offline   0
Old Dec 3, 2005, 02:07 PM   #3
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by xolmusic
I managed to look into my system profiler and noticed that the ram that came stocked is pc2 4200 533mhz but i had them add additional ram before they sent it to me, but the extra ram in the system profiler says pc2 4200 - 444? is that 444 a sloer speed, and is that gonaa effect me being able to take advantage of the dual channel memory system, i was told that if you have the sam amount of ram in both slots that the ram bandwith creeps up to the powermac bandwith.
If you ahve a PowerMac G5, you can only install RAM in pairs, so you have Dual-Channel by default. No other Mac that uses DDR-2 RAM supports Dual Channel.

The -444 in your system profiler refers to the Latency values of the module -- CAS Latency of 4 is accurate.

Note: Best if you tell us which model of Mac you have when posting
CanadaRAM is offline   0
Old Dec 5, 2005, 11:16 AM   #4
xolmusic
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I have an Imac g5/i sight

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaRAM
If you ahve a PowerMac G5, you can only install RAM in pairs, so you have Dual-Channel by default. No other Mac that uses DDR-2 RAM supports Dual Channel.

The -444 in your system profiler refers to the Latency values of the module -- CAS Latency of 4 is accurate.

Note: Best if you tell us which model of Mac you have when posting
So the "-444" in the description of the ram has nothing to so with the speed as in 533mhz?
xolmusic is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this the correct RAM for current 27" iMac? MiniD3 iMac 10 Jun 29, 2013 10:26 AM
Installed RAM . iMac restarts soamz iMac 9 Feb 4, 2013 07:21 AM
Correct RAM for new iMac? NYR99 iMac 2 Jan 13, 2013 12:04 AM
Is this the correct RAM for new iMac Mcclure iMac 1 Dec 17, 2012 11:51 AM
Help! Macbook Pro Ram installed at Wrong Speed Ozes MacBook Pro 12 Aug 20, 2012 06:38 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC