Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 3, 2005, 06:37 PM   #1
bryantm3
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
installing a scanner over a network.

how do i do this?
i've got an HP print server that's supposed to be able to let me scan thru a network. i've got a 4 in 1 printer, scanner, faxer, copier, officejet G85. i have no idea how to install a scanner. please help!
bryantm3 is offline   0
Old Dec 3, 2005, 06:59 PM   #2
OutThere
macrumors 603
 
OutThere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NYC
You might be able to manage it all with Image Capture. If you go into Image Capture and select that you wish to share your image capture devices, and then open image capture on other computers that you want to scan from, and find shared devices, you should be able to scan across the network though.
__________________
puisqu'on est jeune et con, puisqu'ils sont vieux et fous. . .
OutThere is offline   0
Old Dec 3, 2005, 11:01 PM   #3
bryantm3
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by OutThere
You might be able to manage it all with Image Capture. If you go into Image Capture and select that you wish to share your image capture devices, and then open image capture on other computers that you want to scan from, and find shared devices, you should be able to scan across the network though.
no, i mean it's not directly connected to my computer. it's connected thru my print server which is connected to my router like another computer.
i don't know how to access it from there.
bryantm3 is offline   0
Old Dec 3, 2005, 11:33 PM   #4
OutThere
macrumors 603
 
OutThere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NYC
From what I can tell from HP's website, you need to be running the software that came on the CD along with the printer (also available here)to be able to do anything but print. The distinction between selection "Networked" and "Local" is also important during the setup of the printer (though you can change it in the configuration panel). "Networked" will open up more connection options, needed to be able to scan properly with the software.
__________________
puisqu'on est jeune et con, puisqu'ils sont vieux et fous. . .
OutThere is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install Snow Leopard Over a Network USA Shrimp Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 1 Aug 21, 2011 05:10 PM
Sharing scanner over network to Windows NightLord OS X 2 Jun 29, 2009 05:29 PM
Install OS X over a network velocityg4 OS X 3 Jun 7, 2009 07:41 PM
How can I install a package on multiple machines over the network. JBot Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 3 Jun 26, 2008 12:07 PM
install or boot over network Anarchy99 General Mac Discussion 1 Dec 22, 2004 05:56 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC