Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 3, 2005, 10:08 PM   #1
supachicken
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sydney
Dual 500MHz G4 Won't Start.

Hi Guys,

I have a G4 Dual 500MHz Sawtooth that wouldn't boot or show any signs of booting. I tried the battery in another machine, reset the PMU and various other procedures with no success.

I then pulled out the PSU and and put in a old PSU from a working Beige G3 and I was shown some form of life.

Now when I push the power button the optical drives flash on and there is a red LED next to the last stick of RAM labelled D55 illuminates and the fan cycles for about 5 seconds then stops.

No activity on the monitor and the machine does not chime.

Does this mean that the PSU was the original problem and the Beige PSU doesn't have enough power to boot the G4 or there still could be logic board problems?

Thanks for all your help guys, I really appreciate it.
supachicken is offline   0
Old Dec 3, 2005, 10:13 PM   #2
doucy2
macrumors 65816
 
doucy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Send a message via AIM to doucy2
well first of all they didnt make dual sawtooths
the is a probally a dual digital audio machine

sounds like a bad PSU
and the old beige is not giving it enough power

red light = not good

im gonna read some more about this and post back
__________________
13" MBP 2.8ghz i7, Apple TV 1, iPhone 4S, 2x APE; WTB Intel Mini
doucy2 is offline   0
Old Dec 3, 2005, 10:20 PM   #3
supachicken
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sydney
Hi,

Thanks heaps for your help, it was originally a 450MHz Sawtooth which was upgraded to dual 500MHz.

Didn't think the Beige PSU would have enough juice.
supachicken is offline   0
Old Dec 3, 2005, 10:43 PM   #4
840quadra
Moderator
 
840quadra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Land of Free outdoor Freezers
You may have logic board problems now as not all PSU pin-outs are the same from G3 to G4, or even G4 to G4 in some cases.

If you suspect the PSU from the G4 to be bad, replace it. Have you checked (with a Volt meter) to see if any of the pins on the PSU are supplying the logic board with power?

Resetting the PMU can sometimes be tricky. I had received a Digital Audio Logic board that absolutely did not want to power on. I had to attempt the PMU trick multiple times to get it to function correctly.
840quadra is offline   0

 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro won't start - Linux ate my computer. Molecule MacBook Pro 5 Jun 4, 2011 07:49 AM
Will a dual 500mhz g4 chip work in a 400mhz g4 with AGP Graphics? raysfan81 PowerPC Macs 7 Mar 28, 2010 01:48 AM
OSX install crash on older dual 500Mhz G4 contoursvt OS X 1 Oct 20, 2007 01:45 AM
ADC Cinema Display goes black with dual 500MHz G4 glegr Macintosh Computers 3 Dec 18, 2004 10:10 AM
FS: Dual 500mhz G4, lots of upgrades mshepherd Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 0 Mar 1, 2004 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC