Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 6, 2005, 09:43 AM   #1
smurphy28
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
M Box2 - Audio Output Low in Headphones

Hello:

I've used garageband a lot and decided to move up and purchased the Digidesign M Box 2 with Pro Tools LE. It's up and running fine on my G5 1.6Ghz (w/ one 80GB HD (Boot) and a 250GB HD; 2 gigs of Ram). I loaded the sample recording and the volume coming in to the headphones is very low. I have to turn the knob all the way up to hear the tracks. Why is this? How can I fix it?

Sorry for the stupid question... I just can't find anything on this.


Thanks!
smurphy28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2005, 10:55 AM   #2
FFTT
macrumors 68030
 
FFTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
You may need to buy a heaphone preamp.

I must warn you about using headphones at higher volumes.

This is serious stuff.

I spent a year putting together a 15 song multi-track demo, spending countless hours listening though headphones to record, sequence, rough mix etc. After a while you get ear fatigue and wanting to hear every nuance you
turn up the volume.

Little did I know how dangerous this was.

Shortly after I completed my project, I noticed that my ears would not stop ringing.

I went to the audiologist and had my hearing tested.

I had permanent irreversable nerve damage.

A year later, I was clinically deaf in my right ear with more than
50% loss in the left ear.

Using headphones is necessary to track, but you need to keep it at a volume just enough to monitor what you're doing.

The rest should be done through powered near field monitors and those
should be kept at a reasonable volume.

Headphones are dangerous and the results of over exposure can lead to permanent hearing loss.
Be careful mate.
__________________
Don't look at me in that tone of voice!
FFTT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2005, 11:34 AM   #3
smurphy28
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Thanks for the warning and I agree. I've had that happen before when working on a record for my band a while back. Now I'm in the driver seat and it is good to keep in mind...

Do you think that's what I need - a headphone preamp? Shouldn't the M Box2 have a preamp for headphones? I'm so confused with this thing... Maybe it is too advanced for someone coming off Garageband...
smurphy28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2005, 12:40 PM   #4
FFTT
macrumors 68030
 
FFTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
Unless there's something wrong with the headphone output on your M-box it may just be that the signal isn't very loud.
Or your headphones need a stronger signal.

If they work fine on a regular headphone jack on other equiplment, then
maybe it is the M-box.

You might call Digidesign support and ask if your situation is normal.

I can barely hear a regular telephone that's plenty loud for most people, so I'm wondering if you may also want to check with an audiologist.

If you've been working with headphones for a while, I would take special care to monitor your hearing.
__________________
Don't look at me in that tone of voice!
FFTT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2005, 12:46 PM   #5
smurphy28
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
The audio is perfect when I record and I can hear it well in the headphones but on playback it is soft.

I don't know if that helps more... It has to be my settings I think. Why would it work well when recording and not on playback?
smurphy28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2005, 06:04 PM   #6
FFTT
macrumors 68030
 
FFTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
I can only guess that maybe the playback output is meant to go to
near field monitors.

Otherwise there may be a volume setting somewhere in the program that I'm not familiar with.
__________________
Don't look at me in that tone of voice!
FFTT is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Impossibly Low Volume Output On Apple TV through Sonos Speakers hermione0901 Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Aug 20, 2014 03:31 PM
need help! iPad Mini headphones output impedance??? HiFiGuy528 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 May 9, 2013 12:53 PM
Core Audio default audio output system on MacBook Pros? jykim0806 Digital Audio 3 Mar 13, 2013 04:15 AM
Turn off Sound Output? help please!? headphones broke off? SethRogen MacBook Pro 0 Jan 14, 2013 10:04 PM
iPhone 5 Music Output through headphones (Quieter) jdeepfjj iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Nov 4, 2012 09:18 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC