Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 23, 2013, 05:37 PM   #26
rlandon91
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
I read what you guys were talking about simply because my "HOME" carrier name changed to TFW as well.
I made an account just to say:
LTE is now available for net10 as of this last month. They changed their policy from 1.5 gigs capped to 2.5 gigs and then throttled after total use of 2.5. Once your monthly subscription cycles to a new month, you get reset to regular speeds (if you used more then 2.5).
I use the tfdata APN settings with the tmobile sim-swap method on iPhone 5 7.0.3 (no more TetherMe :\) and I clocked my phone at 21mbps download speeds with full bars.

I have no idea if this is the same for Straight Talk, but I must add that in my situation, I had to call Net10 for them to change/reset some settings on their end to enable LTE on my end. That was about 2 weeks ago, so maybe that has changed with the 7.0.3 update and recent carrier updates.

Kind of nice to have LTE at such a cheaper price :]

P.S.
iMessage, MMS, internet, all of that works for me using the tfdata settings with 66.209.11.33:80 and all the jazz
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	163.7 KB
ID:	442782  

Last edited by rlandon91; Oct 23, 2013 at 05:40 PM. Reason: Add information
rlandon91 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 05:37 PM   #27
scotrinaf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Blountville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoiledgina View Post
@scotrinaf.... there is no profile under Settings/General. With the IOS7 i read the apn settings are hidden.
I have iOS 7.0.3 and I can still see the APN profile that is installed (and remove it if I want)...
__________________
Selling children's Bible Story Coloring Book sets here!
Order your set today, over 500 sets sold, plenty left!
scotrinaf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 05:40 PM   #28
Diseal3
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotrinaf View Post
I have iOS 7.0.3 and I can still see the APN profile that is installed (and remove it if I want)...
Did you install one manually? IF so, thats why.
__________________
15" rMBP, Verizon iPhone 5S 32gb; iPad 3 32gb LTE;
Diseal3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 06:34 PM   #29
scotrinaf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Blountville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diseal3 View Post
Did you install one manually? IF so, thats why.
Nope, I installed nothing, I did the SIM swap... but did NOT install a profile...
__________________
Selling children's Bible Story Coloring Book sets here!
Order your set today, over 500 sets sold, plenty left!
scotrinaf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 06:54 PM   #30
faiz23
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
You can remove the profile but can you modify the settings and the specific information fields or just remove the profile as a whole. Most are not able to access the Cellular network field to be able to manually change their APN. Unless you use T-Mobile sim swap trick you won't be to access the apn field to modify it. I have not accepted the update but if you accepted the update and your mms no longer functions. You will need to use the sim swap trick to reprogram your settings.
__________________
Alienware & Apple
faiz23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2013, 07:52 PM   #31
jackwills
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York, NY
The carrier update removed the "personal hotspot" option from the Setting too..Too bad.
__________________
| iPhone 5 | iPad Mini | MacBook Air 2011 |
jackwills is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 06:42 AM   #32
markie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky736 View Post
The odd thing though is that the carrier update did in fact place the tfdata and MMS settings in by default however the data wasn't working until I went back to the old settings. So on some level the fact that TFW showed up and the new settings with the old sim means they recognize it as theirs however it was still no dice on actually working. Interesting.
The new carrier settings are for tfdata! It recognises the Tracfone ICCID range, but not what APN you're provisioned to (there's no way it could). In order to NOT need a custom profile (LIKE IT ALWAYS HAS BEEN, this makes nothing worse for you) or a SIM swap to do MMS, you'll need to get updated to be provisioned on tfdata (easiest way is just buy a new SIM, sadly).

What would've been really nice is if the new Tracfone Wireless profile allowed access to the APN menu so anyone who tfdata wasn't appropriate for could just go and change it. I get why AT&T hides this menu, but Tracfone shouldn't.
markie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 08:22 AM   #33
scotrinaf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Blountville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackwills View Post
The carrier update removed the "personal hotspot" option from the Setting too..Too bad.
My Straight Talk (AT&T iPhone) always told me I needed to contact AT&T to set it up anyway...
__________________
Selling children's Bible Story Coloring Book sets here!
Order your set today, over 500 sets sold, plenty left!
scotrinaf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 11:04 AM   #34
Lucky736
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: TX or MI
Send a message via AIM to Lucky736 Send a message via Yahoo to Lucky736
Quote:
Originally Posted by markie View Post
What would've been really nice is if the new Tracfone Wireless profile allowed access to the APN menu so anyone who tfdata wasn't appropriate for could just go and change it. I get why AT&T hides this menu, but Tracfone shouldn't.
The odd thing about this is I had a VZW iPhone 5, unlocked as they all were, and it also required the SIM trick to change APN settings. It's an Apple Issue unfortunately not a carrier one. As soon as it sees an ATT or ATT MVNO it automatically shuts you down.
Lucky736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 12:04 PM   #35
markie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky736 View Post
The odd thing about this is I had a VZW iPhone 5, unlocked as they all were, and it also required the SIM trick to change APN settings. It's an Apple Issue unfortunately not a carrier one. As soon as it sees an ATT or ATT MVNO it automatically shuts you down.
When I say "carrier" I mean carrier profile, not the carrier that sold the phone. I don't understand why the new TFW carrier profile also doesn't allow APN settings change, you'd think they'd want that.
markie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 01:44 PM   #36
gretafour
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Fixes everything on my officially unlocked AT&T 4S

After installing the carrier update, I removed my Net10 unlockit.co.nz profile and restarted the phone. Data now works more reliably than before (was intermittent with unlockit profile), and MMS works with no fuss.

VERY pleased since I can definitely make it to iPhone 6 without getting frustrated about shoddy data and no MMS!!
__________________
"Collectors Edition" Aluminum Unibody MacBook 2.0Ghz
gretafour is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2013, 04:15 PM   #37
Lucky736
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: TX or MI
Send a message via AIM to Lucky736 Send a message via Yahoo to Lucky736
Quote:
Originally Posted by markie View Post
When I say "carrier" I mean carrier profile, not the carrier that sold the phone. I don't understand why the new TFW carrier profile also doesn't allow APN settings change, you'd think they'd want that.
Understood. My point was that all of the phones, regardless of carrier, do not allow the ATT and ATT MVNO settings to be changed. It seems to be software related as opposed to SIM related since they should be able to differentiate a non ATT sim as easily as identifying a carrier other than ATT. It sees ATT or ATT MVNO and it shuts down the manual setup. I think it's a gross oversight and a hold over from when it was exclusive, and no I am not kidding when I say that.
Lucky736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 12:34 AM   #38
markie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky736 View Post
Understood. My point was that all of the phones, regardless of carrier, do not allow the ATT and ATT MVNO settings to be changed. It seems to be software related as opposed to SIM related since they should be able to differentiate a non ATT sim as easily as identifying a carrier other than ATT. It sees ATT or ATT MVNO and it shuts down the manual setup. I think it's a gross oversight and a hold over from when it was exclusive, and no I am not kidding when I say that.
No, they're not the only carrier where the carrier file doesn't allow changing the APN settings. For example, Bell in Canada doesn't either. If all your customers can use the same APN settings, it actually makes a lot of sense in that it prevents your customers from screwing things up and calling into support. All AT&T customers can use phone so this makes sense.

The thing is, TFW now has it's own carrier file. SO WHY THE HECK DO THEY BLOCK ACCESS TO THE APN MENU, since not every customer can use tfdata.
markie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 02:15 AM   #39
Diseal3
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Thats awesome straight talk works with MMS now. Really makes this plan more attractive.
__________________
15" rMBP, Verizon iPhone 5S 32gb; iPad 3 32gb LTE;
Diseal3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 11:54 AM   #40
madmaxmedia
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via Yahoo to madmaxmedia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucky736 View Post
Understood. My point was that all of the phones, regardless of carrier, do not allow the ATT and ATT MVNO settings to be changed. It seems to be software related as opposed to SIM related since they should be able to differentiate a non ATT sim as easily as identifying a carrier other than ATT. It sees ATT or ATT MVNO and it shuts down the manual setup. I think it's a gross oversight and a hold over from when it was exclusive, and no I am not kidding when I say that.
I think it is a 'user friendliness' thing, where the phone recognizes that it uses ATT network, thinks it has the right settings, so why let users screw it up? Of course, preventing user override is only good if the RIGHT settings are there.

It seems at least things are getting better, with my ATT iPhone 5 and new Straight Talk SIM card data and MMS work automatically with built-in settings, don't even need to install an APN anymore.

Do you have an older or newer ST SIM? I originally had an older ST SIM, just bought a new one ($7+free ship) to get LTE with my iPhone 5, and was pleasantly surprised to learn now that finally everything 'just works' with new SIM + iOS 7.03 (well, except for visual voicemail...)
madmaxmedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 04:54 PM   #41
Diseal3
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmaxmedia View Post
*snip* [I] was pleasantly surprised to learn now that finally everything 'just works' with new SIM + iOS 7.03 (well, except for visual voicemail...)
Youmail is quite good and has more features for free anyway
__________________
15" rMBP, Verizon iPhone 5S 32gb; iPad 3 32gb LTE;
Diseal3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2013, 05:10 PM   #42
madmaxmedia
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Send a message via Yahoo to madmaxmedia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diseal3 View Post
Youmail is quite good and has more features for free anyway
Thanks for the suggestion, I had heard of it before but never tried it.

Upon googling, I am reading a lot of links that say it only works on Straight Talk with jailbroken phones- not sure if this is still true or out of date?

Also, in the app store there are 2 apps- Youmail, and Youmail Visual Voicemail. I guess I should be using Youmail Visual Voicemail?
madmaxmedia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 12:24 AM   #43
Alex384
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
How do I remove the carrier update and revert back to old settings? Now my MMS doesn't work with mms-tf.net but it worked with mmsc.cingular.com... Is there any way to undo this update??
Alex384 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 01:56 AM   #44
Diseal3
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by madmaxmedia View Post
Thanks for the suggestion, I had heard of it before but never tried it.

Upon googling, I am reading a lot of links that say it only works on Straight Talk with jailbroken phones- not sure if this is still true or out of date?

Also, in the app store there are 2 apps- Youmail, and Youmail Visual Voicemail. I guess I should be using Youmail Visual Voicemail?
Direct Link

I've seen mixed things also looking it up for straight talk. But if you are using ATT Straight talk sim (As opposed to straight talk iPhone for Verizon) it should work. If it works be sure to report back, sure a lot of people would like to get a confirmation if considering switching.
__________________
15" rMBP, Verizon iPhone 5S 32gb; iPad 3 32gb LTE;
Diseal3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 03:44 AM   #45
sticky420
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Thumbs down Need help

i am super upset i accidentally pressed "update" instead of cancel when this carrier update box appeared on my phone earlier today and ever since then i cant get the internet to work on my phone... i recently upgraded to the new ios7 and got rid of my old jailbreak because i was tired of the glitches and i had just recently found out that i did not no longer need to tether my phone to certain apn settings to get the internet to work, idk how to fix this..mine as well changed from HOME to TMW i tried installng the straight talk and net 10 profiles from iapnudatetfdata.net10.com iapnudatetfdata.straighttalk.com neither of those work if anyone has any clues that would be great
sticky420 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 07:17 AM   #46
Beezy253
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Tacoma, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sticky420 View Post
i am super upset i accidentally pressed "update" instead of cancel when this carrier update box appeared on my phone earlier today and ever since then i cant get the internet to work on my phone... i recently upgraded to the new ios7 and got rid of my old jailbreak because i was tired of the glitches and i had just recently found out that i did not no longer need to tether my phone to certain apn settings to get the internet to work, idk how to fix this..mine as well changed from HOME to TMW i tried installng the straight talk and net 10 profiles from iapnudatetfdata.net10.com iapnudatetfdata.straighttalk.com neither of those work if anyone has any clues that would be great
What phone are you using?

Do you have a new sim with 4G/LTE support? (and is your account provisioned to the tfdata APN?)
Beezy253 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 07:23 AM   #47
scotrinaf
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Blountville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by sticky420 View Post
i am super upset i accidentally pressed "update" instead of cancel when this carrier update box appeared on my phone earlier today and ever since then i cant get the internet to work on my phone... i recently upgraded to the new ios7 and got rid of my old jailbreak because i was tired of the glitches and i had just recently found out that i did not no longer need to tether my phone to certain apn settings to get the internet to work, idk how to fix this..mine as well changed from HOME to TMW i tried installng the straight talk and net 10 profiles from iapnudatetfdata.net10.com iapnudatetfdata.straighttalk.com neither of those work if anyone has any clues that would be great
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex384 View Post
How do I remove the carrier update and revert back to old settings? Now my MMS doesn't work with mms-tf.net but it worked with mmsc.cingular.com... Is there any way to undo this update??

More than likely you will need to purchase a T-Mobile SIM card and do the SIM swap trick, you can follow the instructions here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gmRSD...ature=youtu.be
__________________
Selling children's Bible Story Coloring Book sets here!
Order your set today, over 500 sets sold, plenty left!
scotrinaf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 11:31 AM   #48
sticky420
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
re: iphone 4

i have the regular iphone 4, i havent bought a new sim card for awhile and it was through straight talks website, i thought i had tfdata already though when i use to manually do the apn when it was jailbroken
sticky420 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 11:35 PM   #49
AndrewsD22
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
I'm seeing where people are saying that the mms & data are working just fine with the update new carrier settings (TFW) for Net10 iPhones. I uninstalled the carrier profile & my data & mms are no longer working. Is there a way to undo this carrier update? Or is there a simple way besides the sim swap method to correct my data/mms problem?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beezy253 View Post
What phone are you using?

Do you have a new sim with 4G/LTE support? (and is your account provisioned to the tfdata APN?)
How do i receive a new SIM card? Is that for Net10?
AndrewsD22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2013, 12:03 AM   #50
Diseal3
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewsD22 View Post
I'm seeing where people are saying that the mms & data are working just fine with the update new carrier settings (TFW) for Net10 iPhones. I uninstalled the carrier profile & my data & mms are no longer working. Is there a way to undo this carrier update? Or is there a simple way besides the sim swap method to correct my data/mms problem?

----------



How do i receive a new SIM card? Is that for Net10?
Yes, according to HoFo you may be able to call ST and they should be able to change you to the new provisioning on their end and you may not need a new sim card. I would check over there for more information.
__________________
15" rMBP, Verizon iPhone 5S 32gb; iPad 3 32gb LTE;
Diseal3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EE T-Mobile UK Carrier Update 15.6 drlunanerd iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jan 27, 2014 12:36 PM
did any one get the net10 new carrier update ? RiChZ iPhone 12 Dec 6, 2013 07:38 AM
Carrier Settings Update w/ 7.0.3 update lolkthxbai iPhone 53 Nov 6, 2013 07:19 PM
iPhone: T-Mobile carrier update for LTE, VM, etc come in iOS update darricksailo Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 13 Apr 5, 2013 07:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC